shop.MarineDepot.com
shop.MarineDepot.com
Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
shop.marinedepot.com
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Double Ended  » 70 Watt  »  150 Watt 13000K Metal Halide Bulb - Aqualine AB, Double Ended
150 Watt 13000K Metal Halide Bulb - Aqualine AB, Double Ended

150 Watt 13000K Metal Halide Bulb - Aqualine AB, Double Ended

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
MB2463
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $122.99
You Save: $41.00 (33%)
$81.99
Paying Made Easy, Bill Me Later. Subject to Credit Approval. See Terms.
Add To My Wish List

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

150 Watt 13000K Metal Halide Bulb - Aqualine AB, Double Ended Information




The Aqualine 10000 lamp has a color temperature of 13000º Kelvin and a high percentage of the light output is at the blue end of the spectrum. aqualine 10000 was the first metal halide lamp to simulate the lighting conditions on a coral reef and the new lamp gives an even more realistic looking aquarium as the improved twin getters give long term color stability. The corals show their natural colors, and the lighting intensity encourages excellent growth. aqualine 10000 helps to transform your aquarium into a perfect reef tank.

Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:
  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: Double ended bulbs should always be used with the UV shield (supplied with most pendants). You and your corals can suffer from excess UV radiation otherwise. The bulb should be handled carefully as well since it has no outer glass casing. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations
 






Manufacturer Info

Aqua Medic Aquarium Supplies
Aqua Medic has been a prominent name in the aquarium industry for over 22 years. The company was founded in Bissendorf, Germany and opened a North America distribution center in 2002 to better serve hobbyists in the United States and Canada. As the company continually introduces new products from the European market into North America they also provide excellent service for all of their products and carries a wide variety of replacements parts. Their open relationship with customers welcomes suggestions and user feedback. We carry a variety of Aqua Medic aquarium supplies including pumps, protein skimmers, light fixtures and accessories.

150 Watt 13000K Metal Halide Bulb - Aqualine AB, Double Ended Reviews



Average Rating
(11 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Not so blue

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 1/13/2013 from BAKERSFIELD, CA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Good amount of light. Not nearly as blue as some made it sound. I think it is a very neutral light, not yellow and not blue. Pretty but I was wanting something to make the colors in my corals pop a little more.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Super light

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/12/2012 from BurtosReef
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Fantastic bulb. No yellow hue. Just gorgeous warm light with maybe a hint of blue. After a week, the corals are really coming around and responding well to the bulbs. Only down side is cost. But it seems in this case, you get what you pay for.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Beautiful color

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/25/2011 from NEW YORK, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: A very beautiful lamp. The color is very white but not yellow, with a slight hint of blue that makes color pop across all the colors available in our aquariums. Fluorescent colors do pop out as well very nicely. You could actually use it directly without actinic supplementation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Disappointing

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 12/20/2010 from READING, PA UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Good color for the first lighting, but while installing this bulb and I did so very softly.. The ceramic tip that houses the contact on one side broke(basically disintegrated). I installed it and it did fire but I am afraid it will ruin either the ballast or explode so I removed it.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




AB 10k lights

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/4/2010 from FREDERICKSBURG, VA UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Have only used AB lamps, replaced yearly for 6 years.My frogspawn, 18x18 inch bouquet, loves it as well as my xenia and finger coral. It also gives a nice bright white light to the tank when mixed with super actinics.Change them yearly and your tank will thank you.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great bulbs.

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/26/2010 from OCALA, FL UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Replaced the stock bulbs that came with the Outer Orbit fixture with 3 of these ..... much better bulbs. The light is considerably brighter and noticeably less yellow. The color of these is as i had hoped - very white with just a hint of blue. Mix great with the PC actinics as supplement.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




It's OK

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 6/24/2010 from Rowlett, TX UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Although this bulb got pretty positive reviews, it's not as blue as I would like for a 13K so I'll have to supplement with some actinic color. The real test is seeing if they are a good fit for my SPS but it's too early to tell.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




More blue than normal

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/22/2008 from LAS VEGAS, NV UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Compared to this bulb, my old bulbs appear dingy and yellow. I don't really want a ton of blue, but I think this bulb is pretty much the ideal color. It's very bright though, which is good, but it did cause some minor shock to the system. I really like it. I wish it wasn't the most expensive bulb out there.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/25/2008 from IRVINE, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very bright white and really shows off my corals and fish. Really brings out my live rock as well. The only downside is the price, which is why I rated 4 stars instead of 5. This could be an exchange rate factor unfortunately.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




AB with Icecap / PFO reflector

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/22/2008 from HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA UNITED ST
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: About 4 years ago, I did an extensive research with Dr. Patel on the various combinations of 150w DE ballast / bulb / reflector combos on PAR. My goals are simple: I live in California, electric cost and heat are problems during summer, so I would not look at any 250w or 400w solutions, only 150w. With this very restricted choices, I narrow down to this combo: AB Aqualine 10K 150 DE Bulbs (german made), PFO Reflector 2nd Generation series reflector, and IceCap's 150watt ballast (actually around 170watts using Kilawatt meter). I know there are other german made bulbs that are good but I am here to give AB an 5 Star rating due to its longevity in lifespan on PAR over the years. They do cost more but if you can pull Dr. Patel's old research charts, you'll be amazed that this 150w DE bulb, nearly on PAR with 250w solutions! AB 10K 150w DE bulbs are simply excellent if not the best 150w solutions out there.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
150 Watt 13000K Metal Halide Bulb - Aqualine AB, Double Ended Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 13000K Metal Halide Bulb - Aqualine AB, Double Ended

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
March 15, 2014
"Price was good and everything arrived packed well and on promised schedule."
thomasstephen

March 13, 2014
"I received my lights with one broken. I called the 800 # and they shipped me a new light that day, no questions asked. Great service."
jason-47785

March 9, 2014
"When looking for things that need exact measurements, like plumbing, Marine Depot makes it very easy with detailed graphics and explanations. Videos are a very nice touch and have helped me a lot on my reef upgrade."
pipicaicedo

MarineDepotLive.com - Choose your Chalice