1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Single Ended  » 175 Watt  »  175 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - AquaMaxx, Mogul Base
175 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - AquaMaxx, Mogul Base

175 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - AquaMaxx, Mogul Base

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
MB4616
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $69.99
You Save: $10.00 (14%)
15% Off Site-Wide: Black Friday Blowout (Exclusions apply)
Use Coupon at checkout: BLACKFRIDAY2014
Valid From 11/21/2014 - 12/1/2014
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

175 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - AquaMaxx, Mogul Base Information




175W 14000K METAL HALIDE MOGUL BASED BULB—AQUAMAXX

The AquaMaxx Mogul Based 14000K metal halide bulb offers excellent coloration and good intensity. It is crisp-white with a blue tint. It brings out the fluorescent pigments in corals nicely. Fluorescent supplementation is usually not necessary, but can be used for added intensity and to simulate dawn and dusk. An excellent choice for reef tanks 24" or deeper. on how the different Kelvin ratings appear and more information on metal halide bulbs.

Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:
  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: The bulb should be handled carefully. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations





Manufacturer Info

AquaMaxx
AquaMaxx is a Southern California-based aquarium supply company that entered the market in mid-2008 with a line of affordable metal halide bulbs. The brand quickly gained recognition as word spread about the high quality and low cost of their lamps. In 2009, AquaMaxx released a line of aquarium filter socks and, in early 2010, unveiled an assortment of high-performance protein skimmer accessories and upgrades.
+ Display More

175 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - AquaMaxx, Mogul Base Reviews



Average Rating
(26 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 3
Page


Research what your buying :)

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/11/2012 from VANCOUVER, WA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: If you do a little research the company lists it as 14k but is comparable to a radium 20k it's a 20k bulb for some reason I didn't get that far but they had to label it as 14 it's blue as radium side by side but less chance of failure plus starts on my magnetic ballast that's why I got it ;) google stuff people ;)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Aquamax hit one out of park!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/1/2012 from SAN DIEGO, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Well I tried the Aquamax bulbs about two years ago and like the Prodigal son I'm back. The colors are excellent just enough blue and enough white so it doesn't look like your looking at everything through a blue filter. I'm running my bulbs off of Icecap electronic ballasts and they fire the bulbs and give it just enough umph to make things look great. The price of these bulbs are excellent. I tried the Phoenix 14K 250 watt bulb and it was just too blue for me on my electronic ballasts. Now I understand if you run the Phoenix on an HQI ballast the color is perfect, but I can definately say it was not perfect with regular electronic ballasts. I like the Phoenix soo much that I'm also running them on my 40 gallon anemone tank and I can say the anemones love it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




More great service

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/6/2011 from CAPE CORAL, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I had to ask a question, which was answered immediately. This allowed me to make sure I was ordering the correct item. I also saved about 40% over every other pace I checked. The item shipped and was received just as expected.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Bulbs!!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/6/2011 from AKRON, OH UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: These replaced two Ushios that we had. the color has a nice blue cast and it really makes the livestock pop. The price made this an unbeatable purchase.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




So far so good

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 3/15/2011 from RENO, NV UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The color is nice. We switched from two 20ks to the two 14ks, the bulbs are still a very nice blue which really makes the color on the coral pop, but the light seems brighter which is what we were aiming for. The bulbs are a nice even and matching color and work fine so far. We did have to return a 250watt double ended we ordered at the same time same company that burned out in two weeks. So far the mogul base bulbs are working perfect, though. So we are a 2 out of 3 positive on this brand. The color is wonderful, nice and bright and crisp, but lots of blue!


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




MH lamps

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 10/18/2010 from NEW HYDE PARK, NY UNITED STATE
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The 14,000 K lamps seem nice and blue just like I wanted. Big difference from my old lamps which were a different brabd and they only had their color for a few months


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Saved a penny, paid a fortune

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 9/3/2010 from JACKSONVILLE, FL UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I bought these just after Christmas because of of their price. I had been using Ushio 10k's for years, but thought I'd try to save some money this time. I switched to these and I've had great amounts of coraline growth, but they have killed all of my SPS. These things just don't put out enough! They are not 14k's, these are 20-30k's. When they're on, they barely light up the tank more than just my VHO's. I'd never buy these again. If I want to save money, I'll either switch to LED for long term, or use good bulbs like XM/Ushio and keep my corals alive!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Similar to 20K

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/3/2010 from EL CAJON, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I like this bulb. It is too blue though to call a 14K. To me, it is a nice looking 20K bulb. It brings out the color well from the corals. I would recommend it as a good 20K bulb (better than XM 20K IMO) but not as a 14K.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Aquamaxx Halide

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/10/2010 from Golden, CO UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: When I installed these bulbs I was greatly surprised. The color is awesome. I now how to changed my Actinic VHO'S out. Would defiantly recommend this product.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Bulbs!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/7/2010 from TITUSVILLE, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Just received the bulbs. Ran them for 6 hours but I love the color so far. They are running next to a Phoenix 250w DE bulb and there is VERY little difference. Very crisp color leaning more toward blue than white. Perfect for me! These bulbs have replaced two Reeflux 20k bulbs. I did not like those bulbs at all. Way too yellow...these Aquamaxx are by far nicer. Time will tell how they will burn in and how my coral respond, but am very pleased so far!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 3
Page

175 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - AquaMaxx, Mogul Base Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - AquaMaxx, Mogul Base

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Nov 11, 2014
"The site is easy to navigate, the prices are competitive, and when I've called Customer Service, they have been more than helpful."
Alijean

Nov 5, 2014
"Marine Depot continues to set the benchmark for online shopping."
cubera

Nov 4, 2014
"Love the company and they have a great selection and excellent customer service."
Alisha

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.