1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Double Ended  » 150 Watt  »  150 Watt 14500K Metal Halide Double Ended - Megachrome Coral
150 Watt 14500K Metal Halide Double Ended - Megachrome Coral

150 Watt 14500K Metal Halide Double Ended - Megachrome Coral

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
MB2669
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $125.99
You Save: $30.00 (23%)
15% Off Site-Wide: Black Friday Blowout (Exclusions apply)
Use Coupon at checkout: BLACKFRIDAY2014
Valid From 11/21/2014 - 12/1/2014
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

150 Watt 14500K Metal Halide Double Ended - Megachrome Coral Information




We offer a wide variety of Metal Halide bulb choices to suit your aquarium lighting needs.

Most of the MH bulbs in the same wattage format can be interchanged. However, please contact us to make sure.

The K at the end of color rating for each bulb stands for Kelvin. This is a measurement of the color temperature. The higher the Kelvin rating, the cooler (bluer) the color of light given off by the bulb. In general, the color given off by the 10,000K German is interpreted as being a perfect white color.

NOTE: Double ended bulbs should always be used with the UV shield (supplied with most pendants). You and your corals can suffer from excess UV radiation otherwise. The bulb should be handled carefully as well since it has no outer glass casing. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations





Manufacturer Info

Giesemann Aquarium Lighting Systems
Giesemann Aquarium Lighting Systems is the market leader in Germany thanks to their beautifully engineered designs and unsurpassed build quality. Thorough testing during the research and development stages of Giesemann products ensure total reliability and longevity in the finished product. Giesemann lights can be used to illuminate both freshwater and saltwater aquarium systems. They offer a variety of high-end metal halide and T5 fluorescent aquarium light fixtures, bulbs and accessories, like cooling fans and suspension kits. Giesemann is one of the few brands that pays as much attention to the exterior design of their products as they do to the hardware they put in them. This attention to detail is evident in their modern, minimalistic designs and has helped garner the brand a reputation for crafting first-class products.
+ Display More

150 Watt 14500K Metal Halide Double Ended - Megachrome Coral Reviews



Average Rating
(7 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


very bright white so far

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 11/22/2010 from Colorado
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: decided to try the 250W DE version of this bulb after running 20K Ushios for the past 8 months. So far they are EXTREMELY bright white. Not much yellow and not much blue, either. Apart from large Sarcophyton that is just below the water surface showing some burn, all the corals in my mixed tank are responding very well to these bulbs, but I'm not sure how I feel about the color of these bulbs just yet. They've only been running about 45 hours so far so they still appear a bit "harsh" to my eye. It's like they are so bright the color gets washed out of some of my LPS corals (but the polyp expansion is impressive). I'm hoping they mellow out a bit once they hit about 100 hours or I might have to go back to 20Ks.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Best in Class

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/8/2010 from WEST PALM BEACH, FL UNITED STA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I've tried several other MH bulbs, and the Giesmann is the best in class. You can really see the difference with the corals. They thrive under the Megachrome and look true to life, whereas with other bulbs the corals do not do as well. I tried using Megachrome and another bulb in the fixture and the side of the tank with megachrome did much better.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Giesmann Bulbs

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/16/2009 from TUCSON, AZ UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: It is a little early yet for me to give a complete review of these bulbs. I am running a Hamilton setup with four atinic blue compact floresents and three HQI 250W metal halides. The megachrome bulbs look a little whiter than my previous Hamilton 14k models. For a 14.5K bulb it is a little strange. They look great, however I don't yet know if I can justify the cost. Long term testing will give me a better idea. My tank is a 125 Gal Reef.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Giessemann

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/12/2008 from MEQUON, WI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: These lamps are great! My SPS corals really look good under them and grow too. Also have LPS and some softies.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Very Disappointed

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 12/3/2007 from AUSTIN, TX UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I was very disappointed with the color of the Geisemann 14500k Mega Chrome bulb. I allowed for the 180-200 hour burn in time and the color was still very disappointing. They were very yellow and burned very hot in comparison to the Hamilton 14K bulbs I was replacing. The most expensive bulbs are not the best overall product.


5 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




I like them

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/30/2007 from NEW YORK, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've tried a lot of DE HQI bulbs over the years and this one is the best...for me. I run a 135 Reef and use three of these over the tank. I've focused on SPS but have a few LPS hard corals. These lights bring out the best combination of bright colors and healthy growth. The light is a crisp white with a hint of actinic.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




excelent!!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/18/2007 from EAGLE PASS, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: excelent product, I recommend 100%.


2 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No



150 Watt 14500K Metal Halide Double Ended - Megachrome Coral Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 14500K Metal Halide Bulb - Megachrome Coral, Double Ended

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Nov 24, 2014
"Shipping was easy and quick; customer service was great."
Junior

Nov 23, 2014
"Huge fan of the early online Black Friday deals!! Makes getting large purchases like a protein skimmer much more reasonable."
Noppy

Nov 22, 2014
"Always love the service and speed of receiving my product."
bush

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.