Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Double Ended  » 150 Watt  »  150 Watt 10000K Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended
150 Watt 10000K Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended

150 Watt 10000K Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
MB2467
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $92.95
Was: $48.99
You Save: $47.96 (51%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

150 Watt 10000K Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

150W 10000K METAL HALIDE DOUBLE ENDED BULB - Ushio

The German-Made Ushio double-ended metal halide bulb offers excellent coloration and intensity. The crisp-white color will illuminate your tank nicely. It is very similar to an IceCap 10,000K bulb but slightly more blue. Actinic supplementation may be used to create a bluer look. An electronic ballast, magnetic pulse-start ballast or magnetic HQI ballast is required to ignite these bulbs. It must also be housed inside a pendant. It cannot be used with simply a reflector in an open application as UV rays emitted by the bulb must first be filtered with a UV-proof lens. An excellent choice for nano-reefs and other reef tanks up to 22" deep. on how the different Kelvin ratings appear and more information on metal halide bulbs.


Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:

  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: The bulb should be handled carefully during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations





Manufacturer Info

Ushio
Since the North American operations began in 1967, it has been USHIO America, Inc.`s charter to provide customers with unrivaled customer service. With over 4,000 products in their portfolio, from unique specialty light sources for critically important and demanding applications, to general illumination lamps for architectural and task lighting, USHIO has earned worldwide respect as a company that delivers on its promise to meet the world`s lighting needs.

Warranty

9 month pro-rated warranty


150 Watt 10000K Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended Reviews



Average Rating
(31 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 4
Page


Great Bulbs

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/4/2014 from CHENEY, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Much better for my corals than the cheapy MHs that came with my lighting unit. Very bright, white light. Perfect compliment to my Giesmann T5 actinics.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Bright

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/18/2012 from MARLBOROUGH, MA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This bulb was extacly what I expected. Perfect and really makes my tank pop


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Lights

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/12/2012 from REDWOOD CITY, CA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: They are great just what I was told


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




More yellow than expected

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 10/5/2011 from YORK, SC UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I realize this is a 10k bulb and not a 14 or 20k bulb. However, I was expecting a little less yellow. The bulbs have been in for a week or so, so the color should have fully developed by now. The product did ship quickly and was packaged well.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Nice Bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/15/2011 from RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA UNITED
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Have a 28 gallon Nano and this bulb is perfect for it. Initially the Nano came with a 14k bulb, way to much power. Nice bulb for the price! Placed the order on Monday, the bulb was at my door on Wednesday, with no special shipping. First purchase, definitely not my last! Thanks again! T


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Fits time replacement - easy

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/14/2011 from HOUSTON, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Have to kick myself for not changing these earlier - I had the original bulbs for over 2 years and when 1 just went out on my Coral Life lighting system - must have been a sign - the replacement was very simpleboth lamps (2 ordered) went in and fired up first try. Just like the rest the other comments - a bit blue at first then settled down to a very nice 10K color after a few days. Very nice and would recommend to anyone - ***especially*** from this website- they do it right every time - shipping, notifications, price, packing - no problems.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




USHIO 10,000K

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/27/2011 from LEVITTOWN, PUERTO RICO
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Excellent bulb. Have been using them for 4 years already on my 80 gal. reef and very crispy color on the corals with great coraline growth.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




1st Time to use Ushio

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/7/2011 from COEUR D ALENE, ID UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Have had these new Ushio 10K bulbs running for the last couple of days and they are bright and look great! At first they seemed to have a slight blue tint but I don't notice it anymore. While hard to say... they seem 10-20% brighter than they bulbs they replaced. In installing these bulbs I went online to see which way the "nub" should face, up or down, (up is correct) and realized I had my previous bulbs installed the wrong way. Great bulbs, assuming they last I believe I will continue using Ushio for future bulb replacements.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




too yellow

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/5/2011 from Wilmington, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: i bought this ushio 10k and it's to yellow , i'v always had used phoenix 14k , and i wanted to make a change, but i dont like it ..it seems more brite than phoenix and i heard it has more par ..i dont know that..great bulb to used with actinic , which i dont have...


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Looks Really good

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 3/25/2011 from SCOTTSDALE, AZ UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been using 14000K for a few years and decided to try these along with a bluer actinic than I have been using. I am really pleased with the look. Lights were shipped quickly and packaged super good. I hesitated at first as I have been buying all my stuff at the LFS, but I am really happy with the website.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 4
Page

150 Watt 10000K Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 10000K Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 18, 2014
"I like how easy it is to do business with Marine Depot. I also love the competitive prices on products."
Joshua

Aug 15, 2014
"The best online place to shop for all aquarium supplies. The best packing ever: I've ordered lights, nothing has ever broken."
Corals&Clowns

Aug 13, 2014
"Great place to buy reef aquarium products."
Gabe

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.