Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Double Ended  » 150 Watt  »  150 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Double-Ended
150 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Double-Ended

150 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Double-Ended

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
MB2861
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $79.95
You Save: $9.96 (12%)
$69.99
Paying Made Easy, Bill Me Later. Subject to Credit Approval. See Terms.
Add To My Wish List

150 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Double-Ended Information




The XM double-ended 20000K metal halide bulb offers excellent coloration and good intensity. It is white with a strong blue tint. It brings out the fluorescent pigments in corals nicely. Fluorescent supplementation is usually not necessary, but can be used for added intensity and to simulate dawn and dusk. It must also be housed inside a pendant. It cannot be used with simply a reflector in an open application as UV rays emitted by the bulb must first be filtered with a UV-proof lens. An excellent choice for reef tanks up to 18" deep. on how the different Kelvin ratings appear and more information on metal halide bulbs.


Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:

  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: Double ended bulbs should always be used with the UV shield (supplied with most pendants). You and your corals can suffer from excess UV radiation otherwise. The bulb should be handled carefully as well since it has no outer glass casing. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations
 






Manufacturer Info

XM Lighting
XM Lighting is the leading manufacturer of high quality metal halide lamps for the aquarium industry. XM Lighting began in 2003 and took the hobby by storm with high PAR levels, high quality lamps, and world class customer service. XM Lighting quickly became the hottest selling lamp in the industry, and they`ve continued the trend by developing new lamp wattages and color temperatures to meet the ever changing demands of the aquarium hobby.
+ Display More

150 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Double-Ended Reviews



Average Rating
(20 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Flawless Bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/21/2013 from Owings Mills, MD UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Purchased this for a friends bio cube HQI. The 20k is a brilliant blue and gives the water a cool (temperature) appearance. Bulb fires up with no issue, and lasts a solid 8 months before the color begins to shift. Burn in time is around a week, and this product will not disappoint.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/12/2013 from MAGNA, UT UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The bulb has been installed only for a few days and it is bluer than my 14K Phoenix was. I am still waiting to see how well the corals take to the new light spectrum and if they color up a bit.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




awesome

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/2/2011 from TELFORD, PA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I had the xm bulb before. When it was time to replace Itried another brand.It was too bright,not enough blue.My corals were hating life (not opening and shrinking)so I immediately ordered an xm. After being on for 2 days my corals opened and my zoo's are poppin.Awesome bulb and I highly recommend it to all my fellow reefers.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




250W 20K Bulbs

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/3/2011 from CARTERSVILLE, GA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: these bulbs are just what I wanted- nice color and you guys had the best price on the internet. I'm satisfied.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM,

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 4/22/2010 from Brooklyn, NY UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Will not be buying this again. Surprisingly for 20000K the 'strong blue tint' isn't that blue and the worst thing about it, is that the porcelain ends are extremely fragile


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Not for me

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 1/5/2010 from DALLAS, TX UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I like blue but it's a little too blue for me. It not so much the blue that I don't like it's the darkness.. it's way darker. Growth slows way down. Some of my corals like pink lemonade did seem to get better color. The polyps actually turned pink. I'm running this on icecap and cheap Odyssea reflectors.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Excellent

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/2/2009 from HUBER HEIGHTS, OH UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This bulb provides a nice crisp whitish blue color. I am pleased with it and so are my corals. I was using the Radium 20k but the bulbs (all three that I purchased)were defective. This bulb is well worth the money as it fires quickly and does not flucuate. Burns evenly.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




XM double-ended 20000K 250W

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/3/2009 from RICHMOND, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great bulb for the money, however, would have liked an overall bluer tint. Requires the use of actinics to achieve this.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




MH Bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/11/2009 from YOUNGSVILLE, LA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This is by far the best MH bulb hands down. You will not catch me with any other brand of bulb on my aquarium.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




XM 150W 20k bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/11/2009 from TAMPA, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Item is exactly as ordered and the advice was spot on. I am running the bulb in a 10 gallon Nano reef tank with a current Sunpod power pack and it has a beautiful crisp white light w/ a tint of blue. My advice to you, do not run this bulb with actinic bulbs otherwise the color will be too blue.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 2
Page
150 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Double-Ended Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Double-Ended

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
April 13, 2014
"I'm satisfied with my purchase. Did comparisons and I was better off purchasing from MarineDepot.com."
wsalazar01

April 9, 2014
"Keep it up. Decent prices and quick shipping."
manny

April 4, 2014
"Very well organized. Price match option worked great."
slt11317

MarineDepotLive.com - Dazzling WYSIWYG Corals