Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Single Ended  » 175 Watt  »  175 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base
175 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base

175 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
MB4811
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $119.95
You Save: $51.96 (43%)
$67.99
Paying Made Easy, Bill Me Later. Subject to Credit Approval. See Terms.
Add To My Wish List

175 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

175W 20000K METAL HALIDE SINGLE ENDED BULB—USHIO

The Ushio 20000K metal halide bulb offers excellent coloration and average intensity. It is crisp-white with a strong blue tint. It brings out the fluorescent pigments in corals nicely. Fluorescent supplementation is usually not necessary, but can be used for added intensity and to simulate dawn and dusk.  A good choice for reef tanks up to 18" deep. on how the different Kelvin ratings appear and more information on metal halide bulbs.

Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:
  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: The bulb should be handled carefully. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations
 






Manufacturer Info

Ushio
Since the North American operations began in 1967, it has been USHIO America, Inc.`s charter to provide customers with unrivaled customer service. With over 4,000 products in their portfolio, from unique specialty light sources for critically important and demanding applications, to general illumination lamps for architectural and task lighting, USHIO has earned worldwide respect as a company that delivers on its promise to meet the world`s lighting needs.

Warranty

9 month pro-rated warranty

+ Display More

175 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base Reviews



Average Rating
(4 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


halide

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 11/16/2008 from BROWNSVILLE, KY UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: great color! really brings out the coral pigments!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Awesome bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/12/2008 from SHELTON, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Love this bulb! The light is an awesome blue-white and very bright. The billing was simple and the shipping was fast! Great product and website


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




True Blue

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 3/18/2008 from LONGMONT, CO UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This buld has a very strong white with blue tint. At night espeically the Blue in the light seems to be stronger. I have 3 of these aboe my 300 gallon, It's great.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




GERMAN US HIO

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/27/2007 from TAMPA, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: EXCELLENT PRODUCT AND PERFORMANCE THANK YOU.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No



Accessories for 175 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base



175 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - German Ushio, Mogul Base

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
April 13, 2014
"I'm satisfied with my purchase. Did comparisons and I was better off purchasing from MarineDepot.com."
wsalazar01

April 9, 2014
"Keep it up. Decent prices and quick shipping."
manny

April 4, 2014
"Very well organized. Price match option worked great."
slt11317

MarineDepotLive.com - Dazzling WYSIWYG Corals