Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
Expires in 00:00:00
15% Off Additives
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Double Ended  » 70 Watt  »  250 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended
250 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended

250 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
MB6867
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $112.95
You Save: $47.96 (42%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

250 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

We offer a wide variety of Metal Halide bulb choices to suit your aquarium lighting needs.

A Metal Halide Lamp is a high-intensity discharge light source in which the light is produced by the radiation from mercury, plus halides of metals such as sodium, scandium, indium, and dysprosium. The K at the end of color rating for each bulb stands for Kelvin. This is a measurement of the color temperature. The higher the Kelvin rating, the cooler (bluer) the color of light given off by the bulb. In general, the color given off by the 10,000K German is interpreted as being a perfect white color.

There are two main considerations to decide upon when chosing Metal Halide bulbs and systems: wattage and color temperature.
  1. There are generally two considerations when planning wattage, tank depth and the requirements of various types of corals. Tanks 18" and shorter will, typically, use 175 or 250 watt MH bulbs. Typically, tanks 24" and over will use 400 watt MH bulbs. I have found most soft and large-polyped-stony corals to do just fine within 5-15 inches from a 175 watt bulb and 10-24 inches from a 400 watt bulb. Most small-polyped-stony corals survive within 5-10 inches from a 175 watt but appear to thrive within 5-15 inches of 250 and 400 watt bulbs. These are all just general statements to assist in going the correct route with chosing wattage. They are not absolute truths.
  2. Color temperature is a hotly debated topic where there is no one recommendation that will fit everybody. Lowers Kelvin temperatures are yellower and greener colors while higher Kelvin temperatures are whiter and bluer colors. There are two factors that determine most hobbysts choice of bulb colors, par rating and aesthetics. The 6500K Iwasaki bulb is generally regarded as an excellent PAR rated bulb. However, it`s green tinged yellowish color makes for what is considered by many as poor aesthetics. This is not the say the much bluer 20,000K German bulb is aesthetically ideal. Many hobbyists complain this bulb is too blue. By far, the bulbs most popularly purchased are the 10,000K German and the 12,000K Sunburst bulbs. The majority of hobbyists choose aesthetics as the determining factor of chosing color temperature for the primary reason that the appearance of our aquariums is of utmost importance. Due to the subjective nature of color preference, we refrain from making suggestions on which color temperature is right for you. Instead, we have a visual bulb comparison of the popular bulbs on the market.
As a general rule of thumb, use one metal halide bulb for 24" of tank length. Most of the Metal Halide bulbs in the same wattage format can be interchanged. However, please contact us to make sure. Metal Halide bulbs are one the most difficult aspects of the hobby to recommend. Most of the information here is general.

Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:
  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: Double ended bulbs should always be used with the UV shield (supplied). Your corals can suffer from excess UV radiation otherwise. The bulb should be handled carefully as well since it has no outer glass casing. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations
 






Manufacturer Info

Ushio
Since the North American operations began in 1967, it has been USHIO America, Inc.`s charter to provide customers with unrivaled customer service. With over 4,000 products in their portfolio, from unique specialty light sources for critically important and demanding applications, to general illumination lamps for architectural and task lighting, USHIO has earned worldwide respect as a company that delivers on its promise to meet the world`s lighting needs.

Warranty

9 month pro-rated warranty

+ Display More

250 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended Reviews



Average Rating
(35 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 4
Page


Phenominal Spectral Output

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/20/2013 from ROCKFORD, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The color rendition is amazing and all corals have reacted positively from the 14k's I used to have to these.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Shattered upon install

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 4/11/2013 from MIDLAND, NC UNITED STATES
2.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I purchased two of these bulbs. So far one is working well. The other broke when I placed it in the fixture. My fault or bad manufacturing???


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great price

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/17/2012 from WILKES BARRE, PA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: a truly great bulb for your money, also the best 20,000k bulb that is double ended. they do take a month or so to" break in" so they are a little white at first. i combine them with geissman bulbs and the PAR is perfect for the mix of color's


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




halide bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/27/2012 from NEWPORT NEWS, VA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Bulb is as advertised. Color is good, temperature range of works well with my tank


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Awesome

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/24/2012 from CORPUS CHRISTI, TX UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I read alot of compaints about this bulb not being blue enough compared to the Phoenix 14K, but I am really pleased with the color in my tank. Some say it's a little purple/pink, and maybe so- but nothing overwhelming. Great bulb for the price and I'm already seeing colors improve in my Acros. :)


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good for stony vowels

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/1/2012 from FORT COLLINS, CO UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The bulbs are bright and blue in color, easy to install but I wish they would last longer and were a little cheaper. The corals love the light but I almost lost a giant Acropora when the bulbs seem to fade out around six to seven months, I was able to make a frag before the giant died. The new bulbs package says on the side they should last longer,let's hope so, after all who wants to buy bulbs every six months. The soft corals could care less. The bulbs grow stony corals good with fast growth


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Us

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/20/2012 from Gig Harbor, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Excellent


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




AAA

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/14/2011 from GREEN BAY, WI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The Best Bulb


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Ushio

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/1/2011 from APEX, NC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: These bulbs are fantastic. Over the years I have tried several Brands but keep coming back to Ushio. The 20,000K has some of the richest Blue and at the break of ~100 hours, they are even nicer.I feel secure when ordering from this site as I know whatever I buy will arrive in a timely fashion and the product will always arrive safely as well.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Love this Bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/16/2011 from URBANA, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This bulb has a beautiful blue color. I love it, and most importantly, the corals love it :)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 4
Page
250 Watt 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 20000K+ Metal Halide Bulb - Ushio, Double Ended

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Sorry! While there is no limit to the number of items we'll price match in an order, our online system will only accept one. Please call us at 1-800-566-FISH (3474) and we’ll happily price match additional items for you.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
July 7, 2014
"I have been a customer of Marine Depot since they opened. Always get what I ordered packed properly and shipped quickly."
tlmwest

July 6, 2014
"I was very satisfied with how everything was packaged. Everything I ordered was nicely placed in the box. I will definitely order from here again. Thank you Marine Depot."
vincentcarlucci83

July 2, 2014
"Love Marine Depot. All around great company with great service and they have everything you can think of."
Gerry0625