Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Single Ended  » 400 Watt  »  400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - German Radium, Mogul Base
400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - German Radium, Mogul Base

400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - German Radium, Mogul Base

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
MB8811
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $134.99
You Save: $51.00 (37%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - German Radium, Mogul Base Information




Radium 20000K metal halide bulb offers excellent coloration and good intensity. It is crisp-white with a strong blue tint. It brings out the fluorescent pigments in corals nicely. Fluorescent supplementation is usually not necessary, but can be used for added intensity and to simulate dawn and dusk. An electronic ballast, magnetic pulse-start ballast or magnetic HQI ballast is required to ignite this bulb. This bulb is white with a blue tint on a magnetic HQI ballast. It will burn more blue on an electronic ballast or pulse-start ballast. An excellent choice for  reef tanks 18" or deeper.

Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:
  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: The bulb should be handled carefully. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

*Requires HQI ballast, electronic ballast or pulse start ballasts to work properly.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations
 






Manufacturer Info

Radium
Radium was founded in 1904 in Wipperfürth, situated abt. 40 km north-east from Cologne in the `Bergische Land`. Already a short time later the production of lamps with high-quality tungsten wires started here. Due to its know-how Radium advanced fast to one of the most important companies of the region and nowadays counts among one of the most experienced brand-name manufacturers of the lamp industry.
+ Display More

400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - German Radium, Mogul Base Reviews



Average Rating
(31 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 4
Page


ok bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/5/2014 from ATLANTA, GA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This product is a fine one, if you can get one that isn't damaged. The first bulb was cracked or scratched, which means "DO NOT USE". The replacement unit was undamaged. What is especially nice is the color, which creates a very natural "blue" tint and really makes the colors of the corals and fish pop.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/29/2014 from GAITHERSBURG, MD UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Been using this bulb for the last 5 years on my 180 gallon with soft corals. Corals have been growing and I love the blue spectrum. I have 3 bulbs suspended about 18 inches above the tank.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




400W Radium

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/21/2014 from MISSOURI CITY, TX UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Excellent!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




radium 20k bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/4/2013 from HOUSTON, TX UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The bulb works great and gives off great shimmer. The corals seem to like it as there is great polyp extension.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




400 Watt Radium 20K

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/6/2013 from BELLINGHAM, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The 20000K bulbs are great, a lot more light then the 250 watt bulbs, but that also comes with more heat and the chiller has to work harder. The blue tint from the bulbs make the corals pop with more color.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Customer Service

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/3/2013 from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Your service and follow up on my purchase was excellent. Have used these bulbs before and had downsized my tank but I am now back using these bulbs. I honestly forgot how nice they were. Thank you! I'll be back!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




not a true 20K

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 12/27/2012 from SLIDELL, LA UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great price and good intensity but does not match up with my other bulbs.It has more of yellowish tone


0 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




250w Radium

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/14/2011 from Port Saint Lucie, FL UNITED ST
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I was running 15k for the last year so I decieded to replace these with the Radiums. I am currently running dual Galaxy ballast so the pair matched and worked perfectly. The color has surpassed my expectations with a ice blue ice white color. The only way to explain it is an artic blue/white ice color. All the yellow is removed and the colors just pop. If you are on the fence about purchasing these don't hesitate. I should have purchased these long ago. Just make sure your ballast will run this style bulb.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Wow

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/30/2011 from GRESHAM, OR UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have a 120 gallon mixed reef aquarium. I run 2 VHO UVI, 2 250W 14000k metal halide bulbs and LED moonlighting. When I switched from the 14000k to this bulb the response from my corals was amazing! Within a few days the colors were deeper, more pronounced. MY SPS are very happy as our my soft corals. This is simply an incredible halide for my reef.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




best bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/11/2010 from SANTEE, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: There the best and everyone knows it. perfect color.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 4
Page
400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - German Radium, Mogul Base Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - German Radium, Mogul Base

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is my come-to choice whenever it comes to buying aquarium supplies."
reeftanklover2012

Aug 3, 2014
"Great company, easy and quick to find and order almost anything I need. Great customer service."
Jack

July 31, 2014
"As always, it was a pleasure to do business with Marine Depot. I've ordered from them a few times before and have always been very happy with their products and service."
Ann

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.