Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Bulbs  » Metal Halide  » Single Ended  » 400 Watt  »  400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Mogul Base
400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Mogul Base

400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Mogul Base

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
MB8813
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $94.95
You Save: $20.96 (22%)
$73.99
Paying Made Easy, Bill Me Later. Subject to Credit Approval. See Terms.
Add To My Wish List

400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Mogul Base Information




400W 20000K METAL HALIDE SINGLE ENDED BULB—XM

The XM 20000K metal halide bulb offers excellent coloration and average intensity. It is crisp-white with a strong blue tint. It brings out the fluorescent pigments in corals nicely. Fluorescent supplementation is usually not necessary, but can be used for added intensity and to simulate dawn and dusk. This bulb is white with a blue tint on a magnetic HQI ballast. It will burn more blue on an magnetic pulse-start ballast or standard magnetic ballast. This bulb will work with a standard magnetic ballast, magnetic pulse-start ballast or magnetic HQI ballast. An excellent choice for reef tanks 18" or deeper.

Common questions/problems concerning metal halide lamps:
  1. Metal halide lamps of the same kind are different colors?
    Metal halide lamps operate by passing an electric arc through an arc tube that excites particles in the arc tube. When the metal particles reach an excited state they emit energy in the form of visible light. It takes 100 hours of operation before the metal particles stabilize and become a consistent color. All metal halides require 100 hours of operation before color and light output stabilize. All metal halides inherently have a slight color variation between individual lamps.
  2. The metal halide lamp fires and then either burns dull or the arc extinguishes?
    Usually the ballast and lamp are not receiving enough power. Metal halides pull a high current. Usually the problem is either there is too great a load on the circuit or the extension cords are of a small wire size and can`t handle the power needed by the ballast. Use only heavy duty extension cords and try running a ballast off a circuit from another part of the house.
  3. Do I need a cover shield between the lamp and the aquarium?
    Metal halide lamps produce a large amount of UV and also have a potential of exploding. The single ended metal halide lamps have an outer jacket which eliminates most of the UV. However, they have an inherent risk of exploding and UL requires metal halide lamps to be enclosed. On double ended lamps there is no UV shield. Double ended lamps must have a glass shield or major eye injuries including blindness may occur.
  4. Can I operate a ballast and lamp together which are designed for different wattages?
    Each wattage lamp and ballast are designed together for optimal performance and safety. If you over drive the lamp it may explode and shorten the life of the ballast and lamps. If you under drive the lamp it will also shorten the life of both components and also may explode. Do not mix different type wattages of lamps and ballasts.
NOTE: The bulb should be handled carefully. Using soft gloves is a good idea to keep finger prints off bulb. This is during installation and replacement.

Bulb Replacement Guide
Bulb Types Life of Bulb*
Normal Output Fluorescent 6-12 months
Very High Output (VHO) 6-12 months
Power Compact (PC) 9-12 months
T5 High Output (T5HO) 9-18 months
Metal Halide 9-12 months
LED (non-moonlight) ~5 years (50,000 hours)
* Manufacturer Recommendations
 

**Please Note** Pulse start type lamps may ignite and work just fine on a probe start ballast for a few months; however, as the lamp ages, the electrodes erode and higher voltage is needed to start the lamp. The open circuit voltage provided by probe start ballasts is not sufficient to ignite a pulse start lamp.





 



Manufacturer Info

XM Lighting
XM Lighting is the leading manufacturer of high quality metal halide lamps for the aquarium industry. XM Lighting began in 2003 and took the hobby by storm with high PAR levels, high quality lamps, and world class customer service. XM Lighting quickly became the hottest selling lamp in the industry, and they`ve continued the trend by developing new lamp wattages and color temperatures to meet the ever changing demands of the aquarium hobby.

Warranty

9 month pro-rated warranty

+ Display More

400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Mogul Base Reviews



Average Rating
(20 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Great Bulb

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/12/2012 from PLANO, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Fired right up and both bulbs I bought throw off a very consistent color. Recommended!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM,

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/29/2012 from SOUTH CHESTERFIELD, VA UNITED
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The lights are awesome! Great color on my corals. Great price too.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




thanks marine depot

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/27/2012 from HIGHLAND HOME, AL UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The Xms out perform any other 400 moguls I've used very nice coloration in corals like the way the bulbs start up.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great service

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/12/2011 from MOBILE, AL UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: have had a great overall experience with these bulbs in the past.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




20000K

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/12/2010 from Yelm, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Coral and Fish love them, Excellent bulbs.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




XM250 20000K

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 12/8/2009 from FLEMINGTON, NJ UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Bought this bulb by mistake. Normally use a XM250 10000K. This bulb does not nearly have the PAR output as the 10000K. My pH has dropped by .3 ever since I made the change. I am not a fan of the bluer tint that 20000K's have and the lower PAR is a even bigger disappointment.


0 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good Bulb!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/17/2009 from BRANDON, SD UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This is my second round with XM bulbs. I was impressed the first time and am just as satisfied with the new ones. These bulbs have a great PAR value. Will most likely be using these again in the future.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




NOT IMPRESSED!

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 11/12/2008 from OLATHE, KS UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This was my first purchase of an xm bulb. After 2-1/2 months the bulb has quit working. I am now in the process of returning the faulty product to the manufacturer.


1 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Nice Blue

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/4/2008 from DORAL, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Nice Blue tint, I recomend!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




This bulb has value.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/1/2008 from RICHMOND, VA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: It's a good value bulb that renders nice colors.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 2
Page
400 Watt 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Mogul Base Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: 20000K Metal Halide Bulb - XM, Mogul Base

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
April 13, 2014
"I'm satisfied with my purchase. Did comparisons and I was better off purchasing from MarineDepot.com."
wsalazar01

April 9, 2014
"Keep it up. Decent prices and quick shipping."
manny

April 4, 2014
"Very well organized. Price match option worked great."
slt11317

MarineDepotLive.com - Choose your Chalice