Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Protein Skimmers  » Accessories  »  AquaC Remora Pre-Skimmer For Cobalt MJ1200 Powerhead
AquaC Remora Pre-Skimmer For Cobalt MJ1200 Powerhead

AquaC Remora Pre-Skimmer For Cobalt MJ1200 Powerhead

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
AC3323
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $54.95
You Save: $26.96 (49%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

AquaC Remora Pre-Skimmer For Cobalt MJ1200 Powerhead Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

The AquaC Remora and Remora Pro are undoubtedly the most efficient hang on skimmers available today, and what better than an accessory that boosts their performance by as much as 20%!

The AquaC Surface Prefilter is a special box designed to hide the skimmer pump, thereby creating a more aesthetically pleasing aquarium. The Surface Prefilter isn`t just about looks, however. Ever notice that oily "skin" on the top of your aquarium? The Surface Prefilter skims water off the top of the tank, which is often coated with a heavy load of organics. This can improve skimming by as much as 20% (much darker, smellier foam), and the prefilter has a slotted edge just like an expensive overflow box.

The Surface Prefilter also contains a bubble eliminating sponge to get rid of those microbubbles that sometimes escape back to the aquarium. The water return area can also serve as a media chamber for those who choose to use activated carbon or phosphate removing compounds.



Specifications

Dimensions (L x W x H): 8.5" x 2.5" x 7.25"

The Surface Prefilter installs in seconds and requires no tools - just attach to the pump and turn your Remora or Remora Pro hang on skimmer into a waste removing machine!


What's in the Box

  • preskimmer box
  • sponge bubble trap


Manufacturer Info

AquaC Aquarium Supplies
AquaC was founded in 1998 as a small one-man operation in San Diego, California. The company has since grown to become one of the leading protein skimmer manufacturers in the United States and sells thousands of units globally every year. AquaC`s 5,000 square foot production facility in San Diego sets the standard in technology for acrylic fabrication. They use precision CNC machined parts and advanced thermoforming techniques to build products of unmatched quality and value. The company`s focus has remained the same after more than a decade in business: to provide high-quality products and top-notch customer service to customers with each and every transaction.

Warranty

90 days from date of purchase.

+ Display More

AquaC Remora Pre-Skimmer For Cobalt MJ1200 Powerhead Reviews



Average Rating
(79 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 8
Page


AquaC Remora Pro Pre-skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 12/14/2013 from HOUSTON, TX UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: 1) The box is HUGE. It will hide the pump to make the tank look cleaner but it takes up a lot of space. 2) Suction cups make it secure but it is very difficult to get to the cups to detach once it is on. 3)Very sensitive to water levels so it has to be closely monitored. Overall, it looks great...just was not good for my tank.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/27/2013 from SLINGERLANDS, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: It insures that surface scum actually gets into the Skimmer!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Bubbles

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 5/3/2013 from SELDEN, NY UNITED STATES
2.5 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Extremely easy setup. Short break in time. Millions of micro-bubbles. Basically forced to get pre-skimmer attachment to get rid of the bubbles. Loud at times. But it does produce quality skim. Get the pre-filter box to save some time.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Per skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 10/10/2012 from SAN ANGELO, TX UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Pre skimmer isn't as much of an eye sore as I thought it would be, probably helps that I have a black background. It does effectively eliminate most micro bubbles reentering the tank. The "pre-skimmer" effectiveness is debatable.. It's nearly impossible to maintain the proper water level for more than a day aligned with the notches at the top to cause an overflow effect.. However this may be easier with an auto top off system.. Although I have my water line about halfway between the top and bottom of the notches, the skimmer does pull in some surface material where it then swirls around the surface just inside the box, I'm assuming that it will dissipate into the water and therefore into the skimmer. "20% better performance" may apply to this action. The suction cups on the back work great; they still allow movement and adjustment while maintaining good suction. Overall the product generally does what it says and I would certainly recommend it for anyone with an auto top off system seeking a cheap remedy for surface skimming/overflow box, or to someone with extra time on their hands who can adjust the box almost daily.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




good solution to surface skim

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/8/2012 from Lawrenceville, GA UNITED STATE
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Pros: This box does improve the performance of the Remora Pro skimmer in two ways. One, it allows you to have an overflow box to skim the surface oils creating a nice and clean water surface. Second, in my case I was able to better control the flow rate of the pump without using a flow valve. The shape of the box will not allow you to use the foam pre skimmer on any of the Mag drive 3 versions of this skimmer but its not much risk to fish and in fact in my mind its better as there is no prefilter to clog or clean. I never had issues with microbubbles as others noted, but I can see that this would solve the problem. Finally, one feature not noted is that the pre skimmer has a foam sponge on one side so that if the waterlevel gets below the overflow slots, the pump wont run dry right away. Your water level would have to get below the bottom of the box itself before water would not feed in. Good design choice. The cons of this unit is it uses suction cups, which are of good quality and though the mfg will replace free of charge once they fail, they will fail and need replacement later. I prefer a clasp that attaches to the tank that I can adjust up and down. Second, its big and bulky. It does however hide the pump and make the tank look less cluttered. Worth the money and in my opinion should be a standard accessory to the Remora Pro skimmer instead of an option.


5 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




DEATH TRAP FOR FISH

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 3/14/2012 from Fitchburg, WI UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Beware!! It works as it should skimming the top of the water and reducing micro bubbles in the main display but I have lost a few fish to this and not just small fish but fish even up 5"


3 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Pre skimmer mag 3

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/14/2011 from OMAHA, NE UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Works great on my Remora Pro with mag 3 and they quality is good just as expected from AquaC. I like that they put suction cups on the back of it versus those set screws they use to have.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




AquaC Remora Pro Pre-skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 7/25/2011 from TINLEY PARK, IL UNITED STATES
2.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Works well although mounting design is an after thought. Found if you move skimmer out flush with inside tank top molding, the pre-skimmer seems to hold it's position better but not really a fix. No more micro bubbles returning to tank so the main objective was met for me. AquaC needs to design a retro fit kit for mounting.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Pre skimmer better than hoped

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/19/2011 from GREEN BAY, WI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have loved the Remora skimmers ever since the first one I bought many years ago. I now have double digit skimmers and the Remoras are the best in my experience considering skim mate, size, value and esthetics. I started a 32 gallon nano reef and for the first time ever I experienced micro bubbles in the effluent water. This stuck to some of the corals, especially the xenias, and caused strings of bubbles to stick to the ends of the xenia. I tried to run the effluent water through a media bag, I tried running it with carbon in the bag with little reduction of the bubbles. Once I bought this skimmer box, I was 100 percent happy with the success at which it removed the bubbles. It also allows me to run ozone to the influent water, add carbon bags to the effluent water and it all looks beautiful.I plan to buy a skimmer box for every tank I own. They install in seconds, improved my skim mate (pulls all the surface film into the skimmer and out it goes to the collection cup) and has made running ozone that much easier.I am going to be using this combo on my FOWLR tanks, my coral tanks and even just my fish only tanks. My only regret is that I didn’t buy one of these earlier. I listened to the few nay Sayers and boy, that was a mistake. For less than $35 my tank looks 100 percent better both water clarity and the hidden equipment and media bags are out of sight. What a perfectly simply design.Thanks for carrying such a great product and thanks Aqua C for making such powerful, compact products that outperform higher costing equipment.Sincerely, Matt P.


4 of 9 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Better than expected.

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/17/2011 from Erin, TN UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I've used the Remora on my Oceanic 50 gallon tank for years. I saw this Pre-skimmer as the "Deal of the Day" and decided to try it. I read the reviews that it was too big and didn't mount very well. The Pre-skimmer I received didn't attach to the Maxi-Jet with screws like the one shown. It had 4 big suction cups on the back. A much better set-up. It was easy to install and works much better than I expected. I didn't have to adjust it once. I don't find it too big. I wish I'd used one sooner.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 8
Page

Accessories for AquaC Remora Pre-Skimmer For Cobalt MJ1200 Powerhead



AquaC Remora Pre-Skimmer For Cobalt MJ1200 Powerhead Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaC Remora Pro Pre-skimmer

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 18, 2014
"I like how easy it is to do business with Marine Depot. I also love the competitive prices on products."
Joshua

Aug 15, 2014
"The best online place to shop for all aquarium supplies. The best packing ever: I've ordered lights, nothing has ever broken."
Corals&Clowns

Aug 13, 2014
"Great place to buy reef aquarium products."
Gabe

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.