Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Protein Skimmers  » Hang On Skimmers  » Spray Injection  »  AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer
AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer

AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer

Item #:
Please make a selection
Pump Included
Quantity:
$199.99 to $249.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

The revolutionary AquaC protein skimmers do not use venturis, downdraft tubes, or air pumps; they employ the patented "Spray Injection System." This innovation allows the protein skimmer to efficiently draw in much more air than any other of the top protein skimmers. This coupled with the superiorly designed compact reaction chamber yields results that will literally blow the waste out of your water.

How does Spray Injection Work?

In 1998, Jason Kim (owner and founder of AquaC) developed a patented process of protein skimming which has come to be known as Spray Injection. Unlike previous forms of skimming, our spray injection method enables huge amounts of air and water to be processed with a relatively small pump. Although it is a simple process, there is still some confusion as to how the spray injector works.

Imagine that you're washing your car – you've got a bucket full of soapy water and a garden hose with a fast-moving stream of water. By placing your thumb over the end of the hose, you can disrupt the stream into a turbulent, high –pressure spray. Now direct that spray down into the bucket of water, and you'll generate a massive amount of bubbles and air flow. That is exactly how our spray injector works.

The skimmer body acts as a water reservoir – the bucket in the example above. Water is pumped through the spray injector, which has a special nozzle that fans the water out into a pressurized spray. This spray shoots into the skimmer body, generating millions of tiny air bubbles. As the bubbles are formed, more air is sucked into the skimmer as a result of the local drop in pressure and the process continues.

Most other forms of protein skimming rely on special valves or media to generate the air flow, and these parts quickly become clogged with salt, dust, or even mineral deposits. The AquaC spray injector is a relatively large nozzle that resists clogging, and when combined with a pump prefilter, can be considered maintenance free.

"For its compact size and simple design, The AquaC protein skimmer is able to process a large volume of water and efficiently remove organic pollutants. I`m very happy with it!"
Fernando Nosratpour, Senior Aquarist
Birch Aquarium at Scripps


The AquaC Remora Series is the first hang-on protein skimmer under $250 to be able to generate a dry consistency of foam that previously only an in-sump "super-skimmer" is capable of.

Features:
  • The Remora is built from translucent gray acrylic to inhibit the growth of algae and marine organisms.
  • The skimmer can be ordered with a collection drain fitting (optional).
  • The two screws at the base of the skimmer are used to adjust the Remora so that it is level with the back of the tank.
Specifications:
  • Tank Size (Gallons): 50-120
  • Dimensions: 22" tall x 7-1/2" wide x 3-1/4" deep
  • Minimum tank opening 6-1/2" x 1"
  • Minimum tank height 15-1/4"
  • Minimum space behind tank 3-1/4"
  • Maximum tank lip 1-1/2" wide
  • Vertical clearance above tank 12"
  • Includes nylon cleaning brush


What's in the Box

  • skimmer body
  • collection cup
  • o-ring
  • lid for collection cup


Manufacturer Info

AquaC Aquarium Supplies
AquaC was founded in 1998 as a small one-man operation in San Diego, California. The company has since grown to become one of the leading protein skimmer manufacturers in the United States and sells thousands of units globally every year. AquaC`s 5,000 square foot production facility in San Diego sets the standard in technology for acrylic fabrication. They use precision CNC machined parts and advanced thermoforming techniques to build products of unmatched quality and value. The company`s focus has remained the same after more than a decade in business: to provide high-quality products and top-notch customer service to customers with each and every transaction.

Warranty

Manufacturers Warranty: 90 Days from date of purchase

+ Display More

AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer Reviews



Average Rating
(61 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 7
Page


AquaC Remora Pro

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/26/2013 from OREGON UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This skimmer began to collect skimate, albeit watery, within 24 hours. After 8 days the foam is beginning to tighten up nicely. I have a light bio load in 55 gallon tank. This skimmer is replacing a CPR Bak-Pak 2R which was much less efficient or consistent. The aquac Remora Pro is also very quiet in comparison. I would also like to add that customer support is excellent.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/9/2013 from COUPEVILLE, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great Skimmer


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/1/2012 from SLIDELL, LA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I am stuck have to have a HOB skimmer. I tried a Prizm (bad) Coralife (immense) and a Reef Octopus (kept ingesting fish) - bought this skimmer for my 65 reefer and it works great. Very thoughtful design and effective also. I strongly suggest you get the optional external box attachment.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




AquaC Remora review

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/1/2012 from Plymouth, NC UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This is a great protein skimmer! It is far more efficient than any other skimmer I have seen before. The only thing I do not like is how you go about plumbing the pump to the skim box. I wish they would have used something else other than clear tubing.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Aqua C. Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 9/24/2012 from OAKLAND, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have used this product for about four years and have had very good results with it. It has been pretty much trouable free. I had no idea how much bigger the pro model. But it will be a better fit for my aquarium. I highly reccomend this product to other aquarists, no venturis to mess with/


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Prote

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/8/2012 from Yuma, AZ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I use these on sumpless 40-125 gallon grow out tanks and they are excellent. Mag 3 is quiet and efficient. The Remora Pro is a well made plug~n~play HOB high efficiency low maintenance skimmer.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




remora review

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 2/22/2012
3.5 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: This is my first skimmer,so far it is working as it should.Skimate is light as my load is low.Was very noisy at first,but is much quieter now.I am monitoring it daily and have to adjust the collection cup till it is broken in.I have no sump,so this was my best alternative.I would recomend it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Remora C Pro

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/18/2011 from WICHITA, KS UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Easy setup and producing skimmate overnight. Looks ok hanging from back of tank.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Very happy

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/11/2011 from CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have a 75 gallon TruVU with built in wed/dry system. It was difficult trying to find a hang on back protein skimmer that could handle the tank size and still fit on back of tank without hitting wall. I also wanted a protein skimmer that had the pump in the tank instead of outside, in case of leaking issues and noise. It took a week and half to fully kick in, but it is working quite well. It looks nice and the cup is easy to remove and clean.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Would not recommend

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 1/2/2011 from LYNN HAVEN, FL UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Had this this for a few days and it is on the lowest level. At the lowest level this skimmer still only produces watery skimmate. It is not really that loud and looks sleek. If your buying a dimmer based on looks this would be the one but if your buying based on performance I do not recommend.


0 of 11 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 7
Page

Accessories for AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer



AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Sorry! While there is no limit to the number of items we'll price match in an order, our online system will only accept one. Please call us at 1-800-566-FISH (3474) and we’ll happily price match additional items for you.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is my come-to choice whenever it comes to buying aquarium supplies."
reeftanklover2012

Aug 3, 2014
"Great company, easy and quick to find and order almost anything I need. Great customer service."
Jack

July 31, 2014
"As always, it was a pleasure to do business with Marine Depot. I've ordered from them a few times before and have always been very happy with their products and service."
Ann

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.