1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Protein Skimmers  » Hang On Skimmers  » Spray Injection  »  AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting & Danner Supreme 3 Powerhead/Pump
AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting & Danner Supreme 3 Powerhead/Pump

AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting & Danner Supreme 3 Powerhead/Pump

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
ACRPDB
Pump Included
Quantity:
MSRP: $299.99
You Save: $40.00 (13%)
Qualifies for Free Shipping!
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting & Danner Supreme 3 Powerhead/Pump Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

The revolutionary AquaC protein skimmers do not use venturis, downdraft tubes, or air pumps; they employ the patented "Spray Injection System." This innovation allows the protein skimmer to efficiently draw in much more air than any other of the top protein skimmers. This coupled with the superiorly designed compact reaction chamber yields results that will literally blow the waste out of your water.

How does Spray Injection Work?

In 1998, Jason Kim (owner and founder of AquaC) developed a patented process of protein skimming which has come to be known as Spray Injection. Unlike previous forms of skimming, our spray injection method enables huge amounts of air and water to be processed with a relatively small pump. Although it is a simple process, there is still some confusion as to how the spray injector works.

Imagine that you`re washing your car – you`ve got a bucket full of soapy water and a garden hose with a fast-moving stream of water. By placing your thumb over the end of the hose, you can disrupt the stream into a turbulent, high –pressure spray. Now direct that spray down into the bucket of water, and you`ll generate a massive amount of bubbles and air flow. That is exactly how our spray injector works.

The skimmer body acts as a water reservoir – the bucket in the example above. Water is pumped through the spray injector, which has a special nozzle that fans the water out into a pressurized spray. This spray shoots into the skimmer body, generating millions of tiny air bubbles. As the bubbles are formed, more air is sucked into the skimmer as a result of the local drop in pressure and the process continues.

Most other forms of protein skimming rely on special valves or media to generate the air flow, and these parts quickly become clogged with salt, dust, or even mineral deposits. The AquaC spray injector is a relatively large nozzle that resists clogging, and when combined with a pump prefilter, can be considered maintenance free.

"For its compact size and simple design, The AquaC protein skimmer is able to process a large volume of water and efficiently remove organic pollutants. I`m very happy with it!"
Fernando Nosratpour, Senior Aquarist
Birch Aquarium at Scripps


The AquaC Remora Series is the first hang-on protein skimmer under $250 to be able to generate a dry consistency of foam that previously only an in-sump "super-skimmer" is capable of.

Features:
  • The Remora is built from translucent gray acrylic to inhibit the growth of algae and marine organisms.
  • The skimmer can be ordered with a collection drain fitting (optional).
  • The two screws at the base of the skimmer are used to adjust the Remora so that it is level with the back of the tank.
Specifications:
  • Tank Size (Gallons): 50-120
  • Dimensions: 22" tall x 7-1/2" wide x 3-1/4" deep
  • Minimum tank opening 6-1/2" x 1"
  • Minimum tank height 15-1/4"
  • Minimum space behind tank 3-1/4"
  • Maximum tank lip 1-1/2" wide
  • Vertical clearance above tank 12"
  • Includes nylon cleaning brush


Mag-Drive 3 Specifications:
  • Flow Rate: 350 GPH maximum with a 10.5` shut-off
  • Power Consumption: 5 Watts
  • Pump Size (L x W x H): 5.0" x 3.8" x 4.2"
  • Outlet Size / Inlet Size: 1/2" MPT / 1/2" FPT
  • 10` grounded power cord
  • 5 year manufacturer`s Limited Warranty




What's in the Box

  • skimmer
  • collection cup with drain fitting
  • o-ring
  • cleaning brush, danner mag drive 3 pump
  • 2" clear vinyl tubing
  • x2 hose clamps
  • manual


Manufacturer Info

AquaC Aquarium Supplies
AquaC was founded in 1998 as a small one-man operation in San Diego, California. The company has since grown to become one of the leading protein skimmer manufacturers in the United States and sells thousands of units globally every year. AquaC`s 5,000 square foot production facility in San Diego sets the standard in technology for acrylic fabrication. They use precision CNC machined parts and advanced thermoforming techniques to build products of unmatched quality and value. The company`s focus has remained the same after more than a decade in business: to provide high-quality products and top-notch customer service to customers with each and every transaction.

Warranty

Manufacturers Warranty (Skimmer): 90 days from date of purchase

Manufacturers Warranty (Pump): 1 year manufacturer warranty


+ Display More

AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting & Danner Supreme 3 Powerhead/Pump Reviews



Average Rating
(43 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 5
Page


Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/8/2014 from CAMERON, NC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The skimmer is great! Its on my 90 gallon and keep my fish and corals happy!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




leaky let down

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 10/7/2013 from HENDERSON, CO UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: This product had a pin hole leak where the plumbing from the pump meets the skimmer. I expected higher initial quality for the premium price of this skimmer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great HOB

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/26/2013 from CHICAGO, IL UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I purchased the AquaC Remora Pro with the Rio 1400 to hang on the side of my 120gal reef (got the Rio for size reasons). I waited more than 2 months to comment so I could report on how it is to live with this skimmer for a while. A few observations: 1) it pulls out tons of water during the break in period (buy the overflow drain model and a 5 gallon bucket), 2) it's much quieter than I expected based on other reviews, 3) micro bubbles at the onset disappeared within the first week and have not returned, 4) after a number of fine adjustments to the cup height, I get a nice dry dirty foam that amounts to about a half gallon per week of dark skimmate, 5) set up and cleaning are easy and straight-forward. Overall, this skimmer delivers, even on a 120gal tank. If you need to go HOB, which I did, this is the skimmer to go with -- just be prepared to add lots of water in the first week. For me it pulled 5 to 6 gallons per day for the first 3 days, then about 2 gallons per day for the next 3 to 4 days. By the end of week one, it had settled down nicely. Tank is noticeably cleaner than it was without it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Everything expected from AquaC

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/7/2012 from HERNDON, VA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've used an AquaC 180 skimmer for years on my large reef tank so naturally chose AquaC when I needed an hang-on skimmer for another tank. The skimmer was setup and running in minutes. Super simple. I, like most, read the directions after equipment is already installed and running. <grin> To be safe, I had connected a hose to the overflow drain and dropped the hose into a 5 gal bucket. The overflow was filling the bucket in about 20 minutes. I read the instruction again and found the cuprit. I had used a Stress-Zyme product when I set this tank up months ago. So (happily) I'm waiting for the skimmer to remove all that before I can start the normal breakin cycle. The skimmer is simple, well built, and easy to install. I'll always look to AquaC for my skimmers. Now, if they just made one that cleaned itself!


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/20/2012 from CORINTH, TX UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: My AquaC Remora Pro has thus far performed as advertised. It's been 5 days since we started it up, and feel like we have it dialed in now. A few things I have noted: 1) this skimmer is not as noisy as some have made it out to be. It's not a distraction at all. 2) We use the pre-skimmer box for the Rio 1400, and as others have noted, you really have to watch your water levels. I have had to top off multiple times in one day on two different days this week. I attribute this to the break-in period, but even now that it is more 'stable', it doesn't have to drop far to be below the intake slots. 3) To set up, I had to go to Lowes to get tubing both for the collection cup drain (I highly recommend the model with a drain) and the connection of the Rio to the skimmer intake. The short stub of tubing provided - in mine anyway - wasn't near long enough for the job. 4) If you get this setup, do a dry configuration before sticking in your tank; just assemble all of it, and then hang the whole setup on the tank at one time. The pump is a snug fit and you will have trouble getting all that together if you put the skimmer in the tank first.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




This is the one you want

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/9/2012 from Lawrenceville, GA UNITED STATE
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have to use a Hang on the tank (HOT) type set up as I am not running a sump. Not many choices for users like this, and I dont believe I should have to pay upwards of $400 to get a decent rig. I have tried them all, and this one is the best in the bunch. Why? Its powerful, priced right and works. Heres the fair and balanced point of view below. Pros: * Spray injection: its just awesome in comparison to the other types of skimmer techs. * Its quiet by comparison to anything that chops air (venturis and needle wheels). I have tried CPR and Berlin style ones that are just too loud and tend to flood your house. * Though large in size, its got good design from a case shape, its flatter and longer than most HOT systems so I can fit it with my hutch. *Once you get it dialed in, the output can be as dark and stinky or light as you like it. Cons: * You need to buy something or contact the manufacturer to get a key piece that is needed to make this work. If once installed you get a bubble wall that goes way above the reaction chamber right into the collection cup resulting in gallons of thin watery skimmate, just get a 1/2 inch plastic ball valve from home depot for $3 to control the flow into the skimmer. Install it at the pump output and it just screws in, then attach a coupler to give you a place to connect a short 1 inch plastic hose to the skimmer.If you can wait a few days, Aqua C will send you one for free. * It is bulky in size and takes up a lot of space on the back of the tank. I have to hide the pump and return with a wall of live rock. As a practical matter, its probably needed to create a proper reaction time with the water. * It uses an overflow style return to the tank and not a down tube. This is an issue for salt creep and keeping optics clean on the light fixture and tank glass. It also contributes to micro bubbles when the overflow is not submersed due to tank evaporation. * The Mag 3 may not be a good match for this skimmer. Connected direct to the skimmer its WAY too powerful and will produce a gallon of watery skimmate an hour with the cup in the highest setting. But im not recommending Rio pumps instead. Taam Rio have a history of when failing fouling the tank with petroleum lubricants sealed inside the pump.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Excellent Product and Support

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/16/2012 from YULEE, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: My past experience is with the Coralife 65 Skimmer. It worked fairly well but I am looking for a skimmer that works great. I've run this for 2 weeks and can tell it's excellent quality and makes some SERIOUS bubbles. I've communicated with AquaC support (Thanks Steve @ AquaC!) who responded promptly and even provided a few added accessories FREE to help me optimize my skimmer even further.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Wonderful

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/28/2011 from CALGARY, CANADA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Broke in really fast and started taking out wastes like mad. Highly recommended.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Not sure

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 12/13/2011 from MACON, GA UNITED STATES
2.5 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: When I got this I wasn't expecting it to be as big as it was. It's so big I haven't been able to install it in my tank yet. I am going to have to make some major modifications to my set up and haven't had the time to do it yet. With that said I liked it enough from previous reviews and research I didn't return it. I don't know how it functions though.


0 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Remora

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/4/2011 from UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Simply the berst I've used. Crafted beautifully,elegant engineering;top performance & quality! I use this skimmer on my 33gal flat-back hex and within a month the tank has improved dramatically.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 5
Page

Accessories for AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting & Danner Supreme 3 Powerhead/Pump



AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting & Danner Supreme 3 Powerhead/Pump Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaC Remora Pro Hang-On Protein Skimmer with Drain Fitting

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Nov 24, 2014
"Shipping was easy and quick; customer service was great."
Junior

Nov 23, 2014
"Huge fan of the early online Black Friday deals!! Makes getting large purchases like a protein skimmer much more reasonable."
Noppy

Nov 22, 2014
"Always love the service and speed of receiving my product."
bush

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.