Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
Expires in 00:00:00
In-Stock! EcoTech Radion XR15w PRO LED Light
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Protein Skimmers  » In-Sump Skimmers  » Spray Injection  » Up to 150 Gallons  »  AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting + Mag-Drive 3 Pump
AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting + Mag-Drive 3 Pump

AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting + Mag-Drive 3 Pump

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
ACUPDB
Pump Included
Quantity:
MSRP: $309.99
You Save: $50.00 (16%)
Qualifies for Free Shipping!
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting + Mag-Drive 3 Pump Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

The revolutionary AquaC protein skimmers do not use venturis, downdraft tubes, or air pumps; they employ the patented "Spray Injection System." This innovation allows the protein skimmer to efficiently draw in much more air than any other of the top protein skimmers. This coupled with the superiorly designed compact reaction chamber yields results that will literally blow the waste out of your water.

How does Spray Injection Work?

In 1998, Jason Kim (owner and founder of AquaC) developed a patented process of protein skimming which has come to be known as Spray Injection. Unlike previous forms of skimming, our spray injection method enables huge amounts of air and water to be processed with a relatively small pump. Although it is a simple process, there is still some confusion as to how the spray injector works.

Imagine that you're washing your car – you've got a bucket full of soapy water and a garden hose with a fast-moving stream of water. By placing your thumb over the end of the hose, you can disrupt the stream into a turbulent, high –pressure spray. Now direct that spray down into the bucket of water, and you'll generate a massive amount of bubbles and air flow. That is exactly how our spray injector works.

The skimmer body acts as a water reservoir – the bucket in the example above. Water is pumped through the spray injector, which has a special nozzle that fans the water out into a pressurized spray. This spray shoots into the skimmer body, generating millions of tiny air bubbles. As the bubbles are formed, more air is sucked into the skimmer as a result of the local drop in pressure and the process continues.

Most other forms of protein skimming rely on special valves or media to generate the air flow, and these parts quickly become clogged with salt, dust, or even mineral deposits. The AquaC spray injector is a relatively large nozzle that resists clogging, and when combined with a pump prefilter, can be considered maintenance free.

The Urchin Pro is the sump version of the Remora Pro. These two skimmers share the same internal structure and are identical in terms of performance.

Features:
  • The Urchin Pro is built from translucent gray acrylic to inhibit the growth of algae and marine organisms.
  • The skimmer can be ordered with a collection drain fitting (optional).
  • The pump is attached to the skimmer via a section of flexible hose. The pump can be moved into any position you choose.
  • The collection cup is removed from the skimmer by pulling it up and out of the body. Please check that you have the required 26-1/2" of vertical clearance under you stand if you are considering the Urchin Pro.
Specifications:
  • Tank Size (Gallons): 50-120
  • Dimensions: 22" tall x 7-1/2" wide x 3-1/4" deep
  • 8-1/4" x 7-1/2" footprint (pump included)
  • Minimum vertical clearance is 26-1/2"
  • Water level exit height is 15"
  • Includes nylon cleaning brush


Mag-Drive 3 Specifications:
  • Flow Rate: 350 GPH maximum with a 10.5' shut-off
  • Power Consumption: 5 Watts
  • Pump Size (L x W x H): 5.0" x 3.8" x 4.2"
  • Outlet Size / Inlet Size: 1/2" MPT / 1/2" FPT
  • 10` grounded power cord
  • 5 year manufacturer`s Limited Warranty



Manufacturer Info

AquaC Aquarium Supplies
AquaC was founded in 1998 as a small one-man operation in San Diego, California. The company has since grown to become one of the leading protein skimmer manufacturers in the United States and sells thousands of units globally every year. AquaC`s 5,000 square foot production facility in San Diego sets the standard in technology for acrylic fabrication. They use precision CNC machined parts and advanced thermoforming techniques to build products of unmatched quality and value. The company`s focus has remained the same after more than a decade in business: to provide high-quality products and top-notch customer service to customers with each and every transaction.

Warranty

Manufacturers Warranty (Skimmer): 90 days from date of purchase

+ Display More

AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting + Mag-Drive 3 Pump Reviews



Average Rating
(13 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


exited beginner

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 11/21/2011 from WEST BEND, WI UNITED STATES
2.5 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: my tanks not running yet just getting everything to start. The instructions arn't very clear and the hose that connect to the pump is to long,but im extremely exited to get it going to see how it will work.


0 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/30/2011 from WEST WARWICK, RI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Sits nicely in my sump, quiet, works great. It took a couple of weeks to start making proper bubbles, but it was worth the wait. Caution: while getting established, the collection cup will fill up quickly with very watery stuff. Make sure this can overflow back into the sump to avoid a flood until it's making efficient bubbles and you have the cup height adjusted properly.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Urchin Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/20/2011 from GAINESVILLE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very well-made and well-performing little skimmer. Appropriate for my system because due to large surge tanks, the water level in the sump varies by 6 or more inches every few minutes. This variability does not appear to affect the skimmer at all.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Product!

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 9/15/2010 from SAN JUAN, PUERTO RICO
4.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: After reading about this skimmers all the good reviews I decided to give it a try. I'va had it now for 1.5 years and it has worked perfectly in my 75 gallon tank. I changed the pump to a mag drive 500 gph to use the rio pump for something else and the mag drive gave it a hell of a boost. It takes out dark green stuff and my nitrates are at 00 in my overstocked tank. 35 + pieces of corals and 12 fish. I have never cleaned the skimmer, only the collection cup every three days and is still working great. Also is a breeze to set it up at the right level. I did not give it a 5 star because there are a few other skimmers that are also very good for a similar price.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Skimmer with mag pump

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/28/2009 from Maryland UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have had my Aqua C Urchin skimmer for about a month now and it is working well. The complaints about the drain fitting interfering with adjustments are accurate. The skimmer does produce good foam but it took me several try’s to get the collection cup at just the right height before getting the “dry foam” and not just filling up my five gallon bucket with mostly clear water. The adjustment is very basic and there is very little maintenance. This is my second skimmer and so far it is working well. I am also very pleased with this store's service and the fact that they provide customer reviews, I found this very helpful.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Too much skimmage

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 2/23/2009
1.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I had this skimmer for two month now and had only problems with it. The overflow tube goes into a 3 Gallon bucket which I thought would be more then sufficient, but I was wrong. One night it overflowed the bucket and ran my pumps/sump dry. I gave it the benefit of the doubt but even three weeks later it still takes out about 1 gallon of almost clean water (on the lowest setting). I contacted support but they couldn't help me. They said is could be something in the water but I didn't add anything. And by now (3-4 weeks later) it should've been broken down anyway. I'm replacing it with a ASM G1 Skimmer (ordering now). I'm not the only person who is having those kind of problems with these skimmers. I would suggest you stay away from this one.


2 of 9 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




not sure what to think

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 2/2/2009 from WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA UNITED STAT
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I've had this skimmer working for almost 6 months now. I can't say I am super impressed. This sucker produces a LOT of wet skimmate, which I can't say I like. The sweet spot for dry foam re: rubber band placement is right where the drain outlet is. Annoying. I get the most gunk buildup inside the column on the collection cup, which is a nuisance. I've heard rumors of people hooking up Mag-9s to this skimmer and really kicking it up a notch, but right now I'm thinking about going to a Deltec MCE600 or Tunze. I wasn't super impressed with this product.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Take Caution!

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 6/25/2008 from BOWLING GREEN, KY UNITED STATE
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This skimmer has been in the back of my mind since I first learned about it and so I finally took the plunge - After hooking it up and going and hitting the rack for the night I awoke to 15 gallons of watter mixed with carpet in the morning. The 1 gallon collection cup I had obviously wasn't up to the task. After a few days of use I can say that this is an excellent skimmer however there is a learning curve with the setting on the cup and the first few days this thing will remove some serious trash!


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Easy, Efficient, Excellent

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/28/2008
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Set up on this thing is so simple it's ridiculous. It pulls an amazing amount of junk out, is quiet, and amazingly small. Great skimmer.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Simply Amazing

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/13/2008 from REVERE, MA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been in the saltwater hobby for over ten years, I have tried various skimmers, the CPR Backpak, the Red Sea Prizm, Sea Clone Skimmer, Pro Clear Skimmer, and Berlin Hang On and none have impressed me as much as the Urchin Pro. Within two days the Urchin was filling up the waste collector on my Oceanic 110. I have a huge bio load as well with a Porcupine Puffer, Undulate Trigger, Yellow Tang, Vtail Grouper and a Wrasse, and the Urchin is going liek crazy. I highly recommend it, it outperforms more expensive skimmers by far. AAA+++


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page

Accessories for AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting + Mag-Drive 3 Pump



AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer w/ Drain Fitting + Mag-Drive 3 Pump Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaC Urchin Pro In-Sump Protein Skimmer with Drain Fitting

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Sorry! While there is no limit to the number of items we'll price match in an order, our online system will only accept one. Please call us at 1-800-566-FISH (3474) and we’ll happily price match additional items for you.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
June 23, 2014
"Great company! Items where extreme top quality, not a problem with any of them. Definitely a lifetime buyer of this site."
Johnnym3334

June 17, 2014
"I place my order and 5 hours later I received a notification that it had shipped."
jbruffett

June 16, 2014
"They have the best on-time delivery and prompt service of all the other similar websites I have used. Recommend them highly."
abbytewari