Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Fixtures  » LED  » < 20 Inch Fixtures  »  AquaIllumination Hydra FiftyTwo LED Fixture
AquaIllumination Hydra FiftyTwo LED Fixture

AquaIllumination Hydra FiftyTwo LED Fixture

Item #:
Please make a selection
Color:
Quantity:
$598.99 to $598.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

AquaIllumination Hydra FiftyTwo LED Fixture Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Water Piercing Power!
  • Peak Par: 304 µMol
  • Energy Usage: 135 Watts (measure from the wall outlet)
  • Number of LEDS: 52
  • Colors: 7
Spectral Output

Hydra 52 Spectral Plot

The AI Hydra FiftyTwo™ continues the Hydra`s legacy of full spectrum performance with an output that exceeds the visible light spectrum, providing your livestock with the light they crave.

Power Output

Hydra 52 PAR

Combining the control of the AI Vega and unmatched power of the AI Sol, the AI Hydra FiftyTwo™ brings a new level of performance. At a maximum of 135 watts from the wall, it follows in the family’s efficient footsteps.

Optics

Hydra 52 Optics

The Hydra FiftyTwo™ comes standard with 80 degree lenses giving you the best balance of power and spread. AI`s lens optics are custom designed, boasting greater than 90% optical efficiency and including a diffuse exit surface to provide improved color blending.*If you need to penetrate a deeper tank, AquaIlluminations offers optional 50 degree lenses (sold separately).

LEDs

Hydra 52 LED`s

The AI Hydra FiftyTwo™ utilizes the latest LED technology from leading manufacturers, arranged to provide the best performance.
  • 16 - Cree XT-E Cool White (> 70 CRI)
  • 4 - OSRAM OSLON Deep Red
  • 4 - XP-E Green
  • 12 - Cree XT-E Royal Blue
  • 8 - OSRAM OSLON Very Deep Blue
  • 4 - SemiLED 415nm Violet
  • 4 - Edison Opto 400nm UV
Wireless

Don’t be tethered to your tank, AI`s proprietary wireless control allows you the ultimate in flexibility.

Control

Compatible with the AI family of wireless controllers*, the new Controller is an easy-to-use set it and forget it solution. If you need more advanced control, our web-based Director solution can be used anywhere on the web or mobile devices. *controller required and sold separately.

Mounting

Compatible with the EXT Rail System of Rails, Tank Mounts and Hanging Kits.

Technical Specifications:
  • Dimensions: 11.875" x 5.375" x 1.6"
  • Weight: 3.28 lbs
  • Power Consumption: 135 Watts at full power
  • Universal Input Range: 100 to 240VAC / 50-60Hz
  • Cable Length: 10ft. (3.048m)
  • Regulatory Compliance: UL, CE & RoHS
APEX Ready
When you connect Apex Ready certified products to your Apex System, many new options will unfold. How about having your LED lights dim or change color temperature at the touch of your iPad? How about programming your Tunze or VorTech pumps for some serious wave action? That’s what you get when you pair up the Apex System and an Apex Ready certified product.



Manufacturer Info

Founded in 2007, C2 Development, Inc. (AI Life Illuminated) is the leader in high performance, high efficiency reef aquarium lighting systems. We are constantly pushing the limits of illumination technology.

AquaIllumination Hydra FiftyTwo LED Fixture Reviews



Average Rating
(8 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Great light

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/8/2014 from SALT LAKE CITY, UT UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Awesome color selection, and shimmer on the water, my SPS are growing like crazy under these beasts. And the director gives great control.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Hydra Fifty Two

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/24/2014 from Warrenton, VA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The installation of the lights was easy...screws for mounting to 6' bar were too short to hold the lights securely. I obtained 1 1/4" 10/32 screws and they hold the lights well. The corals immediately responded to the increased lighting especially the rose anemone with increased color and overall health. After years of using metal halides I highly recommend this product...I look forward to watching my coral grow! The Marine Depot staff professionally guided me through my selection and were not only responsive to my questions but obviously knowledgeable.Marine Depot is fast becoming my favorite marine store.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Bad Quality Control

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 5/30/2014 from San Jose, CA UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Bought two of these (one black and one white), The black one was good, but the white one had a hole in one of the pucks so I exchanged it for a white replacement. When the new one came in I plugged it in to hear a annoying buzzing noise WHEN THE LIGHTS WERE IN DIM MODE. Simply AI's quality control is very bad as far as HYDRA 52 is concerned. I called Marine Depot and they asked me to call AI, and when I called no one picked up the phone. Just decided to return this for refund. Seems like a great light but it is a hit or a miss, i.e., the probability of getting a defective unit is high. The ones who got non-buzzing defect free product are very lucky. I wanted to buy ten of these units but when I look at the hassle I have to go through I decided to stay away from the hydra 52. Even the Chinese reef breeders make non-buzzing lights and this so called American company can't put a quality engineer to measure the decibels in the dim mode before sending the units out? I can do a better job if I was the quality engineer for AI. lol WOULD HAVE GIVEN ZERO STARS IF THE LIGHTING WAS BAD, BUT THE LIGHT FROM IT IS AWESOME.


2 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Hydra 52

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/27/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been enjoying the hydra 52 and my corals do as well


0 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Excellent product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/9/2014 from LANESBORO, MA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have had two of these units on my 120 gallon tank for about a month now, used in conjunction with their New Controller. The lights are a major step forward from the Ecoxotic units that I was previously using. I have the units placed roughly 6 inches above the top of my tank, which has a glass cover. At full brightness, intensity at the tank bottom well exceeds the 300 PAR they specify. Use of the New controller provides control of intensity in 1% increments, and each of the 7 different color banks is independently adjustable. The units are well made and run cool. Definitely worth the money.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great lighting

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/22/2014 from Irvine, CA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I love this product, the output is amazing. I have two of them on my 120 g and I'm only using 70% of the max. Also, if you get the director, the possibilities are endless from simulating weather of any place around the world including thunderstorms, sunrise/sunset, to moon lighting.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Don't like the shadows.

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 1/23/2014 from NORTH MIAMI, FL UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: New to LED lighting, Found the light output to be somewhat low compared to my previous light a 250 watt metal 20 k. This light give me shadows on the side of a 54 gl corner tank that I was not getting before. Will I do again no, I would have kept the 250 watt halide.


5 of 23 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Lighting

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/18/2014 from LAS VEGAS, NV UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The is a fantastic aquarium light. I will be connecting it to my tank with the new AI controller. The light output is amazing, all kind of configurations.


5 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


AquaIllumination Hydra FiftyTwo LED Fixture Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaIllumination Hydra FiftyTwo LED Fixture

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is my come-to choice whenever it comes to buying aquarium supplies."
reeftanklover2012

Aug 3, 2014
"Great company, easy and quick to find and order almost anything I need. Great customer service."
Jack

July 31, 2014
"As always, it was a pleasure to do business with Marine Depot. I've ordered from them a few times before and have always been very happy with their products and service."
Ann

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.