1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Inline & Specialty Filters  » Biopellet Reactors  »  AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor
AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor

AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$76.93 to $139.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor

Controlling nutrients inside our aquariums is one of the keys to preventing nuisance algae growth. The AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor is a finely-tuned fluidized filter designed to help hobbyists remove nitrates and phosphates from reef aquarium systems.

AquaMaxx BioMaxx bio pellet reactors are computer designed, precision-cut and made of polished A-class acrylic. All AquaMaxx media reactors are rigorously tested to ensure reliability, efficiency and affordability.

The AquaMaxx Bio Pellet Reactor utilizes a fluidizing plate to keep biopellet media suspended and evenly dispersed. The upward flow design provides maximum contact time between your aquarium water and the bio pellets inside the reactor. The Aquamaxx BioMaxx Biopellets Reactor also includes a special plate on the lid to keep media within the reactor without the need for sponges.

Adding a bio pellets reactor to your reef aquarium filtration system will improve the water quality for fish and other marine life. Biopellets initiate a more efficient denitrification process that removes nitrate and phosphate from aquarium water to prevent algae growth or harm to invertebrate and coral.

The AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor requires a small pump/powerhead and tubing to push water through the reactor (sold separately). You can plumb the reactor using ¾" flexible tubing. Using a ball valve is highly recommended because it will allow you to dial-in the correct flow rate. A flow rate of 200-300 gallons per hour (GPH) is recommended for the AquaMaxx BioPellet Reactor. A flow rate of 300-600 GPH is recommended for the AquaMaxx BioMaxx XL BioPellet Reactor. Exact flow rates required to tumble the media will vary based on how much media is being used.

An optional hang-on adaptor (sold separately) is available for additional mounting configurations. For best results, use AquaMaxx BioMaxx Plus BioPellets or similar biofiltration & nutrient control filter media.

All AquaMaxx products carry a 90-day manufacturer warranty and include detailed instructions and diagrams to help hobbyists get up and running immediately.

AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor Specifications
  • Footprint: 5.5" x 5.5"
  • Diameter: 4" Chamber
  • Height: 12.6"
  • Capacity: 0.26 Gallons
  • A-class acrylic construction
  • Extremely efficient, reliable and affordable
  • Easy to setup and maintain
  • Ideal for nitrate and phosphate removal
  • Instruction manual with diagrams for setup and maintenance included
  • Inlet and outlet hose fittings for ¾" flexible tubing included.



Manufacturer Info

AquaMaxx
AquaMaxx is a Southern California-based aquarium supply company that entered the market in mid-2008 with a line of affordable metal halide bulbs. The brand quickly gained recognition as word spread about the high quality and low cost of their lamps. In 2009, AquaMaxx released a line of aquarium filter socks and, in early 2010, unveiled an assortment of high-performance protein skimmer accessories and upgrades.

Warranty

AquaMaxx Limited Manufacturer Warranty
AquaMaxx will warrant all AquaMaxx products to be free from manufacturing defects for one year from the original purchase date when purchased through an authorized AquaMaxx retailer. This warranty does not cover any damages caused by misuse, neglect, alterations or improper handling/transport/maintenance/installation. AquaMaxx does not cover personal injury, personal loss, or other damages associated with the use of these products.



AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor Reviews



Average Rating
(14 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Spins 4 cups with ease

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/23/2014 from CHANDLER, AZ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I bought the Aquamaxx XL to replace a Reef Octopus BR-140. When I bought the BR-140 I purchased an Eheim Compact+ 2000 Pump to power it. This did not work. I had run the BR-140 with my spare Iwaki return pump to get it to float 4 cups of pellets. This worked fine and I got great results from running bio pellets. But the noise from running two huge return pumps, one for the BR-140, and one for my whole 175 gallon tank. Pretty silly. Now with the Aquamaxx XL I can spin the same 4 cups with ease using my Eheim pump. The design creates a spinning action in the chamber that keeps the pellets suspended with a fraction of pump strength of other reactors. So impressed with Aquamaxx design I bought there protein skimmer too.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/22/2014 from BILLINGS, MT UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Very good construction that focuses on ease of maintenance. the input swirly thing completely disassembles to clear debris easier than anything I have seen. I can pull it apart, clean and reassemble in under 10 minutes. I have owned one since Christmas 2013 and just set up my second on another system.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




great quality

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/19/2014 from Cordova, TN UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: nice and big for lots of pellets. Great quality for the price. easy to refill and maintain. simple design is all you need. -1 star for no wall mounting option.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Just works!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/4/2013 from San Diego, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have used four different biopellet reactors and this is by far the best. It is also one of the least expensive. The reactor is designed to spin the pellets and this works extremely well and you can use a less powerful pump and still get results. There are no clumps of pellets or dead spots with this reactor. I like it even better then the much more expensive recirculating models from other companies.


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Easy-to-use

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/1/2013 from MERRITT ISLAND, FL UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This product is very easy to use simple to set up nothing but the best quality looks like so far. There's not much to this product and it is very easy to set up with minimal amount of plumbing. Does exactly as it states. Need little to no fine-tuning. Extremely easy to clean. Very simple design.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




excellent reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/24/2013 from nyc
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: this unit was purchased for my 111 gal densely stocked mixed reef with a heavy population of sps. since bio-pellets came on the scene, i've tried nearly a dozen different reactors. i've used everything from bargain models from well-known reefing companies to expensive hand-mades by boutique builders - all with mixed success. all reactors were able to lower my nitrates from low to nil, but even with near constant tinkering, adjustments, and borderline-rebuilds - i encountered frequent pellet-clumping, media-screen clogging, and other headaches. so i was skeptical of this product due to its low price. and when the box arrived, emblazoned with "made in taiwan," i nearly returned it without even breaking the packing tape. i'm pleased to say that i have been entirely disabused of doubt. i never pay much mind to reviewers who've only owned a product a short while, and if you share my opinion on this matter, please understand that pellet reactors aren't rocket science. if the pellets tumble well, the reactor is working. this reactor is working exceptionally well. the unit is robust, attractive, and well-built. more importantly, using the same plumbing, (used) media, and pump as its predecessor which never fluidized the pellets well (and cost nearly 3x as much as the aquamaxx), i have perfect fluidization now. furthermore, i was so confident in this product after only a few days, that i decided to try to add more pellets. the aquamaxx is now fluidizing twice the volume of media as my old reactor which was significantly larger, in addition to being much more expensive. this reactor is a home run. i use a mix of Vertex and Two Little Fishies media, Tygon tubing with a 5/8" ID, and a Danner Mag-Drive Supreme 5 pump.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




The Best!!!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/20/2012 from LAS VEGAS, NV UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This reactor tumbles Biopellets with ease! I had a TLF 550 that had gotten too small for my 240g tank with the increased bio load that I was putting on it! I was told that the 550 could only tumble about 500ml of biomedia and that I would have to get a second 550 to adequately provide for my tank! The TLF 550 had problems turning over 340ML of biomedia even when I had the 600GPH pump going full flow and it would clump after a while! I reverted to opening the 550 up twice a week to manually stir the biomedia to assist in the tumbling! So I had to find a bigger reactor! With the same pump, and twice the media (710ml), it’s turning over effortlessly at less than half the flow, 250-350GPH in the Aquamaxx Biopellets XL! So I suspect no problem with this reactor for my ultimate goal of 1200ml of biomedia! I believe it achieves this in the design of the flow holes; it’s different than others of similarly priced reactors!


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Excellent Product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/17/2012 from San Bernardino, CA UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This reactor was easy to setup and works great. I've had it running for a few weeks now with no issues and it has been working great. I recommend running the return directly into the protein skimmer to make sure it's able to remove the biproducts of the bioreaction before the water is returned to the tank. I highly recommend this product to help keep nitrates down in a saltwater tank.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Bang for Buck BP Reactor!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/1/2012 from Seattle, WA UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Like I previously reviewed AM's media reactor, the AM Biopellet Reactor works flawlessly from the get go. Like some of you I have tried using existing media reactors to tumble the BP media, only to encounter issues with tumbling and clumping, flow dead spots, etc. The other exceedingly anger inducing issue is the use of some "can be used for BP" reactors use the fabric store mesh screen, which bends and never sits level. This is the difference between a reactor specifically designed for BP use versus a media reactor with DIY parts. IT JUST DOES NOT WORK AS GOOD! AM did a great job in designing the reactor to eliminate dead spots, by "spinning" the BP media. This keeps all of the BPs constantly tumbling at a perfect rate (I use a throttled back MJ1200 for this, works perfect). One of the reasons I took BP offline the first time was due to my reactor (an Avast media reactor). I could not get consistent tumble - very annoying. It also used the DIY mesh screen, which allowed BPs to escape into my sump - super annoying! AM uses acrylic screens that fit snug and are solid, no BPs will escape underneath the reactor or out into your sump. Like I mentioned on my media reactor review, the build quality of this AM reactor is solid. It combines high quality precision design and cast with the latitude of haning it on the outside of your sump (with the inclusion of the add on bracket you can buy). Can't say anything more - Customer Service has a winner with their AM line of products. Best quality and performance for the buck.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




aquamaxx bioMax

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/27/2012 from SAN FRANCISCO, CA UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: great product. works really well make sure to use a strong pump to tune it down a bit. so far so good. no dead spot on the reactor. this is better than dosing vodka. thanks


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaMaxx BioMaxx BioPellet Reactor

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Nov 11, 2014
"The site is easy to navigate, the prices are competitive, and when I've called Customer Service, they have been more than helpful."
Alijean

Nov 5, 2014
"Marine Depot continues to set the benchmark for online shopping."
cubera

Nov 4, 2014
"Love the company and they have a great selection and excellent customer service."
Alisha

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.