Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Protein Skimmers  » Hang On Skimmers  » Venturi Needle Wheel  »  AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer
AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer

AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
UJ1151
Quantity:
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

*New Upgrades - Current models include an upgraded bubble plate, re-designed hang-on bracket, and a larger collection cup as shown in the product photos.

The AquaMaxx Hang on Back Series I (HOB-1) protein skimmer features an incredibly responsive collection cup and an amazingly powerful submersible pump. It is rated up to 75 gallons in a design thin and light enough to be placed on a nano aquarium or other small saltwater aquarium.

The AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmer removes organic waste from aquarium water. It creates a strong mix of small air bubbles and turbulent water movement to force protein, waste and other materials into a collection cup for easy removal.

AquaMaxx skimmers are computer-precision engineered and utilize the latest filtration technology to deliver the performance and value you are looking for in a protein skimmer.

EASE OF USE
AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmers are easy to setup and maintain. Just move the collection cup up or down to adjust the foam level to wet or dry.

Maintenance is simple. A removable collection cup makes cleaning easy. Plus, every AquaMaxx protein skimmer includes a drain fitting for hobbyists who want to setup a separate reservoir for skimmate.

Water quality and consistency is crucial to the success of a marine aquarium. An AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmer will help to ensure that success.

COMPACT DESIGN
AquaMaxx protein skimmers were designed from the ground up with the hobbyist in mind. AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmers have the pump placed inside the skimmer itself to save space, reduce noise and improve efficiency.

All AquaMaxx protein skimmers are computer designed. Each unit is precision-cut and made of polished cell-cast acrylic.

PERFORMANCE
The AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmer relies on a superbly crafted Italian Sicce Syncra 1.0 pump and AquaMaxx needlewheel impeller to vigorously remove waste from your fish or reef tank. Sicce pumps are well-regarded for their efficiency to move air and water. Combining these dynamic pumps with AquaMaxx protein skimmers saves users considerable energy.

Specifications:
  • Dimension : L 7.5 x W 3.5 x H 17 Inch
  • Pump(included): Shark 1.0
  • Pump power consumption: 11 Watts
  • Outlet size: 3/4 Inch
  • Minimum tank height 10-7/8"
  • Volume rating: up to 75 Gallons
  • Requires approximately 4" of clearance to remove collection cup.
  • Fits aquarium rims up to 3/4" thick.
All of our products are backed by a 60-day return policy although the skimmers will also carry a 1-year manufacturer warranty from AquaMaxx. Each skimmer will include detailed instructions and diagrams to help hobbyists get up and running immediately.

*Please Note: Bubble Plate Set Screw (4) has been removed from late models and is no longer included on the skimmer or required for installation.






Manufacturer Info

AquaMaxx
AquaMaxx is a Southern California-based aquarium supply company that entered the market in mid-2008 with a line of affordable metal halide bulbs. The brand quickly gained recognition as word spread about the high quality and low cost of their lamps. In 2009, AquaMaxx released a line of aquarium filter socks and, in early 2010, unveiled an assortment of high-performance protein skimmer accessories and upgrades.

Warranty

AquaMaxx Limited Manufacturer Warranty
AquaMaxx will warrant all AquaMaxx products to be free from manufacturing defects for one year from the original purchase date when purchased through an authorized AquaMaxx retailer. This warranty does not cover any damages caused by misuse, neglect, alterations or improper handling/transport/maintenance/installation. AquaMaxx does not cover personal injury, personal loss, or other damages associated with the use of these products.



AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer Reviews



Average Rating
(102 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 11
Page


Fantastic Skimmer!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/2/2015 from PORTLAND, OR UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I got this skimmer up and running several days ago and am blown away with the quality and performance so far! It is completely silent and has already begun collecting waste. I have a fully customized Coralife Biocube 29 with a Eshopps 75 sump in the stock stand. The skimmer hangs on the back of the sump which allowed me to convert it to a refugium. I have owned many skimmers in the past and for a hang on the back skimmer, you will not beat this one in quality and performance. Well worth the price!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




good,but could be better

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/26/2014 from BEAUMONT, TX UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have had this skimmer running for 48hrs now and its starting to break in. when putting it together the pump slips right off the pipe ( seems like this would be a tight fit)I put the cord under the pump when sliding it down to keep it on the pipe, and also the intake piping had to be pushed very hard to stay together.Other than that it is better than the first skimmer i bought for the tank and better than other HOB skimmers i have had. I have this running on an Innovative marine fusion 40 in the second chamber.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Best one I've tried

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/8/2014 from SCOTTSDALE, AZ UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've tried a few skimmers for my JBJ 35 gallon nano. This one was working great after a couple of hours. Assembly instructions could be a bit easier in my opinion. Adjustments are very easy. The unit is very, very quiet compared to others I've had and seen. Was expensive compared to others, but after evaluating others on the market, I felt it was worth the added cost. Marine Depot's prices are always very competitive as was the case with this purchase.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/8/2014 from Nathrop, CO UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Took a little tweaking but once you get just right works great. Real quiet and easy to clean. My 60 gallon reef tank is very clear now. Very happy with the AuquaMaxx!


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Glad I made the purchase.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/31/2014 from JAMAICA PLAIN, MA UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: So happy to see my algae problem not coming back. I have read many reviews across many sites and forum about this skimmer. Many stated that the skimmer will overflow the collection box before break in, but I have no problem at all. I have a 20 gallon long tank with few fishes and coral, not very populated. The skimmer started to work right after I installed it. After 24 hour, I already got one CM high worth of black skim mates. That's a week of work for my old piece of trash Red Sea prism deluxe. My fishes swim more active and my corals opens up more and bigger now. Only down side is that I have to get seaweed supplement for my lawnmower Blenny. Pro:-Silent!-Easy to clean collection box-Blue tint looks amazing-Adjustment is minimal for optimal skimming performanceCon:-Power cord a bit short


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Bubbles and Troubles

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/27/2014 from SARASOTA, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have what is now the 'older' model in that the 'new' one has an improved bubble plate, etc. I noticed a lot of reviews mentioning the micro bubbles, so I wanted to write and tell you that I too experienced micro bubbles, but the DO go away! It takes time! I'd like to also mention - if it's not obvious - that when cleaing the unit be VERY careful never to use ANY kind of soap or cleaners. Don't even have them anywhere near the unit. One other thing I'd like to mention that I found an additional benefit to having the skimmer and that is, it is somewhat like having a carbon monoxide detector in your home. That is, I've twice found the skimmer going a bit crazy - excessive foaming. It's trying to tell you something - don't ignore it! You have a problem somewhere. You may need to do a significant water change - but if the skimmer acts up . . . give your tank your complete attention. It is detecting something of which you'd otherwise not become aware. These are great and exceptionally well made units. BTW, you can't unfortunately 'upgrade' an older unit like mine to use the new improvements.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Aquamaxx HOB1 Skinner

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/16/2014 from Tustin, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Best investment I've made for my 30 gal Reef and fish aquarium and far superior to my previous submersible. Break-in period was only six days with micro bubbles and skim about 5 times better than previous. Corals much healthier and prettier. Excellent construction with quality materialand easy to assemble. I did install a air supply adjustment and it helped calm the unit down.Couldn't be happier!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Works great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/6/2014 from MIAMI, FL UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This skimmer is great gets job done. I have seen a big decrease in algae and my sps corals are coloring up great.the only reason I give this product 4.5 stars is that it does have a lot of micro bubbles I'm sure it would be fine if I had a sump or if the skimmer fit in the rear chambers of my tank but other than that I am happy with this skimmer.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang On back

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/21/2014 from Northridge, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: good quality product!!!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




The Good, The Bad, The Bubbly

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/8/2014 from BOONE, NC UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The Good: I have this running on a 27 Marineland cube. It replaced a Hydor Slim Skim Nano. Aquamaxx costs twice as much, but is easily twice as good. The Aquamaxx makes more foam than a keg at a frat party. And it produced good dry dirty foam in only 5 days. Pretty quiet, too--just some gurgling here and there. My tank is in my home office so I'm sensitive to noise. Water quality is noticeably better and the tank is now unbelievably clear. The (Not So) Bad: Like any HOB Skimmer, it takes up space, especially vertical space. Extends a good 8" above the tank rim. Not much in-tank clutter, just a couple of smallish pipes. It will create some salt creep on its tubes and some splash on your light. I run a Kessil A150 on the cube and need to clean the lens about every 3 days. No big deal. The Bubbly: If you don't have your OCD under control, you may not like the microbubbles or the smallish (BB sized) bubbles that exit the return tube. I'm told by Aquamaxx that this will improve with time and that they are working on some sort of fix for it. Not much of an issue for me, but might be for others. I have never seen an HOB that was 100% bubble-free. Bottom Line: Best HOB skimmer I've owned and I was a long-time user of AquaC's Remora. For $200 and change, I don't think you can beat it. Very happy that I made the change.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 11
Page
AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Jan 1, 2015
"Always have what I am looking for."
Ken

Jan 1, 2015
"They have what I need at a good price."
Oscarsdad

Dec 30, 2014
"Great all around one-stop shopping experience. They have what you need!"
Rich

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.