Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Protein Skimmers  » Hang On Skimmers  » Venturi Needle Wheel  »  AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer
AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer

AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
UJ1151
Quantity:
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

*New Upgrades - Current models include an upgraded bubble plate, re-designed hang-on bracket, and a larger collection cup as shown in the product photos.

The AquaMaxx Hang on Back Series I (HOB-1) protein skimmer features an incredibly responsive collection cup and an amazingly powerful submersible pump. It is rated up to 75 gallons in a design thin and light enough to be placed on a nano aquarium or other small saltwater aquarium.

The AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmer removes organic waste from aquarium water. It creates a strong mix of small air bubbles and turbulent water movement to force protein, waste and other materials into a collection cup for easy removal.

AquaMaxx skimmers are computer-precision engineered and utilize the latest filtration technology to deliver the performance and value you are looking for in a protein skimmer.

EASE OF USE
AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmers are easy to setup and maintain. Just move the collection cup up or down to adjust the foam level to wet or dry.

Maintenance is simple. A removable collection cup makes cleaning easy. Plus, every AquaMaxx protein skimmer includes a drain fitting for hobbyists who want to setup a separate reservoir for skimmate.

Water quality and consistency is crucial to the success of a marine aquarium. An AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmer will help to ensure that success.

COMPACT DESIGN
AquaMaxx protein skimmers were designed from the ground up with the hobbyist in mind. AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmers have the pump placed inside the skimmer itself to save space, reduce noise and improve efficiency.

All AquaMaxx protein skimmers are computer designed. Each unit is precision-cut and made of polished cell-cast acrylic.

PERFORMANCE
The AquaMaxx HOB Series I protein skimmer relies on a superbly crafted Italian Sicce Syncra 1.0 pump and AquaMaxx needlewheel impeller to vigorously remove waste from your fish or reef tank. Sicce pumps are well-regarded for their efficiency to move air and water. Combining these dynamic pumps with AquaMaxx protein skimmers saves users considerable energy.

Specifications:
  • Dimension : L 7.5 x W 3.5 x H 17 Inch
  • Pump(included): Shark 1.0
  • Pump power consumption: 11 Watts
  • Outlet size: 3/4 Inch
  • Minimum tank height 10-7/8"
  • Volume rating: up to 75 Gallons
  • Requires approximately 4" of clearance to remove collection cup.
  • Fits aquarium rims up to 3/4" thick.
All of our products are backed by a 60-day return policy although the skimmers will also carry a 1-year manufacturer warranty from AquaMaxx. Each skimmer will include detailed instructions and diagrams to help hobbyists get up and running immediately.

*Please Note: Bubble Plate Set Screw (4) has been removed from late models and is no longer included on the skimmer or required for installation.






Manufacturer Info

AquaMaxx
AquaMaxx is a Southern California-based aquarium supply company that entered the market in mid-2008 with a line of affordable metal halide bulbs. The brand quickly gained recognition as word spread about the high quality and low cost of their lamps. In 2009, AquaMaxx released a line of aquarium filter socks and, in early 2010, unveiled an assortment of high-performance protein skimmer accessories and upgrades.

Warranty

AquaMaxx Limited Manufacturer Warranty
AquaMaxx will warrant all AquaMaxx products to be free from manufacturing defects for one year from the original purchase date when purchased through an authorized AquaMaxx retailer. This warranty does not cover any damages caused by misuse, neglect, alterations or improper handling/transport/maintenance/installation. AquaMaxx does not cover personal injury, personal loss, or other damages associated with the use of these products.



AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer Reviews



Average Rating
(94 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 10
Page


The Good, The Bad, The Bubbly

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/8/2014 from BOONE, NC UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The Good: I have this running on a 27 Marineland cube. It replaced a Hydor Slim Skim Nano. Aquamaxx costs twice as much, but is easily twice as good. The Aquamaxx makes more foam than a keg at a frat party. And it produced good dry dirty foam in only 5 days. Pretty quiet, too--just some gurgling here and there. My tank is in my home office so I'm sensitive to noise. Water quality is noticeably better and the tank is now unbelievably clear. The (Not So) Bad: Like any HOB Skimmer, it takes up space, especially vertical space. Extends a good 8" above the tank rim. Not much in-tank clutter, just a couple of smallish pipes. It will create some salt creep on its tubes and some splash on your light. I run a Kessil A150 on the cube and need to clean the lens about every 3 days. No big deal. The Bubbly: If you don't have your OCD under control, you may not like the microbubbles or the smallish (BB sized) bubbles that exit the return tube. I'm told by Aquamaxx that this will improve with time and that they are working on some sort of fix for it. Not much of an issue for me, but might be for others. I have never seen an HOB that was 100% bubble-free. Bottom Line: Best HOB skimmer I've owned and I was a long-time user of AquaC's Remora. For $200 and change, I don't think you can beat it. Very happy that I made the change.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Second aquamaxx

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 5/8/2014 from RED DEER, CANADA
2.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I am happy with my first skimmer I purchased for my 40gal seahorse tank that I purchased another for a different tank. So far it seems to be broken in quite a bit faster then the first one. The only complaint I have is the tubing inside that goes from the elbow to the pump is to small and I had to use another product to hold the tube together with the elbow in order to make an airtight seal. It would not prime without me sealing it first. Other then that, it's been awesome so far.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/27/2014 from LONG GROVE, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have a jbj 28 and had been using the jbj air stone skimmer for about a year. This skimmer did (what I thought was) a decent job after upgrading the air pump. But after a month or two of little to no skimmate and slowly losing sps due to an unusual brown algae (dinoflagellates) and chronic low ph, I decided to bite the bullet and install this skimmer. It arrived quickly and installation was simple because of the video provided. The only mod needed was to wrap the ends of the connecting pipes in a layer of regular scotch tape because they were way to loose and kept disconnecting. With this done I easily dropped it right in to the small skimmer space and it fit perfectly. I don't use the hood in favor or a Maxspect razor. It isn't silent but has a whooshing and trickling sound which I don't mind because I know its working. With all that said, after two days I had to empty the cup of nasty stinky stuff. As an added bonus my Ph is a perfect 8.3-8.4 and all my corals are thriving. Greater polyp extension, eruption into new growth after months of being dormant, weird algae gone, and crystal clear water...all a coincidence in the first week? I think not. Best thing I have done for my reef.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great for my JBJ 28G

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/14/2014 from Fort Worth, TX
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The only issue I found was that when I connected the tubes together, they didn't fit tightly enough (air was being sucked in and wouldn't prime) I added some tape and it tightened everything up. Once I got past that, everything went well. I also attached the unit to a 5 gallon bucket and ran some warm water and vinegar through it for an hour and then washed everything out and put it in the tank. Within about 2 days the microbubbles stopped and it's been all good since then. It's been running for 26 days so far.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Excellent skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/8/2014 from GREENWOOD, IN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been keeping a marine aquarium for 3 years and this protein skimmer was recommended to be by another much more experienced aquarist. I first used it on my 35 gallon tank and loved what it did for the water quality. So, I recently started up a 75 gallon reef aquarium, and ordered TWO of these skimmers for the new tank! I have to say that Marine Depot has EXCEPTIONAL customer service. The acrylic tube on the back of one of the skimmers arrived broken, so I called Marine Depot immediately. The person helping me was very friendly and shipped me out another skimmer the same day with tracking number; I received the replacement two days ago and has it has been working well. So, two comments from me: 1) This protein skimmer is awesome! It functions well and produces skim mate within 2 days (depends the state of your water as well) 2) Marine Depot's customer service is EXEMPLARY and I am very very happy. Thank you so so much from Indiana!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Skimmer!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/26/2014 from Novi, MI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: For the past few months, I have been searching for a skimmer to add on my JBJ 28gal LED nano tank. From early reviews, the AquaMaxx HOB-1 had been one of my top choices, however it had been out of stock in all stores for quite a while. This being the case, I started with the AquaEuro Nano Skimmer 2. I don't want to write a review for that product here, but I will say that after five weeks of running and messing around, I was not able to get any skimmate produced. This was right around the time when the AquaMaxx HOB-1 became available. I have now had the HOB-1 running for two days. Within the first hour I had a half cup of semi-dark/thick skimmate! I have never had a skimmer take to a tank this quick. I am sure it still needs break in time, but I am already sold that this is the best hang on back skimmer on the market today. The internal pump is a Shark 1.0. I am not familiar with this brand, but it does the job thus far. I am impressed with the quality of plastic/acrylic used. Definitely worth the price. Solid build, unique design and immediate results.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




AquaMaxx quiet& efficient

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/25/2014 from CARMEL, IN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I've been using a AquaC Remora Pro on a 100 gallon Tenecor tank for 5 years. Of all the equipment on the tank that was noisy was the skimmer and the MAG3. I'm really happy with the AquaMaxx hang-on. Directions are terrible so watch the video. Like the fact the motor is inside the skimmer unit. Produced dry foam by the next morning.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Best skimmet ever

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/22/2014 from San Diego, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Best skimmer I have owned. Way better than Tunze 9002. The instructions are not all that good but good job by Marine Depot for posting video instructions on youtube.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Fantastic HOB Skimmer!!!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/16/2014 from DEALE, MD UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: If you are looking for a hang on skimmer, this is the one for you. Works great, quiet, easy to clean and priced right.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Compact and beautiful unit.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/9/2014 from TALLAHASSEE, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This skimmer took about a week before it started producing a good skimmate. It has been on my tank for a little over a month and my corals are responding nicely to the higher water quality.Would recommend for any tank.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 10
Page
AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaMaxx HOB-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 18, 2014
"I like how easy it is to do business with Marine Depot. I also love the competitive prices on products."
Joshua

Aug 15, 2014
"The best online place to shop for all aquarium supplies. The best packing ever: I've ordered lights, nothing has ever broken."
Corals&Clowns

Aug 13, 2014
"Great place to buy reef aquarium products."
Gabe

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.