Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Chemical  » Phosphate Removers  »  AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO
AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO

AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$21.99 to $269.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO Information




AquaMaxx Phosphate Out is a granular ferric oxide adsorptive filter media that removes phosphate from aquarium water. Phosphate is a fuel for algae growth and can also inhibit a coral`s ability to utilize calcium in water. Phosphate Out does not leach phosphate back into aquarium water after it has been absorbed by the media.

For best results, use AquaMaxx Phosphate Out inside a canister, hang-on back or other aquarium filtration system. Using a filter media bag is strongly recommended.

Phosphate Out can also be used in fluidized (up-flow) media reactors. A ball valve is required to regulate a slow flow rate through the filter to prevent granules from becoming pulverized.

1/4 gallon = 1 quart = 4 cups of media

Dosage
  • Rinse before use.
  • Use 1/2 cup per 50 gallons for saltwater aquariums.
  • Test phosphate levels and replace media when levels begin to rise (approximately every 1-3 months).
  • As with all ferric oxide media, alkalinity levels may drop when used. Be sure to monitor alkalinity and adjust as needed





Manufacturer Info

AquaMaxx
AquaMaxx is a Southern California-based aquarium supply company that entered the market in mid-2008 with a line of affordable metal halide bulbs. The brand quickly gained recognition as word spread about the high quality and low cost of their lamps. In 2009, AquaMaxx released a line of aquarium filter socks and, in early 2010, unveiled an assortment of high-performance protein skimmer accessories and upgrades.

Warranty

AquaMaxx Limited Manufacturer Warranty
AquaMaxx will warrant all AquaMaxx products to be free from manufacturing defects for one year from the original purchase date when purchased through an authorized AquaMaxx retailer. This warranty does not cover any damages caused by misuse, neglect, alterations or improper handling/transport/maintenance/installation. AquaMaxx does not cover personal injury, personal loss, or other damages associated with the use of these products.



AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO Reviews



Average Rating
(8 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Phosphates Dropping!!

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/19/2014 from Boise, ID
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I recently moved from Salt Lake City to Boise. Since I didn't have RO water ready at my new place, I was obligated to use municipal tap water. Phosphates shot up to 6.0!! The GFO in my media reactor is bringing these levels down QUICKLY! Will purchase again.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Phosphates Disappearing

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/24/2012 from Jacksonville, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I'd been having a hair algae problem with my 90 gallon tank. After doing a water test I cut back on my fish feeding. I've been running Phosphate Out for about 5 days now and my phosphate level is 0.1. Phosphate Out is the real deal!


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Excellent product Great price

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/2/2012 from Hollywood, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I always purchased Two Little Fishies GFO just because it was made for my Two Little Fishies reactor. This products works really fast to lower your phosphates in your tank and it is just as good. Best part is you get alot more bang for your buck. I will definately keep purchasing this product. I am very satisfied and must tell everyone that reads this I started with a phosphate reading of 0.10 and now just 2 days later it is 0.00. Incredible stuff.


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Rowa Replacement

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/10/2012 from FAIRVIEW, OR UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Rowa was getting too expensive. Have tried many other brands trying to find something close to RowaPhos' capability. Aquamaxx's product has so far worked. Good stuff


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




works

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/20/2012 from FARGO, ND UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: had it running in my phosban reactor for a 3 days and phosphates are back to near zero! much cheaper then the phosban brand GFO


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Awesome

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/22/2011 from STATEN ISLAND, NY UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Used GFO with my phosphate reactor and it worked better than expected.


9 of 9 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Aquamaxx

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/30/2011 from FORT LAUDERDALE, FL UNITED STA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This stuff removed my phosphates fast.


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Aquamaxx GFO

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/24/2011 from SAINT CHARLES, MO UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: A gr8 product, low dust does what it is supposed to.


6 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Sorry! While there is no limit to the number of items we'll price match in an order, our online system will only accept one. Please call us at 1-800-566-FISH (3474) and we’ll happily price match additional items for you.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is my come-to choice whenever it comes to buying aquarium supplies."
reeftanklover2012

Aug 3, 2014
"Great company, easy and quick to find and order almost anything I need. Great customer service."
Jack

July 31, 2014
"As always, it was a pleasure to do business with Marine Depot. I've ordered from them a few times before and have always been very happy with their products and service."
Ann

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.