Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
KEEPCALM Coupon
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Chemical  » Phosphate Removers  »  AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO
AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO

AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$19.99 to $64.99
Add To My Wish List

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO Information




AquaMaxx Phosphate Out is a granular ferric oxide adsorptive filter media that removes phosphate from aquarium water. Phosphate is a fuel for algae growth and can also inhibit a coral`s ability to utilize calcium in water. Phosphate Out does not leach phosphate back into aquarium water after it has been absorbed by the media.

For best results, use AquaMaxx Phosphate Out inside a canister, hang-on back or other aquarium filtration system. Using a filter media bag is strongly recommended.

Phosphate Out can also be used in fluidized (up-flow) media reactors. A ball valve is required to regulate a slow flow rate through the filter to prevent granules from becoming pulverized.

Dosage
  • Rinse before use.
  • Use 1/2 cup per 50 gallons for saltwater aquariums.
  • Test phosphate levels and replace media when levels begin to rise (approximately every 1-3 months).
  • As with all ferric oxide media, alkalinity levels may drop when used. Be sure to monitor alkalinity and adjust as needed







Manufacturer Info

AquaMaxx
AquaMaxx is a Southern California-based aquarium supply company that entered the market in mid-2008 with a line of affordable metal halide bulbs. The brand quickly gained recognition as word spread about the high quality and low cost of their lamps. In 2009, AquaMaxx released a line of aquarium filter socks and, in early 2010, unveiled an assortment of high-performance protein skimmer accessories and upgrades.

Warranty

AquaMaxx Limited Manufacturer Warranty
AquaMaxx will warrant all AquaMaxx products to be free from manufacturing defects for one year from the original purchase date when purchased through an authorized AquaMaxx retailer. This warranty does not cover any damages caused by misuse, neglect, alterations or improper handling/transport/maintenance/installation. AquaMaxx does not cover personal injury, personal loss, or other damages associated with the use of these products.



AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO Reviews



Average Rating
(8 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Phosphates Dropping!!

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/19/2014 from Boise, ID
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I recently moved from Salt Lake City to Boise. Since I didn't have RO water ready at my new place, I was obligated to use municipal tap water. Phosphates shot up to 6.0!! The GFO in my media reactor is bringing these levels down QUICKLY! Will purchase again.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Phosphates Disappearing

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/24/2012 from Jacksonville, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I'd been having a hair algae problem with my 90 gallon tank. After doing a water test I cut back on my fish feeding. I've been running Phosphate Out for about 5 days now and my phosphate level is 0.1. Phosphate Out is the real deal!


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Excellent product Great price

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/2/2012 from Hollywood, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I always purchased Two Little Fishies GFO just because it was made for my Two Little Fishies reactor. This products works really fast to lower your phosphates in your tank and it is just as good. Best part is you get alot more bang for your buck. I will definately keep purchasing this product. I am very satisfied and must tell everyone that reads this I started with a phosphate reading of 0.10 and now just 2 days later it is 0.00. Incredible stuff.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Rowa Replacement

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/10/2012 from FAIRVIEW, OR UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Rowa was getting too expensive. Have tried many other brands trying to find something close to RowaPhos' capability. Aquamaxx's product has so far worked. Good stuff


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




works

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/20/2012 from FARGO, ND UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: had it running in my phosban reactor for a 3 days and phosphates are back to near zero! much cheaper then the phosban brand GFO


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Awesome

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/22/2011 from STATEN ISLAND, NY UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Used GFO with my phosphate reactor and it worked better than expected.


9 of 9 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Aquamaxx

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/30/2011 from FORT LAUDERDALE, FL UNITED STA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This stuff removed my phosphates fast.


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Aquamaxx GFO

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/24/2011 from SAINT CHARLES, MO UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: A gr8 product, low dust does what it is supposed to.


6 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaMaxx Phosphate Out Granular Ferric Oxide Filter Media GFO

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
March 15, 2014
"Price was good and everything arrived packed well and on promised schedule."
thomasstephen

March 13, 2014
"I received my lights with one broken. I called the 800 # and they shipped me a new light that day, no questions asked. Great service."
jason-47785

March 9, 2014
"When looking for things that need exact measurements, like plumbing, Marine Depot makes it very easy with detailed graphics and explanations. Videos are a very nice touch and have helped me a lot on my reef upgrade."
pipicaicedo

MarineDepotLive.com - Choose your Chalice