Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » UV Sterilizers  » UV Sterilizers  » 8 to 10 Watt  »  Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer
Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer

Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
AV1111
Size:
Quantity:
$5 off orders $50 & up (some exclusions apply)
Use Coupon at checkout: 5LABORDAY
Valid From 9/1/2014 - 9/2/2014
$10 off orders $100 & up (some exclusions apply)
Use Coupon at checkout: 10LABORDAY
Valid From 9/1/2014 - 9/2/2014
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer The Advantage Series is ideal for small ponds, aquariums, and water features. Advantage UV`s are slim, lightweight units designed for maximum UV effectiveness. Aqua Ultraviolet UV`s will clear your water in 3 to 5 days sometimes overnight and keep it that way. Performance is guaranteed when sized, installed and operated according to our instructions.
  • Fresh Water Sterilizer: 5-200 gallons; Flowrate - 642 gph for 30,000 µw/cm2
  • Fresh Water Clarifier: up to 1,500 gallons; ideal for water gardens
  • Salt Water Sterilizer: up to 70 gallons; Flowrate - 214gph for 90,000 µw/cm2
  • Dimensions: 18" X 4" X 2.5"
  • Inlet: 1/2" MPT and 1/2" 90 degree elbow barb included
  • Outlet spout accommodates aquarium frames up to 1"
  • Available in black only.
  • Lightweight Unit Weighs: 4 lbs
  • Housing: Limited lifetime warranty on housing against Ultraviolet degradation
    Complete Unit: One year from date of purchase or 18 months from manufacturing date
What is a Sterilizer? A sterilizer will eliminate green water and control bacteria. The Advantage 2000, 8 Watt, will sterilize up to 200 gallons of fresh water or 70 gallons of salt water.
What is a Clarifier? Used as a Clarifier the Advantage 2000, 8 Watt will control green water in a freshwater environment of up to 1,500 gallons that has 50% to 75% plant coverage and partial shade.
What works best for Marine Tanks? In marine fish tanks (No reef or live rock) a flow rate matching those shown in the 75,000 or 90,000 column will be most effective at controlling fish disease.
How do I size a UV for a Reef Tanks? In salt water reef environments choose a UV that matches your flow rate per hour in the 30,000 or 45,000 columns of our chart. Flow rates in the 75,000 and 90,000 columns will destroy the planktonic food supply for the reef.
Aqua UV Advantage HOB Sterilizer/Clarifier



Manufacturer Info

Aqua Ultraviolet Aquarium Supplies
Aqua Ultraviolet, founded in 1975, is a popular manufacturer of ultraviolet sterilizers and bio-mechanical filtration. All Aqua Ultraviolet (also referred to as Aqua UV) products are created, tested and manufactured in their Temecula, CA headquarters. By creating all of their products in-house, Aqua Ultraviolet can perform thorough quality control and even engineer custom designs for special orders. The customer-centric company has a toll-free number with a friendly support staff willing to help you choose the right products and walk you through the installation process. Aqua Ultraviolet’s UV sterilizers are popular among freshwater and saltwater aquarium hobbyists in addition to pond and water gardeners.

Warranty

1 year manufacturer warranty

+ Display More

Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer Reviews



Average Rating
(25 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 3
Page


Aqua uv 15watt

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 2/27/2014
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Easy hooking up right to the filter crystal clear water like in two days...a must have in salt water aquarium. Works good on my 55 gallon salt water tank. Had a marron clown fish that started to get ich ... All gone after getting this uv sterlizer like an two days! clown fish is better than ever.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Advantage 2000 Sterilizer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/16/2014 from El Dorado Hills, CA UNITED STA
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The UV device works great, installed it on the return line from my filter. Gave it a 4.5 rating as I hard a very difficult time trying to connect the lamp to its connector, it still is not flush but the sterilizer is working. As a suggestion it would be nice if the discharge from the HOB model was longer to reduce water noise.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Advantage 2000 Sterilizer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/16/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The UV device works great, installed it on the return line from my filter. Gave it a 4.5 rating as I hard a very difficult time trying to connect the lamp to its connector, it still is not flush but the sterilizer is working. As a suggestion it would be nice if the discharge from the HOB model was longer to reduce water noise.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Best UV hangon

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/9/2014 from San Diego, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have had this running for about a week. Easy to set up, and run. The return is kind of weird, but if you have it running back into a tank or sump no problem. I have mine in my sump.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 9/1/2013 from SARTELL, MN UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: It's to big and the intake valve should be on the side. You will have to have your tank about 5 inches away from the wall just to make it fit. It did not meet my expectations at all for size. As far as the water clarity I noticed nothing I am Going to call on Monday and see about a return. Hope this helps because I read a lot of reviews beforeI purchased and not at all what I thought.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Aqua uv 15watt

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/8/2013 from MODESTO, CA UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Easy hooking up right to the filter crystal clear water like in two days...a must have in salt water aquarium. Works good on my 55 gallon salt water tank. Had a marron clown fish that started to get ich ... All gone after getting this uv sterlizer like an two days! clown fish is better than ever.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Amazing product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/12/2013 from PHOENIX, AZ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I previously had a Aqua UV sterilizer for several years and absolutely loved this product, however, it recently quit working so my 200 gallon pond was inundated with algae. We received our new Aqua UV Advantage HOB UV Sterilizer, got it up and running and within 3 days our pond was crystal clear with very little algae remaining. Like I said this is an amazing sterilizer and would definitely recommend this product to my frieds and family.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great UV filter

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/21/2013 from CARNEGIE, PA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I purchased this UV filter one year ago. It is outstanding and parts are easy to replace. The nut holding the light cord broke but was easy to find and working well again. The only problem I see is the exit tube dumps too much water into the tank. It a fitting is made for a hose and diverter it would improve. I think it would also assist in the water flow. Pumps come with many ways to move exit water but this company has missed the boat on it. I would purchase it again only if they improve the exit water direction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/18/2012 from CANDLER, NC UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Works great for the price.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




good uv, bad hob return line

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/3/2012 from DELRAY BEACH, FL UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: very good uv sterilizer. Cleaned up my alge problem on 90 gallon saltwater tank in 1 day. Frustrating because it could be perfect with small changes to the HOB design. As a return line it sucks. Dumps water straight down into tank like a water fall. Very loud and makes lots of annoying bubles. Also causes crazy salt creep. Would be so much better with an adjustable nozzel/ diffuser on the end. Skip the HOB hanger and use it inline.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 3
Page

Accessories for Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer




Similar Items



Aqua UV 8W Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Aqua UV Advantage 2000 HOB UV Sterilizer

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 18, 2014
"I like how easy it is to do business with Marine Depot. I also love the competitive prices on products."
Joshua

Aug 15, 2014
"The best online place to shop for all aquarium supplies. The best packing ever: I've ordered lights, nothing has ever broken."
Corals&Clowns

Aug 13, 2014
"Great place to buy reef aquarium products."
Gabe

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.