Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Canister Filters  » Over 100 Gallons  »  Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API FilStar XP Canister Filter - XL (Up To 265 Gallons)
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API FilStar XP Canister Filter - XL (Up To 265 Gallons)

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API FilStar XP Canister Filter - XL (Up To 265 Gallons)

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
AP7317
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $392.99
You Save: $203.00 (51%)
Qualifies for Free Shipping!
$5 off orders $50 & up (some exclusions apply)
Use Coupon at checkout: 5LABORDAY
Valid From 9/1/2014 - 9/2/2014
$10 off orders $100 & up (some exclusions apply)
Use Coupon at checkout: 10LABORDAY
Valid From 9/1/2014 - 9/2/2014
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API FilStar XP Canister Filter - XL (Up To 265 Gallons) Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

It’s no wonder the API Filstar xP canister filters received an industry recognition award for the best aquarium filter! Easy-to-use and extremely powerful with multi-stage filtration and bypass-free circulation, the API Filstar continues to raise the bar for the best possible aquarium filtration.

Easy to Install:
  • Adjustable Height inlet tube, fits even the deepest aquariums.
  • Modular outlet system adjusts to any aquarium.
  • 160 degree rotation of inlet/outlet nozzles.
Easy to Use:
  • Self-priming, easy start system.
  • Unique one-step water shut-off and disconnect control lever.
  • Easily accessible flow control from above tank level.
  • Disposable filtration pouches for easy clean-up.
  • Multi-use filtration baskets with handles for easy maintenance.
  • Built in handles for easy carrying of filter during maintenance.
  • Easily accessible impeller.
Maximum Performance:
  • Efficient 3-stage filtration: mechanical, chemical & Biological.
  • Bypass-free: ensures complete water flow through the filter media.
  • Maximum capacity baskets hold large amounts of filtration media.
  • Long-life shaft will not degrade, even in salt water.
Maximum Reliability:
  • Unique anti-airlock system ensures continuous flow.
  • Self-locking water shutoff system prevents accidental flow during maintenance.
  • Rubber feet prevent slipping and dampen noise and vibration.
  • Barbed nozzles and safety clips (included) ensure a water tight connection.
  • Anti-overheating design protects motor if filter is clogged.
Each API Filstar xP contains:
  • Height-adjustable inlet with extension pieces and strainer.
  • Customizable outlet system with spraybar, venturi, flow adjustment and outlet nozzle.
  • Suction cups for attaching all outlet and inlet tubes.
  • Filtration basket(s) with separation grid(s) for filter media.
  • Flexible inlet and outlet tubing (2 x 5 ft.).
  • 20 ppi open-cell foam(s)—removes coarse debris.
  • 30 ppi open-cell foam(s)—removes finer particles.
  • Micro-filtration pad—for ultra-fine filtration.
  • Bio-Chem Zorb pouch—for removal of organic waste.
  • Two Year Manufacturer`s Warranty
For aquariums up to 265 gal and has a flow rate of 450gph
9.5" wide x 8.25" deep x 21" tall to top of hose barbs.

New Features:
  • A new impeller to improve the flow rate to 450 gallons per hour and for the largest of aquariums
  • Longer in-take and out-take hoses
  • Biological filtration with 20 Bio-Chem Stars
  • NEW Progressive Micro Filtration Pad
  • A larger filter created by the engineers of the original xP line



Manufacturer Info

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Aquarium Supplies
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals (API) has been helping people take good care of ornamental fish for over 40 years. Their research and development scientists have advanced the care of fish with all-natural medications, stable bacteria for biological filtration, one-bottle test kits, consumer-friendly dosing caps and much more. They’ve received over 25 global patents for their breakthrough innovations in the aquatics industry. And they continue to look for ways to improve the fishkeeping experience for hobbyists. Research. Experience. Dedication to scientific, quality treatment for healthy fish. It’s what makes API the first choice of aquarium owners. API manufactures and sells hundreds of products across many different product categories, including aquarium and pond treatments, aquarium equipment, aquariums and fish nutrition.
+ Display More

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API FilStar XP Canister Filter - XL (Up To 265 Gallons) Reviews



Average Rating
(47 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 5
Page


API XP Canister Filter

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 11/7/2013 from GREENVILLE, SC UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Excellent product would buy again. I would get the best hose clamps that would be available locally. The plastic ones that come with the filter are not secure. There is no noise from the filter at all! The only reason for the 4 is that the hose clamps are iffy at best. I will buy this again for the rest of my tanks. I especially like the 4 tray filter options.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Happy fish

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/6/2013 from SPOKANE, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: After careful consideration and research chose the Filstar XP. Have had 2 Marineland cannister pumps in the past that worked fairly well until recently. The second one developed a leaking problem after only about 2 years. Decided to choose another brand. Set up for the Filstar XP was simple. The instructions were well written. Parts came as advertised. Start up was a breeze. Pump is very quiet. Filtration for my 100 gallon fresh water tank is amazing. Water appears very clear after only 2 days. Water very clear before. Was surprised to notice a difference. Have had fish tank for about 25 years and Fistar welcome addition. Would recommend this cannister filter to anyone.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Works Great..

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/29/2013 from SANGER, CA UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This works GREAT!! Got the 75 gallon unit for my Red Ear Sliders and it works well for keeping thier nasty tank clean. Ordered a second for the fish tank.. Only issue that keeps it from 5 stars is that it can be tough to prime. Ignore the directions, and put the pickup in the water. will save you a mess and lots of frustration.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Works Great..

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/29/2013
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This works GREAT!! Got the 75 gallon unit for my Red Ear Sliders and it works well for keeping thier nasty tank clean. Ordered a second for the fish tank.. Only issue that keeps it from 5 stars is that it can be tough to prime. Ignore the directions, and put the pickup in the water. will save you a mess and lots of frustration.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Watch out it LEAKS

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 3/9/2012 from WESTLAKE, OH UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The water leaks out at the electrical cord. The troubleshooting guid identifies the fix as the in n out water tubing must be putting too much pressure on the unit - but I keep trying to fix/adjust & nothing seems to work for more than a few hours. Anyone for water all over the floor? I didn't think so.


5 of 16 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Pretty Decent filter for $$$$

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/24/2011 from HUNTINGTON, VT UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I replaced an Ehiem Proffessional 2 with this filter. The Ehiem ran flawlessly for 7 years but then started leaking between the base and the top. My plan was to buy the Ehiem Pro 3 2075 but after reading 30 or so poor reviews, I reconsidered. Apparently they also leak, brand new, right out of the box. I purchased the Rena Filstar xp3 for about $120 less then the Ehiem. The quality is not quite on par as everything seems just a little bit flimsier but the flow rate is 20gph stronger and it seems to work just fine. I leave the lower chamber clear so it can become a Filterfeeding Zone. The mid-chamber got my old Ehiem sponge plus a couple of the courser sponge filters that came with the Filstar. The top compartment holds 4 Chemi-Pure pouches with filter floss sandwiching them. All in all, this filter has adaquate capacity to function as I need it to on my 120 gallon reef tank. I only open it every 3 to 4 months, so I'm hoping that will help with the longevity of the latches and seal. This filter comes with all the media you need to get it up and running, although I don't use the the Bio-Chem Zorb as I don't find it to be on par with Chemi-Pure, and I don't use bio-balls of any type, but the media alone would come to a significant sum of money if you needed to purchase separately. The esthetics of the filter isn't great, but I keep it in the stand so it's no big deal. Also the filter runs silently, but so did my Ehiem, so no change there. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a compact, functionally well-designed, filter for a decent price.


10 of 11 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




jeff

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/19/2011 from Simpsonville, SC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: ive been keeping fish for over 4o yeaes one day i was looking for a new canister filter and i chose to give the rena a try and wow a dream come true!!!!!!!this is the best filter ive used in forever you can remove the hoses just flipping a switch and take the canister right to your cleaning station and take it apary clean it and 1 2 3 its ready to go.........it also has a new inovated way to use a rena heater check it out youll be glad if you choose it i sure am........


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Easy, quiet, workhorse!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/7/2011 from CRESTVIEW, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: We purchased the Rena FilStar xP3 for our 110 gallon freshwater cichlid tank. Setup was so simple. This filter is very easy to prime with no mess at all. The xP3 runs very, very quietly, almost silent. Our fish had been without filtration for 2 days, and the xP3 cleared their water up very quickly. We and our fish are very happy with this filter.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Worth every penny.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/23/2010 from Montrose, CO UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I highly recommend Rena Filstar canisters. They're sturdy, reliable and quiet with a large number of filter media possibilities. I have been using Filstar canisters for about 5 years. I have 3, an XP2 running my refugium on a 75G reef, an XP3 on a 45G planted fresh and an XP4 on a 150G fresh. I have never been anything but pleased with them. I have never had a microbubble problem from them and they have always operated very quietly. If you have a noisy one or are getting microbubbles then you are likely getting air in to the canister and should check all your O-rings and hose fittings. You should check them every time you clean it especially the large lid ring. My Filstars have been completely reliable for years and I have found them quite durable. Mine have been through the ringer a time or two and are still purring away.


5 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




I'm Impressed

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/5/2010 from MONTEBELLO, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Had double set of Magnum 350's paired bio-wheel outlets. Huge big hassle to maintain and restart, and you had to choose between carbon cartridge or polishing cartridge, can't have both. The sleeve style pad was also awkward to spray through during cleaning. Replaced with two large bio-wheel Emperors, easier maintenance but water that that clean. Switched to a smaller 20L turtle tank, even messier than the 60g. Refreshing to have a product work exactly as advertised. I use the XP1 attached to the undergravel filter plate and this is the perfect setup for turtles, and as far as I can see, but freshwater as well. This way you don't need the bio stars or ceramic rings as you get way more surface area with the 2-1/2" layer of fine gravel. VerI take advantage of the open nature of arranging the media to focus on physical/mechanical filtration. Two 30ppi sponges, Micro, then Super Micro Progressive. I'm sure some other cannisters allow you to arrange your media also, but they cost double or more for the same capacity. What to improve on? I can't think of anything. For the hoses, don't try to push them on straight-on. Wiggle from opposite sides and they will slowly work their way in. This is the problem with silicon type hoses, but its worth it, result is no leaks and very flexible routing. People with air bubbles, did you get them 2" or more onto the pipe ends? They seal very tight so I don't even use the hose clamps.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 5
Page

Accessories for Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API FilStar XP Canister Filter - XL (Up To 265 Gallons)



Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API FilStar XP Canister Filter - XL (Up To 265 Gallons) Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Aquarium Pharmaceuticals API FilStar XP Canister Filter

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 18, 2014
"I like how easy it is to do business with Marine Depot. I also love the competitive prices on products."
Joshua

Aug 15, 2014
"The best online place to shop for all aquarium supplies. The best packing ever: I've ordered lights, nothing has ever broken."
Corals&Clowns

Aug 13, 2014
"Great place to buy reef aquarium products."
Gabe

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.