Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Medications  » Bacterial & Fungal  »  Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API Furan-2 Medication - 10ct Powder Packets
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API Furan-2 Medication - 10ct Powder Packets
Buy in Bulk and Save!
Quantity Unit Price
1 - 2 $5.99
3 - 5 $5.69
6 - 11 $5.51
12 or more $5.27

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API Furan-2 Medication - 10ct Powder Packets

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
AP1831
Quantity:
MSRP: $7.99
You Save: $2.00 (25%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API Furan-2 Medication - 10ct Powder Packets Information




Contains two furan compounds to combat a wide variety of gram-positive & gram-negative bacterial diseases, including bacterial gill disease, open red sores (Aeromonas spp.), body slime & eye cloud, black molly disease (Flavobacterium columnaris) and fin & tail rot. This medication will not harm the biological filter. Note: This medication will cause a slight discoloration of water which can be removed with activated carbon.

For fresh and saltwater aquariums. Treats up to 100 gallons (10 gallons per packet).




Manufacturer Info

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Aquarium Supplies
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals (API) has been helping people take good care of ornamental fish for over 40 years. Their research and development scientists have advanced the care of fish with all-natural medications, stable bacteria for biological filtration, one-bottle test kits, consumer-friendly dosing caps and much more. They’ve received over 25 global patents for their breakthrough innovations in the aquatics industry. And they continue to look for ways to improve the fishkeeping experience for hobbyists. Research. Experience. Dedication to scientific, quality treatment for healthy fish. It’s what makes API the first choice of aquarium owners. API manufactures and sells hundreds of products across many different product categories, including aquarium and pond treatments, aquarium equipment, aquariums and fish nutrition.

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API Furan-2 Medication - 10ct Powder Packets Reviews



Average Rating
(10 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Not working for me.

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 3/1/2014 from BOCA RATON, FL UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have a Sailfin Tang that developed an infection on a fin that eroded most of the fin and developed a white cottony ball at the base of the fin. So far I have treated the tank 5 times to no avail. My corals are very unhappy about the treatment and are showing their displeasure by not opening very much. Today I am switching to E.M. ERYTHROMYCIN and will treat the tank for the next two days and report. My tank is a 92 gallon reef tank. I have been treating a dose of 8 packets each time. It gets expensive real fast. I have changed the water twice so far as directed on the package. I hope I don't lose the fish and hurt all the other inhabitants in the treatment process.


0 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great for ZoaPox!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/6/2013 from Huntington Park, CA UNITED STA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Bought this to dip some stressed zoo's I had. Turns out I had A LOT of zoanthid pests roaming around but the good news is I patrol my reef like a cop on the beat. My tank is a small 6g fluval edge, so it is not much to patrol but I am very obervant and all my zoo colonies are near the top. Sucked all the pests one by one and dipped every frag where the pest was found using a coral dip (iodine). Anyway, these pests stressed my colonies and read on many forums that Furan-2 was the ultimate treatment for zoapox, boy were they right! Pox were gone about a week after 3 day consecutive baths. I noticed pox still affect the zoo's, but it doesn't seem to bother them, they just are vulnerable when stressed. Use 1/4 teaspoon for 32oz water and on third bath use 1/2 for 32oz water.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Works Great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/27/2012 from GERMANTOWN, MD UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I bought this produt for a fin rot cure. After the first treatment, I could see it was working. After the recommended 4-day treatment, the fish was cured. Very happy with the product. Fish was never stressed at all. At everyday during treatment!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Zoapox

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/24/2010 from BATON ROUGE, LA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I got this for Zoapox and it works!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Furan-2

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 10/1/2010 from REDMOND, OR UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I use Furan-2 to get rid of the horrible green slime algae that likes to plague my freshwater aquarium. I follow all of the directions and the problem is solved.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great medication

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/5/2009 from JERSEY CITY, NJ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This medication is great, am using it on my discus for treating various bacterial infection. U can see an fast improvement of health for the sick discus. Am always keeping an extra for emergency.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Works Great for Zoa Pox

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/3/2008 from Phoenix, AZ US
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Used for Zoa Pox and worked wonderfully!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Furan 5

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/6/2008 from SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL UNITED STA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I used this product to treat Zoanthid Pox, this product is not designed for this treatment but its one of the only cures for Zoa Pox(zoa pox can wipe out all Zoanthid corals in a tank if not treated). After two treatments the zoa pox cleared up and are now looking great.


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




A great internal parasite cure

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/17/2008 from BALTIMORE, MD UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: For quick treatment of internal parasites that can be hard to rid your fish of, Furan 2 (which contains the key to real parasite butt-kicking - Metronidazole) is the best thing there is. It is readily absorbed into the body of the fish, and kills the parasites safely and without undue stress. I always have this product on hand, and I can't reccomend it enough.


2 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Discus Plague

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/24/2007 from MILLINGTON, TN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I was an idiot and purchased 2" (more like 1" fry) discus from an online fish store I had never purchased from before. The purchase consisted of 2 Aqua Green Scribbles, 2 Baby Blue Pandas, 2 Brilliant Blue Diamonds, 2 Ruby Reds and a Peppermint Plecostomus. The When I opened the bags, the first thing I noticed was one of the Green Scribbles was floating on his side. I thought he had been injured, but put all of the fish in my isolation tank just to be on the safe side. The other scribble, pandas and blues started showing symptoms immediately. The first scribble was dead within 3 days, and I guess I didn't disinfect my nets and somehow transferred the disease to my display discus tank and my breeders. My female 7" heckle was dead overnight. Her symptoms were first darkening of color, almost black, the pale to white, film over eyes, and blotchy coloring with sloughing of her entire mucous coating. I had encountered Discus Plague back in the 1980's and knew what I was dealing with. The spread was rapid and lethal. I ordered the Furan-2 along with General Cure and Triple Sulfa. The main active ingredients I was looking for were Nitrofurazone and Metronidazole. I've used the pills before without much success due to the slow solubility rate. This stuff started working within 8 HOURS! I had Rio Rubus floating on their sides and 10:00 am and by 6:00 pm, they were swimming upright and taking food! The combination I used was full doses of the Furan 2 and General cure, and 1/2 dose of the Triple Sulfa. The results speak for themselves. If anyone has dealt with Discus Plague or are a Discus breeder-keeper, I would keep a stockload of this stuff on hand. It is in my opinion absolutely amazing!


14 of 15 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API Furan-2 Medication - 10ct Powder Packets Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API Furan-2 Medication - 10ct Powder Packets

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 28, 2014
"I did have to return one defective item once and Marine Depot was very responsive and replaced the item no questions asked."
Chris

Sept 26, 2014
"The selection was everything I needed or could want. The pricing was comparable if not even better than other online ordering sites."
Faris530

Sept 19, 2014
"I ordered yesterday and paid for regular shipping and I got my stuff this afternoon 24 hours later!"
John Chang

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.