Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Chemical  » Nitrate Removers  »  Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Nitra-Zorb
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Nitra-Zorb

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Nitra-Zorb

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$9.49 to $9.49
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Nitra-Zorb Information




A convenient pouch of natural and synthetic ion-exchange resins that selectively remove ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate from freshwater aquariums. Completely phosphate-free. Treats up to 20 Gallons.

Purpose and Benefits:
  • Nitra-Zorb is a water filtration medium comprised of natural and synthetic ion-exchange resins in a flow-through pouch. Nitra-Zorb selectively removes ammonia, nitrite and nitrate from freshwater aquariums. This product helps establish new aquariums by controlling the levels of ammonia and nitrite and preventing fish loss. Nitra-Zorb is also very useful in established aquariums whenever ammonia and nitrite is detected. Many advanced hobbyists are concerned about nitrate in the aquarium. Nitra-Zorb will help keep nitrate under control. Nitra-Zorb is easily recharged in a solution of warm table salt. Nitra-Zorb can be used in any filter.
  • When setting up a new aquarium use Nitra-Zorb continuously as directed. Whenever ammonia or nitrite is indicated by testing, Nitra-Zorb is exhausted and must be recharged. Follow the recharging instructions and continue to use Nitra-Zorb while the biological filter becomes established.
  • Nitra-Zorb is ideal for delicate species of fish and plants that thrive in soft water aquariums. This product will not alter pH, hardness, or alkalinity levels, and will not remove trace elements such as iron. Use Nitra-Zorb to maintain high water quality and fish vigor in any freshwater aquarium.
  • The level of ammonia, nitrite and nitrate removed depends on the size of the Nitra-Zorb pouch, size of the aquarium, flow rate of the aquarium filter, and how much ammonia, nitrite and nitrate is being produced in the aquarium daily. A 3.7 oz (105 g) pouch of Nitra-Zorb in a 20 U.S. gallon (75.6 L) aquarium will remove 5.0 ppm ammonia, 1.0 ppm nitrite, and 20 ppm nitrate in 24-48 hours. If the aquarium is overstocked or fed heavily, the build-up of ammonia, nitrite and nitrate may occur as fast it can be removed by Nitra-Zorb. Nitrate levels may be so high that they are well above the maximum level on nitrate test kits. It may be necessary to continually recharge and reuse the Nitra-Zorb pouch until the nitrate level drops within the test kit range.
Directions for Use: Rinse the pouch thoroughly in tap water before use. After 24-48 hours recharge the pouch and repeat the process. Place the pouch in the aquarium filter so water passes through the pouch. Over time the resins will become coated with dissolved organic matter. When product performance declines replace with a new pouch.

Recharging Instructions: Dissolve 4 tablespoons (80 g) of non-iodized salt in 8 fl oz (240 ml) of warm water. Do not use boiling water. Soak the pouch in the saltwater solution for two hours and rinse in tap water. The pouch is now ready to re-use.

Compatibility: Nitra-Zorb can be used in freshwater aquariums containing aquarium salt and in Rift lake cichlid aquariums. Nitra-Zorb will not work in saltwater aquariums. The high level of salt prevents the ion-exchange process from working properly. Do not use Nitra-Zorb while medicating the aquarium.




Manufacturer Info

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Aquarium Supplies
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals (API) has been helping people take good care of ornamental fish for over 40 years. Their research and development scientists have advanced the care of fish with all-natural medications, stable bacteria for biological filtration, one-bottle test kits, consumer-friendly dosing caps and much more. They’ve received over 25 global patents for their breakthrough innovations in the aquatics industry. And they continue to look for ways to improve the fishkeeping experience for hobbyists. Research. Experience. Dedication to scientific, quality treatment for healthy fish. It’s what makes API the first choice of aquarium owners. API manufactures and sells hundreds of products across many different product categories, including aquarium and pond treatments, aquarium equipment, aquariums and fish nutrition.

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Nitra-Zorb Reviews



Average Rating
(8 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Great Product!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/26/2012 from SINGAPORE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: It reduces ammonia and nitrite readings significantly. I would definitely recommend this product for new established tank while it is cycling.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Wonderful

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/2/2010 from SANTA ANA, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: My nitrate levels were way too high via testing and this brought the levels to an acceptable level within an 8 hour period. I was very happy with the product. I like that you can recharge it and keep it in salt water storage while it is not in use.


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




nitra zorb

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/21/2010 from PORT CLINTON, OH UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I placed the packs between filter packs in my filters, within 24 hours you could see the water clear uop, and my fish were more active. after 3 days, I removed the packs, and tested the water, and the nitrates were down to safe levels, and no ammonia was present.


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




nitra zorb

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/4/2009 from JOHNSTOWN, PA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: It certainly removed the ammonia from my 29 gal. tank! However, even though I thought I'd rinsed it thoroughly before use, it clouded the water and only repeated water changes gradually cleared the tank after I'd removed the pouch from the biowheel filter. I don't think I'll use it again unless I get an ammonia spike.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




NITRA-ZORB IS TERRIFIC !

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/1/2009 from GEORGETOWN, TX.
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: AFTER TRYING 4 OR 5 ITEMS ON MARKET TO REMOVE MY EXCESSIVE AMMONIA FROM MY FRESH-WATER TANK, I FINALLY BOUGHT NITRA-ZORB. I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN IT FIRST, OVER A MONTH AGO. IN 24 HOURS MY AMMONIA WENT DOWN TO ALMOST 0.5 FROM A HIGH OF 6.0. NOW I KNOW WHAT TO USE IN THE FUTURE. THANK YOU, NITRA-ZORB.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good product for emergencies

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/2/2008 from SAN DIEGO, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The product works as advertised reducing levels safely. There are chemical additives that can do similar "de-tox" duties but in a bad emergency this is priceless. I keep a couple of these on hand "just in case". I got this specifically to deal with emergencies in establishing higher bio loads on breeding grow out tanks. I'm sure that it would serve well as an aid in establishing a new tank also. When I add fish to a tank if I notice the tank starting to overload the bio-filter I can use the pillow to help stabilize while the filter adjusts to the new load. I have noticed that the very *first* use sometimes does not perform quite up to the levels expected so I tend to soak in the "recharge solution" (salt water mixture) before the first use which seems to work nicely. The recharge time is quick and so it's not a big deal. Overall worth the peace of mind and it's definately rescued me from a couple of accidents (loss of power killed the bacteria in a cannister filter, etc)


8 of 9 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Faster removing phosphate inst

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 11/30/2007 from FREMONT, CA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Need to be careful when using this item when your goal is removing nitrite. It'll remove the phosphate from your aquarium faster than removing the nitrite. After I carefully wash the media before adding to my filter, I reduce the amount of food also to help reduce the nitrite. But instead the phosphate has decreased faster than the nitrite. My nitrite level has stayed in the high while my phosphate has dropped to neutral level.


2 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Working well!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/18/2007 from TULSA, OK UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: After approximately one week of use, the product seems to be working quite well. The nitrates in our tank were high enough that is was causing the fish to flash. Now the level has been cut significantly and my fish are much happier. NitraZorb couldn't be easier to use, simpy lay the bag in your bio filter and then soak in aquarium salt to discharge the gathered nitrates from the media and replace. One of the best API products I have ever used.


10 of 10 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Nitra-Zorb Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Nitra-Zorb

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Oct 30, 2014
"Best price on the internet. Shop here!"
morgandollar1

Oct 29, 2014
"Great item, good selection, always fast delivery & competitive pricing."
Daddo

Oct 27, 2014
"Easiest online fish supply retailer to order from and customer service is always excellent."
Brian

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.