Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
Expires in 00:00:00
In-Stock! EcoTech Radion XR15w PRO LED Light
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » HOB Power Filters  » Under 30 Gallons  »  Aquarium Pharmaceuticals RENA SmartFilter 30 (Hang-on-Back Filter)
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals RENA SmartFilter 30 (Hang-on-Back Filter)

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals RENA SmartFilter 30 (Hang-on-Back Filter)

This item has been discontinued
Item #:
AP7413

Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals RENA SmartFilter 30 (Hang-on-Back Filter) Information




Features:
  • Up to 30gals
  • Three sizes available 10-20, 20-30 and 30-55 Gallons
  • Mechanical, chemical and biological filtration from 4-sided cartridges (4X the cleaning power) with Bio-Chem Zorb™
  • Universal replacement cartridges – one size fits all. The Power of “1, 2, 3”
  • Revolutionary caddy with ease of access and drip-reduction cup
  • Unique motor rack that can be removed from the filter without removing the main lid of the filter
  • Dosing port for water treatments and medications
  • 4, 8 & 12 Bio Chem Stars (included) added for superior biological filtration and slotted in unique towers
Benefits:
  • A filter for the vast majority of HOB filter usage
  • Brings the superior filtration of a canister filter to the back of the aquarium
  • Eliminates mess during monthly maintenance
  • Simple cleaning of an important part of the filter.
  • Allows for accurate and thorough dispersal of aquarium treatments & medications
  • Increases biological filtration



Manufacturer Info

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Aquarium Supplies
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals (API) has been helping people take good care of ornamental fish for over 40 years. Their research and development scientists have advanced the care of fish with all-natural medications, stable bacteria for biological filtration, one-bottle test kits, consumer-friendly dosing caps and much more. They’ve received over 25 global patents for their breakthrough innovations in the aquatics industry. And they continue to look for ways to improve the fishkeeping experience for hobbyists. Research. Experience. Dedication to scientific, quality treatment for healthy fish. It’s what makes API the first choice of aquarium owners. API manufactures and sells hundreds of products across many different product categories, including aquarium and pond treatments, aquarium equipment, aquariums and fish nutrition.

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals RENA SmartFilter 30 (Hang-on-Back Filter) Reviews



Average Rating
(0 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Easy to Install

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/12/2012 from DENVER, CO UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I like that the product was described well online. When I am unfamiliar with a particular brand and can't pick it up and look at it a thorough description goes a long way in my decision to purchase. The product was just as I expected and it arrived quickly. I am very pleased.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Tannins=GONE

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/7/2012 from FREDERICKSBURG, VA UNITED STAT
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I bought this to replace a 60g rated hang-on filter on my 20g planted f.w. tank. I had been battling w/ tannins from my driftwood for a full year w/o much success. after setting this up and running it for only 48hrs, the tank is now CLEAR. it is a bit noisy though, even after checking for and fixing an air leak. I guess Ill have to check again, but so far Id say its worth it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great design, AWFUL service

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 6/4/2010 from CHICAGO, IL UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: "It's the 1980's Jaguar of filters...great design, but you better own 2 because one will always be in the shop"I've owned the 55 for less than two months when the motor failed. I tried calling Rena for help, all you get is an answering machine. They called me back two days later and told me that I can box up the filter and send it back for warranty. I said "hold on, this is my filter, I can't run w/o for a week or more" I asked if I could buy a replacement motor or if they could do an advanced replacement, I'd happily have paid for that. At that point the manufacturer told me they "they weren't going to just ship out an expensive piece of equipment to me and if I considered my filter to be so important that I should own a backup."I've read on many sites that they have a great product unless it breaks, then you're just screwed because I feel that Rena doesn't care about their customers.I wish I could recommend this product, but having it fail in under two months and then being told I should have bought two is just unacceptable.


14 of 15 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Leaks when Dirty

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 4/2/2010 from Minneapolis, MN UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I bought the 30 gallon model and it worked fine for a couple of weeks (quiet and efficent). I even had it combined with their Smartheater which is a nice feature. The BIG problem I experienced is that when the filter media starts to get DIRTY and the FLOW is reduced then the water backs up and flows out the back SEAM of the filter onto the floor. I noticed others complaining about the same critical issue on other forums as well. I shut down the filter and tried to seal the entire seam of the filter with aquarium sealant to prevent this from happening again since I see no reason that yu would normally have to take it apart. If you buy this filter be SURE to check the filter media inside to make SURE it is not getting DIRTY and CLOGGING water flow on a regular basis.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




great heater

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/1/2010 from RIDGEWOOD, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Yes, I'm glad I got this filter. Does the job quietly and the price was good. Will get the heater that attaches to it.A good idea from Rena.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Product

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 11/17/2009 from FREDERICK, MD UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: It's okay but the feet that keeps it from tilting wont hold up I had to put cardboard between the tank and filter to keep it balance because once the water is in their it becomes too heavy...?


3 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Poor Design

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 8/14/2009 from ARLINGTON, VA UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This product lacks the rigidity (plastic is too thin) to allow the pump motor to work quietly. The motor has too much vibration which make for a very noisy sound during operation. I have used Eheim products which uses thicker plastic in their components. Thicker plastic in this pump would probably make a difference and not significantly increase the cost.


5 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




55 gal model

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 6/10/2009 from CARMICHAEL, CA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Larger than I anticipated, approximately 16” long. The 55 takes up more than half of my 36 gal bow front. In fact I had to significantly modify the tank and cover to make room for the filter. Overall the filter works well and has kept my tank very clean, but the noise and vibration comes and goes and is usually louder than our six year old a refrigerator.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Awful!

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 5/14/2009 from PAINTED POST, NY UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I used the Rena Smartfilter 20 on my 20 gallon reef and the thing leaked on a daily basis... The thing is designed so that the flow over the filter modules pushes the water up and over it and out of the filter box. Also, the filter cartidges are less than satisfactory. They filter mechanically, yes, but the chemical media is not enough to do anything worth speaking of. The biomedia is passed by almost all of the water and there isn't enough to do anything to an aquarium. The little "bio-stars" aren't very pourous and are placed where they get almost no flow. Plus with the plastic cross that separates the stars only one set of stars gets any flow at all, the rest are in dead spots... It wasn't even worth selling to another unsuspecting fishkeeper on eBay so I just trashed it... purely awful.


5 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Nice product

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/13/2009 from SEYMOUR, TX UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: using the 55 in my 29gallon, and i have to say its alot quieter than the aquatech i replaced and it filters twice the water per hour. The cartridges are easy to set up and are comparably priced to other brands. I noticed a large difference in water quality within a hour of changing them out. The option to have the heater as the inlet pipe is awesome, it really cleaned up the look of my tank and in my opinion gives a more uniform temperature across the tank. (my fish used to stay around the heater, now they could care less about it). All in all a really well built product, plan on getting another for my other tank. Price is a little high for a hang on but in my opinion its worth it.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals RENA SmartFilter 30 (Hang-on-Back Filter) Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Aquarium Pharmaceuticals RENA SmartFilter 30 (Hang-on-Back Filter)

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
July 21, 2014
"Excellent service and quick delivery. Will continue to do business with Marine Depot."
holguinsauto

July 19, 2014
"I appreciate Marine Depot's price matching. Keeps me coming back to them with my business."
Davileet

July 17, 2014
"Support quickly answered questions I had and the product was quickly shipped. I would definitely order from them again."
scott_hout