Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping
  • FREE Shipping
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE SHIPPING,
NO MINIMUM
99% of items now qualify for FREE SHIPPING in the contiguous U.S. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price to ensure you always pay the lowest amount when you shop with us. Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 2 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Dosing Pumps & Top-Off  » Electric Powered  » Plug-In Units  »  AutoAqua Smart ATO - Automatic Top Off System
AutoAqua Smart ATO - Automatic Top Off System

AutoAqua Smart ATO - Automatic Top Off System

Average Rating 4.5 32
Write A Review
Product Review
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AutoAqua Smart ATO - Automatic Top Off System
Name to display on the review:
Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:
How would you rate this product?
Review Title:
Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)
This item has been discontinued
Item #:
CV47286
Notify Me
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!


Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Add to Cart or Notify Me
This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.


Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.
Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.


Add to Wishlist
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price to ensure you always pay the lowest amount when you shop with us.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.
Price*
Shipping Cost*
Competitor's Website*
*Required information
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

AutoAqua Smart ATO - Automatic Top Off System Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Automatic Top Off System with Controller & Sensor in One

What is Smart AFS Technology?
The Smart ATO is a unique Auto Top Off system with a patent pending contact-less digital sensor that monitors and automates refilling evaporated water. Best of all it is very easy to install and contains no moving parts that can fail. Integrated with AFS (Auto Feedback Security) technology which provides real-time fail safe protection against failure. You simply move the outside controller to adjust your sump to a desired water level. It`s that easy!

*Mounts to Clear Glass or Acrylic sumps.

Max wall thickness: 1/2 inch (12.7mm)
Max distance for sensor: 1 inch (25.4mm)

Everything you need is included
  • Controller/Sensor
  • Power Adapter
  • Tubing with Universal Holder
  • DC brushless pump (Max. Height: 6.5 feet, Max. Flow Rate: 74GPH).
Features
  • Impossibly Small & Compact
  • Contactless Optical Water Level Sensor
  • NO MOVING PARTS!
  • ZERO CHANCE OF LEAKING VOLTAGE
  • Smart AFS(Auto Feedback Security) Technology
  • Very Easy Setup
  • Safely keep water & salinity levels (in Marine Aquariums) stable
  • Adapts to most aquarium/sumps with walls up to 1/2inch
  • 2-Year Manufacturer`s Warranty


SmartATO

SmartATO















AutoAqua Smart ATO - Automatic Top Off System Reviews



Average Rating
(32 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 4
Page


Wet eye fell apart

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 10/25/2015 from PACOIMA, CA UNITED STATES
2.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Ok works great I had it for about over a year now. The only problem I have right now is the wet eye inside the sump. It fell apart the magnet rusted and took it out in pieces. I had to order a new from coral vue


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




not highly recommend

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 10/23/2015 from Gresham, OR UNITED STATES
0.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I received my AutoAqua on 10/20/15 and by 10/23/15 it is already starting to fail. I have it installed on an Innovative Marine 10 Gallon NUVO Fusion Nano Aquarium. I had to cut out a portion of the black vinyl wrap so the control will work properly and put it in the 3rd compartment. Installation was easy as 1,2,3 and when I initially hooked it up, it worked like a charm. Assuming I worst was over, I left it alone. on the 21st I heard a loud trickling sound in the back of the box and noticed the "Smart ATO" was not smart enough to realize the water level had dropped well below the set level. I took it off the glass, cleaned the lens and reinstalled it and nothing. Took it of the glass for a second time, cleaned, realigned, plugged it back in and it worked, it filled to the set line. I had to work a double at the hospital so I was not able to check the tank since I last got the "Smart ATO" to work. I noticed the smell of what I can best describe as a curling iron, the smell of "hot", if that makes any sense. The water level had dropped just below the heater and high enough to still be pumping water into the tank. The heater, controlled by the apex jr was trying to heat up the air because the tank temp had dropped to 73.2. So once again the "Smart ATO" has failed and when I last left it it was working. This product is completely unreliable and I need reliable. A nano tank plus a busy schedule leaves very little time for unreliability. The salinity fluctuations and temp swing have really made some very expensive corals angry. I do not recommend this product for nano tanks because there is no room for perimeter shifts and so far this product fails the second your not looking.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Very easy and simple to use

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/10/2015 from Wellington, FL UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I've tried a couple of ATO systems and like this one a lot. I've had it for about 3 months now. Very simple to use, no moving parts to break, solid and quiet. Only reason I'm not giving it a 5 star is that it occasionally beeps and stops working for no apparent reason - I usually just unplug and plug back in and it resumes working fine.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/15/2015 from ALBUQUERQUE, NM UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Simple, reliable


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Super Easy Setup

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/12/2015 from MCALLEN, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I haven't had it running long yet but everything seems to be perfect. Super easy set up...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




excellent ATO

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/25/2014 from VANCOUVER, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Im using this with my nuvo fusion 20 for ATO from a 5 gallon bucket with RO water that has Thrive alkalinity added to the make up water set at 10 DKH .It keeps my DKH stable at 10 . set up was easy and keeps my water level right on thee mark.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/26/2014 from BROOKLYN, NY UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great little ato, keeps my nano water and salinity levels on point. Very smart design, tiny footprint: "just works", not too many parts or components - I swore something was missing when I unpacked, it's so few parts, but nope, it's all there in a tiny package. You do need to keep an eye on the optical sensor, if it becomes dirty or sits in a flow of water it may not sense accurately. To me this seems obvious but I like to keep a close eye on all the elements of my tank and equipment. Clean it routinely, check it often, then trust it when you need to (I've gone out of town a few times since installing and it's never let me down).


5 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Perfect for nano's

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/31/2014 from WINSTON SALEM, NC UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Match made in heaven for my open top 29g biocube. I had removed the stock hood on my biocube due to insufficient lighting and upgraded to max spect LEDs and since I've done the upgrade I've had to top off my tank everyday until now! Got this and it's been a piece of mind to know I don't have to worry about evaporation when I gone. I simply put the golf ball sized pump in a 5g jug and done. This set up is perfect and simple. And easy to set up. Thanks again marinedepot for quick and reliable shopping


5 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




It works okay have had problem

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 7/21/2014 from SALT LAKE CITY, UT UNITED STAT
2.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: It works sometimes, requires a lot of maintenance, cleaning off the sensor, and has overflowed my sump multiple times since I have had it (two months). Even though it has a safety off 'switch' it is a bit buggy. I would go with a tunze since they have a mechanical back up in case the sensor fails.


5 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great ATO

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/4/2014 from MOORPARK, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I just bought two of these and installed them in two sumps. It was very easy and straightforward to do. I installed the sensor above the water level I want in the sumps and I had let the water levels drop so I could make sure they turned off and on properly. They both turned on and turned off right where they should. I am very pleased. This will greatly reduce my worries when I am out of town.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 4
Page
WIN A RIMLESS AQUARIUM! Sign up for hot deals, helpful videos, and a chance to win an AquaMaxx tank in the size of your choice!*