1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Protein Skimmers  » Hang On Skimmers  » Venturi   »  CAD Lights Nano Pipeless Protein Skimmer
CAD Lights Nano Pipeless Protein Skimmer

CAD Lights Nano Pipeless Protein Skimmer

This item has been discontinued
Item #:
3X75100

Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

CAD Lights Nano Pipeless Protein Skimmer Information




NEW PLS-50 Nano Pipeless skimmer gives you BIG performance packed into a Nano body.

There are 3 key features together that are predominantly used and depended upon in larger Professional protein skimmers for high performance applications. These features include professional air-inection, pin-wheel impellers and bubble-plates. In the past, these features were difficult to fit into a Nano skimmer, but now with CAD Lights PLS-50 Nano Pipeless skimmer, you can take advantage of these BIG features in your Nano Reef.

CAD Lights (patent pending) pipe-less design eliminates all external control, ultimately maximizing the space saved in any chamber. Patented locking system to allow for precise adjustments to skimming level and locking it in place once you have found the sweet spot. Professional air injection that is normally found on larger advanced skimmers is specially designed into the CAD Lights PLS-50 Nano Pipeless skimmer. Air injection produces a much higher air draw as compared to Venturi or air-stone driven skimmers. High performance Pin-wheel impeller also increases the overall volume of air and bubble quality by “chopping” up the bubbles into even finer mist-sized and micro sized bubbles. This increases the overall surface area for dissolved organic compounds (DOCs) to attach onto the produced micro bubbles. Turbulence-controlling bubble-plate is also another feature that most large high performance skimmers have. The use of bubble-plates greatly reduces the turbulence inside the skimmer so that the direction of the bubbles move smoothly with minimal restriction and is built into the PLS-50 Nano Pipeless skimmer.

Features:
  • Patented Pipeless design
  • Patented Locking system for holding settings
  • Air injection Venturi
  • Pin-wheel impellers
  • 100% Aquarium grade Cell-Cast acrylic
  • Adjustable bracket
  • 3-piece assembly that is easy to disassemble
Specs:
  • Dimensions: 3.5" x 3.5" x 15"
  • Speed: 190GPH
  • Aquarium Capacity: 10G to 50G
  • 100% Cell-Cast acrylic
  • Easily disassembles in 3 pieces
  • Built in Professional Bubble-Plate
  • Lock knob for tension control and full lock
  • Sliding tank mount for adjustment
  • CAD Lights TIA Pro skimmer pump






CAD Lights Nano Pipeless Protein Skimmer Reviews



Average Rating
(3 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Excellent Nano Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/8/2013 from PATASKALA, OH UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: This is my first skimmer so take my review with a grain of salt...I have the skimmer set up on my 20L. The tank doesn't have a terribly large bioload with a pair of clowns. I have a good amount of zoanthids and some LPS in the tank as well. The skimmer is super small and doesn't take up much room in the tank. Noise: This skimmer seriously makes very little noise. I have to put my ear right up to the tank and I barely hear it. Setup: From unboxing to install on my tank was about 5 minutes. The skimmer doesn't come with instructions, but it wasn't too hard to figure out setup. I installed the skimmer to about 6-7" of depth. Dialing it in is easy. Just loosen the nut and rotate the body slightly until you hit your mark. By watching the water/ bubble levels in the skimmer you quickly find the sweet spot. It took me a little while to dial it in, but the skimmer was pulling dark, nasty skimmate within a matter of hours. There were some micro bubbles at first, but they went away quickly. It seems like each time I make an adjustment the micro bubbles reappear, but they have always gone away fairly quickly. Overall, I couldn't be any happier with this skimmer.


13 of 13 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Damn good skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/15/2013 from LAFAYETTE, LA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've built my own, bought various others but for this one is the best I've used by far. Just takes a little tweaking but worked right out of the box, make sure you tighten the adjustment knob or you can have foam spilling out of the cup. Wish it had come with instructions but there's a youtube video that shows you what to do. Simple, small and very effective. Not sure what the few bad reviews were talking about, no modding required. Planning on getting the larger one for my other tank.


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




LOVE this space saver!!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/1/2013 from BROOKLYN, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: got the PLS-100 5 months ago. worked great from the start and i was able to take out my previous ASM skimmer and freed up a lot of space in my sump. This little thing skims like a monster. I can't believe how small this thing was and had such strong skimming power. didn't need much instructions as the entire unit came fully assembled already. you just have to attach the air hose to silencer and then to pump. took me all of 5 min. and its ready. took me a little while to get used to the turning controls as opposed to my old skimmer which i got used to for 3 years. but once i got it down, it was really easy. for some of the people that mentioned the body raising up or separating. i find that lowering the water level down to 6" would keep it secure. But then I heard about the tension lock upgrade that CAD offers for free from their site and got one. I installed it on and it gives it much more control. I'm able to loosen or tighten the lock which makes the turns tighter or looser as I pleased. Also securely clamps the body to the base and keeps the skimmer in place even in 9" of water.  skims great and im only using 1/2 the space i used before. Those who have the separation issue, go get the lock mod so you can enjoy this awesome skimmer!


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great at first... Then...

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 10/26/2013 from MOUNT VERNON, WA UNITED STATES
1.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This skimmer worked great for the first 3 months, a little difficult tune but when tuned skimmed great. Then downhill from there, always out of whack, body lifts up to one side and can't be tuned. The body of the unit is basically impossible to clean. Look at a different brand


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Cad Lights Protein Skimmer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/19/2013 from Athens, OH UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Only had this up a week now. It is skimming very well, you will need to take you time getting it dialed in, remember this is a nano skimmer, so it takes a while to fine tune it. but as I said, mine is skimming, just need to fine tune it a little more. So as for a nano skimmer & for the price, I would recommend this skimmer! Just have patience! Hope this helps anyone looking for a nano skimmer.


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/15/2013 from JACKSONVILLE, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I purchased this skimmer to replace a Reef Octopus BH-50. The Reef Octopus is a great skimmer, but I had been searching for a higher capacity skimmer that would fit in my small sump under my 55 gal. reef for a while. This skimmer fit the bill perfectly! Easy to install, easy to adjust, it was tuned in minutes and beginning to skim within hours. Earlier reviews mentioned lack of documentation in the box, but there is a .pdf at the bottom of the product page, and there are Youtube videos to help you get started as well.


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Wish I sent it back.

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 10/11/2013 from Brenham, TX UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Product seemed like a great idea. Lots of bubbles. Quite. Small footprint. Fair price point. However, it will not hold a setting for more than a day. I either have a bubble volcano overflowing the top or no skimmate at all. Even with the Hoover 160 mod this unit will not hold the "sweet spot." Would not buy again.


2 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Sadly, not quite there...

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 10/8/2013 from Denver, CO
2.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've had my PLS-100 running on a 50 gallon reef tank for about 6 months now. I had really high hopes for it, and I really wish I could give it a higher rating... When it works, it works very well - but it fails too often for me, and when it does fail, it can be a mess (usually involving water flowing out the top and/or skimmate dumped back into the tank). Pros: It's a nice small size, is quiet, and produces lots of bubbles and a lot of skimmate. Cons: The adjustment can be very fussy, it's difficult to thoroughly clean because the skimmer body can't be taken apart, and it fails too often. Mine seems to fail in one of two ways: 1) The holes in the bubble plate are very small, and can clog easily. When this happens, the back-pressure from the pump can force the skimmer body to lift up off the pump base. 2) The water level is *very* sensitive to the amount of air bubbles in the mix, so if the air intake in the venturi begins to clog over time, or if the impeller collects some bit of debris and is not chopping up the bubbles as well, or if something even partially obstructs the air silencer input, the water level can go up rapidly - and you end up with water overflowing the collection cup and skimmate flushed over the top and into the sump. Sometimes this happens within days of a complete cleaning - one evening it's working fine, the next morning it's overflowing.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Disappointed

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 9/16/2013 from PRAIRIEVILLE, LA UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Bought this skimmer for my Nuvo 38 based on reviews. This skimmer has a nice design but creates tons of microbubbles and is so hard to dial in and keep running right. Pretty much useless to me. Maybe I got a bad unit. Would not purchase again.


0 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




The new king of nano-skimmers

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/30/2013 from MIDDLETON, WI UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: If you are looking for a skimmer for a nano-tank, stop reading and buy this now! I usually don't write product reviews, but I'm so happy with this that I must let others know. I've used the Tunze 9002 for 2 years, and it was previously the best you could get, but suffered from a few issues: 1. The air elbow intake would always clog, leading to decreasing performance over time. 2. It was loud. I have my tank in a bedroom and I can always hear the bubbling. Other than that, it worked decently. I also tried the Hydor Slim Skim Nano, which made nice bubbles, but was also somewhat loud and made my whole table shake with its vibrating pump. PROS: 1. This skimmer is almost dead silent (and I have very high standards for noise). 2. In addition, it creates vastly superior bubbles to the Tunze or the Hydor due to its needle-wheel impeller. Both of the others just feed air into a traditional impeller. 3. In addition, there are almost no issues with micro-bubbles once broken in. 4. Small, more of a square footprint than a long box as the Tunze was. Still bigger than the Hydor though. Cons: 1. Skimmer adjustment can be finicky. I have it running in a constant level sump, but even so, barely a 1/4mm turn in either direction can create too high / too low bubbling. 2. No way to clean inside skimmer body. I feel this is a huge oversight by Cad Lights, and I hope they fix it in future versions. both ends of the skimmer body are sealed with glue, so you must use a wire brush to clean inside. This is the only reason I'm knocking off 0.5 stars. In summary, you will not regret this purchase if you are looking for a quiet, robust nano-skimmer!


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
CAD Lights Nano Pipeless Protein Skimmer Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: CAD Lights Nano Pipeless Protein Skimmer

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Nov 24, 2014
"Shipping was easy and quick; customer service was great."
Junior

Nov 23, 2014
"Huge fan of the early online Black Friday deals!! Makes getting large purchases like a protein skimmer much more reasonable."
Noppy

Nov 22, 2014
"Always love the service and speed of receiving my product."
bush

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.