Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Substrates  » Dry Sand  »  CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb
CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb

CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
CS0932
Quantity:
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb Information




Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand:0.5-1.02 mm grain size. A Breakthrough! This uniformly graded oolitic aragonite not only provides nitrate reduction in shallower beds but also has an increase in pore water space which allows maximum diffusion rates of minerals and trace elements. The only oolite product suitable for plenum systems.

CaribSea Aragonite buffers to the highest pH and delivers more calcium, carbonate, and trace elements than any other substrate. Little or no rinsing required, aragonite keeps aquariums healthier, longer.




Manufacturer Info

At CaribSea we take aquariums seriously. Since 1972 we have supplied hundreds of public aquariums, zoos, aquaculture facilities, public and private institutions, and hundreds of thousands of dedicated aquarists with the highest quality marine and freshwater products. CaribSea has been in the forefront of the principle that substrates are a piece of equirment, not just a decorative afterthought. Caribsea substrates are as precisely engineered as any piece of advanced equipment used by today`s hobbyists and professionals. CaribSea products are the chemical support, biological filtration, and biodiversity backbone for many of the most spectacular aquatic displays ever created. We are now celebrating our 35th year in the business, and our product line has continued to grow; making CaribSea your aragonite source and so much more.


CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb Reviews



Average Rating
(5 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Too Soon To Tell

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 6/16/2012 from Corvallis, OR UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I am adding to an existing 2" sand bed; this is my first addition of sand (I'm adding 1" a month until I have at a 4 - 5" bed. Any claims regarding water quality made by CaribSea will not be evident for some time and I hope to review those aspects somewhere down the road. However, the sand is beautiful in my tank; it is light and easy to work with. There are many opinions as to rinsing or not rinsing before use; I opted to not rinse as I wanted all the "buffering agents" present in the bag. I put the bag in the tank, sliced open the bottom and gently pulled the bag out of the water as I crossed the front of my tank. There was some cloud, but it cleared enough to see and work in the tank within 2 hours. By the next morning (10 hours later), you really couldn't even tell I had just added sand. There was no appreciable residue on anything. So, up to this point, I really like the sand for its appearance and ease of use and will be adding this same product for the next 1" layer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




picture deceiving

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 5/24/2010 from LOUISVILLE, OH UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: To be honest, the sand had a finer grain size than expected. I thought the bags might have been miss marked and was actually the surgar grain sand. One of your customer service reps pointed out the grain size clasification. I now see that there is an overlap in grain size between the two sands but I must say the picture for the Aragamax Select is deceiving. I know it is probably a Caribsea supplied picture but I would suggest a more acurate picture. I have not used the sand yet but I am affraid I will have problems with sand storms due to the flow in a reef Aquarium. We will see.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good Product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/4/2009 from LITTLE ROCK, AR UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I am impressed with the size grains of this product. It was just as I expected, and a good price for sand. Just add it to live sand, or add a cup or two of sand from an established tank, and you are ready to roll.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Sand

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/19/2008 from ANAHEIM, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Great sand uniform in size. Perfect for Reefs. Be careful when you add to your tank or add water on top. Reduce the slur by placing a bowl in the tank over the sand and pouring water onto the bowl


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Carib sea works great for me

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


5.0 5


Comments: I cant review this for salt as I use it for high ph African cichlids but helps with ph looks GREAT . No phosphate leaching,etc . Highly recommend it . Also marineDepot was great to deal with.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No



Accessories for CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb



CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: CaribSea Aragamax Oolitic Select Sand 30 lb

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 6, 2014
"Site is clear and easy-to-use. Product info very clear. Best price I found with free shipping."
Beej

Sept 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is the bizzomb."
jedimasterben

Sept 2, 2014
"Fast replies from experienced aquarists. Went well beyond expectations and provides quality products."
Filterless

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.