Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Freshwater Aquarium Supplies  » Plant Care & Fertilizers  » Gravel Substrate  »  CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb
CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb

CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
CS0770
Quantity:
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb Information




Caribsea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Contains Iron, Calcium, Magnesium, Potassium, Sulfer plus over 25 other elements to nourish your aquatic plants. Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate contains all the mineral nutrients needed for luziriant aquatic plant growth without nuisance algae! The Eco-Complete is Iron rich which eliminates the need for laterite and is also Nitrate and carbonate free which will not increase pH or carbonate hardness. There is no artificial dye, paint or chemical coating because it`s real! The Eco-Comlete also contains live Heterotrophic Bacteria to rapidly convert fish waste into natural food for your aquatic plants. The Eco-Complete also creates a natural biological balance which makes cycling in a new aquarium faster and safer. With it`s unsurpassed MacroPorosity for healthy roots and bacterial efficieny - you would have to buy 4 bags of ordinary gravel to equal the surface are of this one bag of Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium! Spherical grains for optimum diffusion performance.



Specifications

20-pound bag.


Manufacturer Info

At CaribSea we take aquariums seriously. Since 1972 we have supplied hundreds of public aquariums, zoos, aquaculture facilities, public and private institutions, and hundreds of thousands of dedicated aquarists with the highest quality marine and freshwater products. CaribSea has been in the forefront of the principle that substrates are a piece of equirment, not just a decorative afterthought. Caribsea substrates are as precisely engineered as any piece of advanced equipment used by today`s hobbyists and professionals. CaribSea products are the chemical support, biological filtration, and biodiversity backbone for many of the most spectacular aquatic displays ever created. We are now celebrating our 35th year in the business, and our product line has continued to grow; making CaribSea your aragonite source and so much more.


CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb Reviews



Average Rating
(15 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Ehh

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 3/17/2014 from GREENSBURG, IN UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Its an ok substrate, but for the price go get a bag of dirt and pool filter sand and you will have even more growth from you plants than with eco incomplete. After about 2 months all the nutrients are all used up so save the money and get something better


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Avoid! Raises pH. Kills Fish

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 2/27/2014
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been having problems with maintaining a stable pH of my water so I removed everything except the eco-complete, live plants, 4 otos, 4 wag-tails, 2 bamboo shrimp, and about 8 assassin snails, yet the pH keeps going up to 8.2. I did 50% water changes twice - 4 days apart, had the CO2 off during the entire time, and just had the filter and lights running as normal (I have an Eheim 2260 filter with coarse and fine polyester floss - mostly used for water clarity rather than biofilter). I have noticed White Rocks in the substrate since the beginning but I figured that since the eco-complete wasn't supposed to raise the pH, it didn't matter. Several fish have died and the only species surviving appear to be the ones that tolerate high pH, as listed above. I searched the web and saw that there was a problem with a contaminated batch in 2005 also with "white rocks" that also caused problems with another customer's pH. I purchased 160 lbs on November 27, 2012 from a local chain. I thought ecoComplete wasn't supposed to increase the pH; however, I suspect that this batch was contaminated. I tested the white rocks this evening with diluted muriatic acid and they fizzled like crazy. The other non-white rocks in the mix had no reaction, even after I increased the concentration, except for a smaller white rock that I missed when trying to remove all the white rocks so I could test the non-white ones. So, if you get this and notice white rocks in it, AVOID. Or, if you want to take a chance, at least test it with some dilute muriatic acid (you can find the concentration on the web when you search for "test rock safe aquarium muriatic acid concentration). I have contacted Carib-Sea to let them know and hope they can help me get the substrate replaced with non-contaminated stuff or at least something similar that won't kill fish! Will keep you updated of their response.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Avoid! Raises pH. Kills Fish

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 4/28/2013 from HOUSTON, TX UNITED STATES
0.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been having problems with maintaining a stable pH of my water so I removed everything except the eco-complete, live plants, 4 otos, 4 wag-tails, 2 bamboo shrimp, and about 8 assassin snails, yet the pH keeps going up to 8.2. I did 50% water changes twice - 4 days apart, had the CO2 off during the entire time, and just had the filter and lights running as normal (I have an Eheim 2260 filter with coarse and fine polyester floss - mostly used for water clarity rather than biofilter). I have noticed White Rocks in the substrate since the beginning but I figured that since the eco-complete wasn't supposed to raise the pH, it didn't matter. Several fish have died and the only species surviving appear to be the ones that tolerate high pH, as listed above. I searched the web and saw that there was a problem with a contaminated batch in 2005 also with "white rocks" that also caused problems with another customer's pH. I purchased 160 lbs on November 27, 2012 from a local chain. I thought ecoComplete wasn't supposed to increase the pH; however, I suspect that this batch was contaminated. I tested the white rocks this evening with diluted muriatic acid and they fizzled like crazy. The other non-white rocks in the mix had no reaction, even after I increased the concentration, except for a smaller white rock that I missed when trying to remove all the white rocks so I could test the non-white ones. So, if you get this and notice white rocks in it, AVOID. Or, if you want to take a chance, at least test it with some dilute muriatic acid (you can find the concentration on the web when you search for "test rock safe aquarium muriatic acid concentration). I have contacted Carib-Sea to let them know and hope they can help me get the substrate replaced with non-contaminated stuff or at least something similar that won't kill fish! Will keep you updated of their response.


2 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




eco complete black

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/27/2011 from Hyrum, UT UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I do like this product I only with it was All black. It is about 5-10% brown mixed in. But oh Well my plants dont care


1 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




eco complete black

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/27/2011
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I do like this product I only with it was All black. It is about 5-10% brown mixed in. But oh Well my plants dont care


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




discus king

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/26/2010 from ALBUQUERQUE, NM UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Eco-Complete is the most awesome product I've ever seen. My plants are growing out of the tank. I've already cut them back three times and I've only used it for 3 months.


22 of 22 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Excellent Substrate

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/5/2010 from ALABASTER, AL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great color and size. I really like that it had a few larger pieces of gravel in it, to give it a bit of variation. Doesn't cloud my water when anchoring plants.


5 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/20/2008
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Love the product! Great quality, and works great for plants!


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




GRREAT!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/5/2008 from FORT IRWIN, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: First time used it did cloud my water for about 1 hour max. Other than that is subtrate is absolutely great!.


7 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Eco-complete

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/14/2008 from BUENA PARK, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have now bought 6 bags of this stuff and I will be buying more in the future. My plants love this substrate and it is really easy for me to place the plants into it. It is ready to go right out of the bag just as it says. I would reccomend this product to anyone and Marine Depot's price can't be beat. Other places want around 30 dollars for this great product.


11 of 11 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate 20 lb

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 6, 2014
"Site is clear and easy-to-use. Product info very clear. Best price I found with free shipping."
Beej

Sept 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is the bizzomb."
jedimasterben

Sept 2, 2014
"Fast replies from experienced aquarists. Went well beyond expectations and provides quality products."
Filterless

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.