Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Substrates  » Live Sand  »  Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite
Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite

Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$17.99 to $64.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite Information




All New Ocean Direct™ Live Sand

Simply Natural – Enjoy this real Caribbean live sand in a breathable bag with no added chemicals or special processing.
Simply Effective – Ocean Direct™ is different than all other live sand products on the market. This live sand utilizes patent pending Sea Breathe laser technology which preserves real live sand with its own original bacteria. Every bag of Ocean Direct™ is alive and breathing with up to 1000 times more beneficial bacteria than other preservation methods. Every grain of Ocean Direct™ is coated with bacteria and encapsulated by capillary action in a thin film of real ocean water. The thin film is open to the atmosphere for unparalleled gas exchange. This results in high counts of natural and beneficial bacteria with no noxious buildup of metabolic y-products. Each bag includes a packet of Bio-Magnet™ clarifier to reposition the free floating bacteria to where they are most active; sand beds, surfaces of live rocks, and to biological filtration media. Ocean Direct™ provides you with a thriving, natural aquarium in minutes!

Simply Perfect – Ocean Direct™ supplies the perfect union of physics and biology!




Manufacturer Info

At CaribSea we take aquariums seriously. Since 1972 we have supplied hundreds of public aquariums, zoos, aquaculture facilities, public and private institutions, and hundreds of thousands of dedicated aquarists with the highest quality marine and freshwater products. CaribSea has been in the forefront of the principle that substrates are a piece of equirment, not just a decorative afterthought. Caribsea substrates are as precisely engineered as any piece of advanced equipment used by today`s hobbyists and professionals. CaribSea products are the chemical support, biological filtration, and biodiversity backbone for many of the most spectacular aquatic displays ever created. We are now celebrating our 35th year in the business, and our product line has continued to grow; making CaribSea your aragonite source and so much more.


Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite Reviews



Average Rating
(18 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Excellent

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/27/2014 from WEST MONROE, LA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I use this in already established and in cycling systems. This product is top notch and delivers without unwanted phosphates/nitrates/ammonia ect. This is an excellent product to add 1 week into your cycle and end the cycle in less than 2-3 weeks. 10 stars


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Too fine

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 2/27/2014
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Nice and white. Expect some displacement if you have a strong flow.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Look diffenent sand color

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 2/27/2014
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The picture of the sand in the internet complete different look from the actual item i received. Advise not to buy any sand unless you know what you get, i learn my lesson.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




BJ

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/20/2013 from DICKSON, TN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: VerY Good Product At A Good price.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




pretty sand/not for existing

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 3/14/2013 from HUMBLE, TX UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: The sand is nice but getting it into an existing tank is not so easy. I scooped some in my hand and gently placed it in the water. I think it disturbed my corals. Everyone just didnt seem as healthy afterwards.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




A++

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/14/2012 from NEW KENSINGTON, PA UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great quality, and beautiful live sand!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Live Sand

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/20/2012 from CARY, NC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I know a lot of people get burned by poor quality live sand and believing it will make a difference on their tanks cycle but this live sand is the real deal. You should always still let your tank cycle before adding critters, despite what many live sand marketing material says. However, this live sand made a huge beneficial impact on my tanks water quality in only 24 hours even though the tank had been cycling with a bed of lower quality live sand and some premium live rock for over a week.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Too fine

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/29/2012 from Alexandria, VA UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Nice and white. Expect some displacement if you have a strong flow.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Caribsea ocean direct live san

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/12/2012 from NEW SALEM, PA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great product ,very little cloudiness in water.I also like all your caribsea products that you sell. Thank you


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




80 LBS of sand

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/26/2012 from LA PORTE, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I bought 2 bags of this sand its awsome stuff. almost exactly same color as the pic a little for fine tho. Settled in about 3 to 4 hours. tried other sand but this is gonna be the best ive tried not gonna go anyother way


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 2
Page

Accessories for Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite



Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Oolite

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 12, 2014
"Great store with all the right supplies for the Reefer."
TCshore

Sept 12, 2014
"Very satisfied with all my purchases from Marine Depot. The ease of ordering to the prompt and quick delivery of merchandise, I am very pleased. Thank You!"
Phil

Sept 12, 2014
"Great site...I order most of my reef supplies from here. And they always have everything in stock."
Smitty

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.