Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Substrates  » Live Sand  »  Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original
Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original

Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$8.99 to $41.49
Add To My Wish List

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original Information




All New Ocean Direct™ Live Sand

Simply Natural – Enjoy this real Caribbean live sand in a breathable bag with no added chemicals or special processing.
Simply Effective – Ocean Direct™ is different than all other live sand products on the market. This live sand utilizes patent pending Sea Breathe laser technology which preserves real live sand with its own original bacteria. Every bag of Ocean Direct™ is alive and breathing with up to 1000 times more beneficial bacteria than other preservation methods. Every grain of Ocean Direct™ is coated with bacteria and encapsulated by capillary action in a thin film of real ocean water. The thin film is open to the atmosphere for unparalleled gas exchange. This results in high counts of natural and beneficial bacteria with no noxious buildup of metabolic y-products. Each bag includes a packet of Bio-Magnet™ clarifier to reposition the free floating bacteria to where they are most active; sand beds, surfaces of live rocks, and to biological filtration media. Ocean Direct™ provides you with a thriving, natural aquarium in minutes!

Simply Perfect – Ocean Direct™ supplies the perfect union of physics and biology!




Manufacturer Info

At CaribSea we take aquariums seriously. Since 1972 we have supplied hundreds of public aquariums, zoos, aquaculture facilities, public and private institutions, and hundreds of thousands of dedicated aquarists with the highest quality marine and freshwater products. CaribSea has been in the forefront of the principle that substrates are a piece of equirment, not just a decorative afterthought. Caribsea substrates are as precisely engineered as any piece of advanced equipment used by today`s hobbyists and professionals. CaribSea products are the chemical support, biological filtration, and biodiversity backbone for many of the most spectacular aquatic displays ever created. We are now celebrating our 35th year in the business, and our product line has continued to grow; making CaribSea your aragonite source and so much more.


Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original Reviews



Average Rating
(8 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Great sand

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/7/2014 from CARLSBAD, NM UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This is awesome stuff. its got a great range of sizes, as well as a multitude of various seashells parts and pieces. Of course its got its share of powder, so it takes a bit to settle, and should be added through a piece of 2" pipe.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Excellent variety

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/2/2012 from MERCED, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: The sand has a wide variety of textures and works very well for digging species.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Live Sand

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 1/13/2012 from MANSFIELD, OH UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: You MUST MUST prewash sand before placing in tank.. Bag says you do not have to.. Wrong, it will destroy your tank with a cloud.. I had to syphon it all back out after 4 days of mess, wash it, do 80% water cahnge and then put back in.. OK now, but I make a big mistake...


4 of 15 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Beautiful!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/26/2010 from MURRIETA, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The sand took a little longer than usual to "settle" down. Now that it has, it's beautiful. Nothing more to say. If you want it to settle quicker, just keep changing your floss twice a day until your tank is clear.


2 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Substrate

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/14/2010 from VACAVILLE, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This live sand is the great. Lots of noce small shells and makes not only a great floor base but nice to look at as well. Price is just right.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good sand

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/11/2010 from RALEIGH, NC UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This sand is very good for a low flow tank setup, as the granulars are sugar fine with a mix of small clam shells. It works great in my 7.5gallon pico-reef.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




LIVE SAND

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/5/2008 from ALBUQUERQUE, NM UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: The Best Buy for your money!! GREAT product and easy to use. Like the texture and color of sand. Kudos to Caribsea Ocean Direct.


2 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Amazing color

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/14/2008 from BETHLEHEM, PA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Great texture.


3 of 16 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Caribsea Ocean Direct Live Sand Original

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
April 13, 2014
"I'm satisfied with my purchase. Did comparisons and I was better off purchasing from MarineDepot.com."
wsalazar01

April 9, 2014
"Keep it up. Decent prices and quick shipping."
manny

April 4, 2014
"Very well organized. Price match option worked great."
slt11317

MarineDepotLive.com - Choose your Chalice