Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Additives & Supplements  » Calcium  » Kalkwasser  »  E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide 3.5 Lbs.
E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide 3.5 Lbs.

E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide 3.5 Lbs.

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
EV2102
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $26.99
You Save: $4.50 (16%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide 3.5 Lbs. Information




Calcium Hydroxide is the proven standard for maintaining calcium concentration and alkalinity in closed marine aquaria. The calcium provided is directly used by calcifying organisms, and the hydroxide ions provided readily convert dissolved CO2 into bicarbonate and carbonate ions, which are also directly used by calcifying organisms. The net result is no ionic imbalances in the aquarium water, which can occur through the prolonged use of other calcium supplements, such as calcium chloride. This product is extremely pure and meets American Water Works and Water Chemicals Codex Specifications. This means it`s pure enough to be used in low-levels as potable water additive by water municipalities. Due to the high pH of Calcium Hydroxide solutions, it`s important to add slowly ("dripping" is best) to your system so as to prevent localized precipitation and the resultant loss of alkalinity. Use two teaspoons of Calcium Hydroxide Powder per gallon of top-off fresh water.




Manufacturer Info

E.S.V. Aquarium Supplies
E.S.V. Aquarium Products is a Hicksville, New York based aquarium supply company that specializes in the production of aquarium additives and supplements. Their 2-part B-Ionic Calcium Buffer System is a staple in the marine aquarium hobby and is the company`s flagship product, earning favorable reviews and rankings from hobbyists of all levels of experience. Their additives are known for being affordable, easy to administer and chemically sound. E.S.V. recently released a spray dried phytoplankton that eliminates the need to culture live phytoplankton. Granular activated carbon, coral glue, salt mix and various other supplements round out their product offerings.
+ Display More

E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide 3.5 Lbs. Reviews



Average Rating
(16 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


great value

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/18/2014 from Rochester, NY UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This a great company they are the same people that make b-ionic they know what they're doing excellent quality


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great value

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/18/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This a great company they are the same people that make b-ionic they know what they're doing excellent quality


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Electonic Eng

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/8/2013 from BROKEN ARROW, OK UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The calcium and alkalinity is perfes and the PH is 8.31.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




esv calcium hydroxide

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/16/2012 from CLINTON, OH UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This is a great product it keeps my calcium where it needs to be with the correct dose this is some powerful stuff so read carefully!!! And it also helps with my ph I had trouble with keeping my ph above 8.0 and now its steady at 8.25 can't complain!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




esv calcium hydroxide

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/16/2012
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This is a great product it keeps my calcium where it needs to be with the correct dose this is some powerful stuff so read carefully!!! And it also helps with my ph I had trouble with keeping my ph above 8.0 and now its steady at 8.25 can't complain!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




good product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/14/2011 from SANTA ROSA, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: better than most brands i've tried in the past. disolves well with minimal residual. highly recommend it


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/9/2011 from OCALA, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: great stuff i have 200 gl.reef tank it last about 6 mounts


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




ESV Kalk

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/17/2011 from PEMBROKE PINES, FL UNITED STAT
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Good stuff!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great with B-Ionic 2Pt.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/1/2009 from PARAMOUNT, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have a 180 gallon Reef tank and this product really works great with the B-Ionic 2-Part Calcium Buffer. The Calcium Hydroxide is a perfect match for the 2-Part. I have never had my corals look so good. Please note that a review stated that the ESV Calcium Hydroxide is not the correct product. It is the real deal because Calcium Hydroxide is Ca(OH)2. Ca(OH) does not exist as a solid. One calcium ion (Ca++) has a double positive charge while a hydroxide ion ([OH]-) contains one negative charge. This means 2 hydroxide ions must be coupled with the one calcium ion to balance the charge.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




wrong

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 2/26/2009 from PENDLETON, OR UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: product its actually calcium dihrydroxide there is a difference. Ca(OH) is calcium hydroxide this is Ca(OH)2 itll cost me as much as the thing cost to return it.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page

Accessories for E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide 3.5 Lbs.



E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide 3.5 Lbs. Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: E.S.V. Calcium Hydroxide

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 28, 2014
"I did have to return one defective item once and Marine Depot was very responsive and replaced the item no questions asked."
Chris

Sept 26, 2014
"The selection was everything I needed or could want. The pricing was comparable if not even better than other online ordering sites."
Faris530

Sept 19, 2014
"I ordered yesterday and paid for regular shipping and I got my stuff this afternoon 24 hours later!"
John Chang

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.