Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Chemical  » Carbon Media  »  E.S.V. Granular Activated Carbon 3.5 lb
E.S.V. Granular Activated Carbon 3.5 lb

E.S.V. Granular Activated Carbon 3.5 lb

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
EV2211
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $32.99
You Save: $9.00 (27%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

E.S.V. Granular Activated Carbon 3.5 lb Information




Our Granular Activated Carbon based on bituminous coal provides the best combination of pore size, large particle size, high surface area, low ash, and hardness for chemically filtering aquarium water. In addition, test results indicate no leaching of phosphates. The high hardness level of this carbon prevents the dispersion of particles throughout the aquarium which can occur with softer grades of carbon. The large particle size facilitates water movement through the carbon and helps prevent the removal of planktonic food organisms via mechanical filtration.

The new carbon has a smaller particle size of 8 x 30 mesh (new) vs 4 x 8 mesh (old). This gives a higher surface area, resulting in faster and more efficient absorption of organics. If using a media bag, we recommend a 300 to 500 micron ( 50 - 35 mesh) bag. The carbon meets American Water Works Association and Food Chemical Codex requirements.

Specifications:
  • Molasses Number: 225
  • Iodine Number: 1050
  • Hardness Number: 92
  • Usage: 1/2 cup per 40 gallons (1 cup per 40 gallons for tanks without protein skimmers) replace monthly.
  • Weight: 3.5 lbs




Manufacturer Info

E.S.V. Aquarium Supplies
E.S.V. Aquarium Products is a Hicksville, New York based aquarium supply company that specializes in the production of aquarium additives and supplements. Their 2-part B-Ionic Calcium Buffer System is a staple in the marine aquarium hobby and is the company`s flagship product, earning favorable reviews and rankings from hobbyists of all levels of experience. Their additives are known for being affordable, easy to administer and chemically sound. E.S.V. recently released a spray dried phytoplankton that eliminates the need to culture live phytoplankton. Granular activated carbon, coral glue, salt mix and various other supplements round out their product offerings.
+ Display More

E.S.V. Granular Activated Carbon 3.5 lb Reviews



Average Rating
(27 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 3
Page


crystal clear water

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/6/2014 from KERMAN, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: What can i say, im new to the hobby. I was researching for some really good carbon. Decided to go with this one. Does a great job, my water is crystal clear.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/17/2012 from ARKANSAS CITY, KS UNITED STATE
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I was very happy with the quality of this item. super excited thanks


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/17/2012
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I was very happy with the quality of this item. super excited thanks


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




ESV

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/6/2011 from ROUND LAKE, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: LOVE THIS CARBON. HARD TO FIND BUT WELL WORTH IT.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




GOOD Stuff

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/1/2011 from MESA, AZ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: How do you really evaluate carbon? I can say that my water is crystal clear. The rinsing of the carbon seems to be no worse than other that i have tried. I use this carbon in a MR-1 reactor. I use ESV when they have a product for my need. I can say without a doubt that i have used 80% of their products and my tanks inhabitants like them ALOT.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




GOOD STUFF

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 2/23/2011 from NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ UNITED STA
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: EASY RINSE, NO LEACHING


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good ol' trusty carbon.

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/29/2010 from RIVERSIDE, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I had been using Chemipure for the past 3 years on my reef tank, but then I got sick of the annoying filter bags. So I upgraded to a reactor (fluidized the carbon) and this carbon has been great. Water is crystal clear. It's just annoying to have to change it every month.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Not bad for the price

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/27/2010 from NASHVILLE, TN UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: ESV carbon isn't a bad product for the price. There are cheaper options but my water has stayed crystal clear using it. The only downside is the size of the grains. They are VERY SMALL and easily slipped past my filter and some got into my display tank! It took forever to dip them out without taking half my sand with it. After putting it into a carbon filter bag, it was great. No real complaints!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Activated Carbon

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/6/2010 from CUMBERLAND, RI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: After checking around for prices I found this site for the lowest price on this product. Delivery was on time as scheduled. Very satisified with product.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




???

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 1/29/2010 from ROYAL OAK, MI UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Wow, I can't really believe all these reviews are real. First off this carbon is NOT the cheapest solution. For the same amount of money you can get slightly more HydroCarbon. HydroCarbon is a better carbon. You could also get about the same amount of Marineland Black Diamond carbon for even less than this. Marineland Black Diamond is a better carbon although not as good as HydroCarbon. Both HydroCarbon and Black Diamond are better and cheaper options.


4 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 3
Page
E.S.V. Granular Activated Carbon 3.5 lb Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: E.S.V. Granular Activated Carbon

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 28, 2014
"I did have to return one defective item once and Marine Depot was very responsive and replaced the item no questions asked."
Chris

Sept 26, 2014
"The selection was everything I needed or could want. The pricing was comparable if not even better than other online ordering sites."
Faris530

Sept 19, 2014
"I ordered yesterday and paid for regular shipping and I got my stuff this afternoon 24 hours later!"
John Chang

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.