Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Powerheads  » Adjustable Flow  »  EcoTech Marine VorTech Propeller MP20 Pump
EcoTech Marine VorTech Propeller MP20 Pump

EcoTech Marine VorTech Propeller MP20 Pump

This item has been discontinued
Item #:
EM1121

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

EcoTech Marine VorTech Propeller MP20 Pump Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

The MP20 from EcEcoTech Marine has revolutionized reef aquarium propeller pumps. Ideally suited for aquariums smaller than 70 gallons, the MP20 produces unmatched broad yet gentle flow while placing the motor outside the tank—preserving the beauty of your aquarium and enhancing the health of your tank’s ecosystem.

With all the electrical components outside the aquarium and a variety of easy-to-program modes, the VorTech is the safest, most versatile pump on the market. And, if your tank needs to grow, the MP20 can be upgraded to the MP40w providing you wireless communication between your pumps and even more functionality and flow.

Operational Modes:
  • Feed Mode: Slows down your pump for 10 minutes to allow you to feed your aquarium.
  • Constant Speed Mode: The pump runs at a constant speed you set based on your aquarium’s specific needs.
  • Reef Crest Mode: Simulate the high-energy conditions of a natural reef crest environment.
  • Lagoon Mode: Simulate a calmer, lagoon reef environment.
  • Optional Battery Backup: Keeps the circulation going during power failure for up to 30 hours.
MP20 Specifications:
Appropriate Tank Size: 20 to 70 gallons
Dimensions:
  • Wet Side: 3” diameter by 2.25” long
  • Dry Side: 3” diameter by 2.25” long Flow: 500 to 2,000 gallons per hour
Power Consumption: 6 to 18 watts
Aquarium Wall Thickness: 3/16” to 3/4”
General Operating Temperature: 20-30º C
Maximum Motor Temperature: 50-60º C
Clearance Needed Behind Aquarium: 3”

Upgradeable to the MP40w by buyinga special upgrade kit


Installing the VorTech from ecotechmarine on Vimeo


Making a Wave from ecotechmarine on Vimeo


Assembling the Wet Side from ecotechmarine on Vimeo


Setting the Pin Spacer from ecotechmarine on Vimeo


Opening the Driver Box from ecotechmarine on Vimeo.




Manufacturer Info

EcoTech Marine has revolutionized the way people think about water movement in reef aquariums. Our technologically superior pumps produce unmatched broad yet gentle flow, while placing the motor outside the tank—preserving the beauty of your aquarium and enhancing the health of your aquarium ecosystem. The EcoTech leadership team consists of aquarium enthusiasts and engineers with a penchant for challenging the status quo. When EcoTech took root in the science labs of Lehigh University and University of Oklahoma, we realized there were serious differences between the native aquatic ecosystems in nature and the terrestrial habitats created in aquariums—and that little was being done to address this gap in the marketplace. Since that day, we have worked tirelessly to improve the “state of the art” to enable our customers to have the healthiest, safest and smartest aquarium possible. That’s why our products offer a wide variety of easy-to-program modes and have been thoroughly tested and endorsed by marine-biologists—making it the most versatile and life-like pump on the market.

EcoTech Marine VorTech Propeller MP20 Pump Reviews



Average Rating
(22 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 3
Page


mp 20

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/7/2010 from Galveston, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Exactly as advertised. High volume gentle flow with great settings and features. The setup couldn't have been easier. I also love the quietness of the thing. I really couldn't be happier with it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Vortech MP20

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/24/2010 from MELROSE, MA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: LOVE THIS THING!!! This product is worth the money. You won't regret it... paying Quality over Quantity! I will upgrade to a MP40w with new driver in the future. I have this on my 34g Solana


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




MP20

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/3/2010 from HAYMARKET, VA USA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I was looking for a waterpump/flow system that was variable and wanted to reduce the clutter of mutiple powerheards in my 95 gal tank. The MP20 does both of these things very well. The set up was easy, but you need to play around a bit with it to ensure free flow, so placement away from obstructions is paramount. The control head programing is fairly simple and upgradeable, which brings me to a point. I didn't look closely enough at the water flow rates before purchasing and the MP20 is a little light for a 95 gal tank, but it's "almost" there. So to fix my dilemma, I have ordered the upgrade controller to transform the MP20 to an MP40. That being said, the product is great, and with the MP40 head, I can do wireless controll and add features as a I choose. I would recommend this product.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Nice

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/31/2009 from GATE CITY, VA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I really like the flow control. It offers various natural water movements. No added heat.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Ecotech MP 20

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 12/13/2009 from BELMONT, CA UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very disappointed with the quality control of the Ecotech Marine VorTech.The first MP20 had a short in the low voltage connection to the control modular. The second replacement had the power wire to the motor pulled out of the base of the control box and it looked like it was used..... The third replacement ok.Will wait and see.I would not recommened this product.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Yes Please.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/14/2009 from IOWA CITY, IA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Before this pump I had a couple different powerheads in my tank to try to create random flow and it was not working. I purchased the MP20 to help and it did. I was able to take 3 powerheads out and my corals are loving the flow. Everything in my tank has done better and grown bigger. Ecotech makes a great product that does a great job of replicating natural random flow. Yes it is a little expensive but it is sooo worth it. Plus they have awesome customer service.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Awesome!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/19/2009 from SAN ANTONIO, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This product moves all the water in my 30 gallon Finnex tank. I am glad I made the investment in this pump. If you are thinking about it, stop stalling.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good product but...

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 8/13/2009 from MILL VALLEY, CA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Pinwheel setup is on dry side -- separate 2 large pieces and remove thin rubber disk to expose marks to align to power cord per the thickness of your tank wall. Once installed, it put out nice flow but motor was annoyingly high-pitched and whiny when fully throttled. Lots of modes to choose from yes but is it worth paying $300 for this? In my humble opinion, no. The Hydro Magnum 7's put out MUCH more flow at half the cost plus super quiet.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




LOVE IT

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/14/2009 from SAINT LOUIS, MO UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have a 55 gal tank so was concerned if the MP20 had enough power. The flow easily carries from one side to the other - obviously a little less flow on the opposite side but based on how I have my corals arranged its fine. I only have the pump turned up 3/4 of the way set on Reef Crest. The other settings were interesting as well but I preferred this for my tank. I left a Koralia 1 in the far top corner just to be sure I had enough movement. That's all I need in my tank for great results.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Love It!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/23/2009 from LAUREL, MD UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Although a little pricy it works as advertised, very easy to program, and looks great in the tank (no ugly power cord). I think I will end up getting another..two of these working together? ...mama mia!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 3
Page
EcoTech Marine VorTech Propeller MP20 Pump Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: EcoTech Marine VorTech Propeller MP20 Pump

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
April 13, 2014
"I'm satisfied with my purchase. Did comparisons and I was better off purchasing from MarineDepot.com."
wsalazar01

April 9, 2014
"Keep it up. Decent prices and quick shipping."
manny

April 4, 2014
"Very well organized. Price match option worked great."
slt11317

MarineDepotLive.com - Dazzling WYSIWYG Corals