Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $75+
  • FREE Shipping On $75+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $75
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $4.99 and most orders over $75 ship FREE. Learn More
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price to ensure you always pay the lowest amount when you shop with us. Learn More
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Canister Filter  » Under 100 Gallons  »  Eheim Classic External Canister Filter 2211
Eheim Classic External Canister Filter 2211

Eheim Classic External Canister Filter 2211

Average Rating 4.5 81
Write A Review
Product Review
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Eheim Classic External Canister Filter
Name to display on the review:
Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:
How would you rate this product?
Review Title:
Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)
LOW STOCK ALERT: Only 2 left—order now!
In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
Notify Me
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Your Email:
Add to Cart or Notify Me
This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.
Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

+ Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Qualifies for Free Shipping!
FREE Shipping Promo
MarineDepot.com offers FREE standard ground shipping via UPS on orders of $75 or more for orders containing non-overweight or oversize items (orders which do not qualify for our FREE shipping promotion will still be shipped at a discounted rate).

Terms and Exclusions:
  • Offer valid only on orders shipping within the contiguous United States. Orders shipping to Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Guam or other US Territories do not qualify for this promotion.

  • This promotion does not apply to items requiring expedited shipping, such as refrigerated products, frozen products or live rock.

  • MarineDepot.com's FREE shipping promotion does not include products sent in oversized or particularly heavy boxes. This may include but is not limited to aquariums, canopies, chillers, external water pumps, metal halide magnetic ballasts, stands and substrate/sand. These items may be subject to additional shipping handling charges. Should shipping surcharges apply, they will be noted on individual product pages and / or displayed during check-out. We will, however, pay a portion of the shipping charges for these orders.

  • Shipping surcharges, such as special handling are NOT covered under the MarineDepot.com FREE shipping promotion.

  • Shipping charges for returned merchandise is non-refundable. Please read MarineDepot.com's Return PolicyPolicy for more information.

  • Price matched (Low Price Guarantee) or discounted orders do NOT qualify for our free shipping promotion.
15% off Black Friday Sitewide Sales Event
Use Coupon at checkout: BLACKFRIDAY2015
Valid From 11/20/2015 - 11/30/2015 11:59 PM
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price to ensure you always pay the lowest amount when you shop with us.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.
Shipping Cost*
Competitor's Website*
*Required information
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Eheim Classic External Canister Filter 2211 Information

On the market for years and proven millions of times, the EHEIM classic range has become the basic model in the world of EHEIM external canister filters, yet still features perfect pump output, filter efficiency, maximum running smoothness, and endless continuous operation.

The EHEIM classic one-chamber design allows for the greatest flexibility in media set up for biological, mechanical, chemical and adsorptive filtration.

  • Suitable for aquarium sizes up to 40 US Gal
  • Permo-elestic silicon sealing ring fixed on the pump head for easy and safe closing after cleaning
  • Equipped with filter sponges and/or loose filter media
  • A balanced pump output to canister volume ratio ensures optimum conditions in your aquarium.
  • With their low power consumption these models set standards in this class.
  • Many different accessories
  • Fine, coarse, and carbon pads packed with ehfimech & ehfisubstrat
  • Power consumption 5w
  • Weight 7lbs
  • Dimensions: 4.3" x 11.4"
  • Outlet Hose Diameter: 0.35"/0.50" (9mm/12mm)
  • Inlet Hose Diameter: 0.50"/0.65" (12mm/16mm)
High quality accessories from the EHEIM range allow this filter to grow with your needs and guarantee long-lasting enjoyment of your hobby.

Manufacturer Info

Eheim Aquarium Supplies
Eheim is one of the most well known and respected brands in the aquarium industry. Their reputation for producing high quality equipment at affordable prices goes back decades. The brand has a loyal following due in large part to Eheim’s reputation for producing reliable, efficient products. The company develops products that recreate the natural habitats of aquatic animals on a smaller scale. In our store you’ll find a variety of Eheim water pumps, filters, filter media, powerheads and feeding tools.

Eheim Classic External Canister Filter 2211 Reviews

Average Rating
(81 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 9

Save hours of searching :)

Reviewers Rating Excellent!

Posted: 11/10/2015 from WINTER GARDEN, FL UNITED STATE
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert

Comments: When I was about to purchase this filter, I was undecided and was tempted on the fluval fx6. However, after much consideration and after reading reviews, I finally decided to buy this one. It seems to me that the fx6 had more equipment malfunction than the eheim 2262. (perhaps due to the technology involved… microchip) There is a difference between this 2262 and the 2260, the 2262 has an upgraded pump of an out put of 900 gallons per hour, no media included. the 2260 has media included. Now, when I unboxed it, My first impression was, "I paid all that for this"? Mind you, it seemed as if it was literally a 5 gallon plastic bucket. Then, I actually thought about the design and materials I was looking at. Nothing seemed to appear cheap. It is made of basically the best materials out there with modern technology, just like the box states. Imported from Germany, like the Volkswagen Jetta, there must be a premium to pay. I looked through all of the components (including the lingering seal) to make sure none were missing or broken. It was a 5 star. Instructions were okay, I just had to glance at the diagram to build it. It took me a while to realize the tubing had to be cut in order to attach the green tubes. The less complicated the less that goes wrong, It is a non stop workhorse that will never over heat, simply because it is run by a magnet. The type of Media can be bought at your liking. Just pack in 5 gallons of what you prefer (I would research Biome Ultimate). using poly-fill to divide sections, better yet buy the poly cushion square and cut a 12x12 inch circle to divide the media. If its too thick, just split it in half with your hand. I did not want to buy a filter with uv, Instead I wanted the uv system by itself. Its like comparing a camera, to a cell phone camera. Now, If you have a large tank 400+ I suggest looking into a combination of filters. A 3 stage pond filter (without uv) will work perfectly as an extra back up to this. Or the main unit instead of this. laguna power flow 5000 waterfall is a perfect example. It cost a little more than an fx6, But is stupidly simple and easy to clean. (It is huge to say the least) Just add a pump, Highly recommend buying biohome ultimate( buy cheaper at… greatwaveengengineering). keep filter high above the tank, connect hoses to the outputs if you do not want the waterfall, or plug outputs if you do not want a strong water flow pump. For a planted tank, This would be a substitution to a sump, or the eheim, Depending on your tank size. some people hate the noise of sumps, tubing, leaking, others are concerned about black outs. some pond filters may leak. The goal is to look for simple but efficient equipment :) Ps. Careful on the sand you buy, as some may cause increase in PH. If you can add hardy plants, do so please, It will only help. Do not worry about activated carbon, (could be perhaps as controversial as UV) It is useful to have in case of medication use or smell, but not excessively vital. Don’t forget the poly-fill, or similar pre compacted polyester. :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

2262 - Still the BEST!

Reviewers Rating Excellent!

Posted: 5/15/2015 from Saint Louis, MO UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert

Comments: German fit and finish, this is the very best! I've owned the Fluvals, etc. and this is far and away the superior product. Spend a bit more and get something that will outlast and out perform anything else out there. The upgrade pump for the #2262 amps up the output significantly making the filter a much better performer. Only complaint: Spare parts can break the bank and are hard to find.

1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No

Have Four Of Them!

Reviewers Rating Excellent!

Posted: 5/3/2015 from Brookville, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert

Comments: I have four Eheim 211s on Mr. Aqua nano aquariums, and they perform quite well. I only need to clean them twice a year, because I also micron filter my aquariums weekly with a Magnum HOT 250 canister filter. I own several filters including both canister and HOBs, and I have always found the Eheim 2211 to be one of the better canister filters on the market. They are very durable, whisper quiet, and given their diminutive size easy to handle when it comes to cleaning them. Highly recommended.

2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory

Posted: 1/13/2015 from New York, NY UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert

Comments: I had EHEIM filters before but obviously the quality of product and service has gone down the gutter. I bought the 2115 in May and it worked well for a couple of months and now I had to replace more parts than it is even worth. And the costumer service is lacking - The website has no useful information since they transfer you to the contact page in Germany (good luck getting an answer there) and the calling number in North America(in Canada, not the US)is full of my messages they never answer. I am tired of poor service and worse customer service. Get another brand because this one is done.

7 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No

Only filter you need

Reviewers Rating Excellent!

Posted: 6/27/2014 from ROCKAWAY PARK, NY UNITED STATE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert

Comments: Awesome! Easy set up, easy start up, dead silent running! Eheim quality never disappoints! Super happy with this filter!

3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No

Dead quiet

Reviewers Rating Excellent!

Posted: 6/21/2014 from SEASIDE, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner

Comments: Using it on a 55 gallon freshwater and so far so good. Instructions are poor but a little common sense will get you through installation. Really easy to clean, and it is virtually silent.

6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No

eheim 2217

Reviewers Rating Excellent!

Posted: 5/4/2014 from GARDNER, KS UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate

Comments: Dead silent. Quietest piece of equipment I have on my 40 breeder (except fanless led light). Have to touch it or watch water movement to know it is on. It is sitting under the tank. Stand is 36 inches tall and still moves plenty of water.

4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No

Works Great

Reviewers Rating Excellent!

Posted: 12/16/2013 from AMARILLO, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate

Comments: I'm using it for my Chemi-Pure Grande filter pack on my 250 gallon salt water tank. It works perfectly!

1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No

Good product terrible shipping

Reviewers Rating Average

Posted: 11/22/2013 from CHARLESTON, WV UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate

Comments: It's an eheim classic, proven design and works great when it isn't packed horribly shipped to you and has a hinge chipped off of it. Eh I'm sure it will work fine but ill think twice before ordering anything heavyish from here again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Good Value

Reviewers Rating Great

Posted: 3/17/2013 from WINDERMERE, FL UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate

Comments: I have previously utilized a canister filter as a sump water vacuum. Yes I said vacuum. I recently setup a Nano Reef aquarium (with live rock in the sump) and was in need of a way to remove detritus. I find the Eheim nimble enough to allow me sufficient maneuverability i.e. it is not too large to obstruct my access (lean over the canister) to my sump. The discharge and input tubing us soft enough to permit flexing to access all parts of my sump. I would have given this product 5 stars but find the pump motor a bit underpowered.

5 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No

of 9
Please make a selection 
WIN A $350 RO/DI FILTER! Sign up for our best deals, how-to videos and your chance to win an AquaFx Mako RO/DI!