Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
KEEPCALM Coupon
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Canister Filters  » Over 100 Gallons  »  Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter
Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter

Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter

Item #:
Please make a selection
Model#
Quantity:
$399.99 to $469.99
Add To My Wish List

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

This latest Eheim design incorporates all the great features, Lock Clamps, Self Primer, Shut-off Valves for hoses, multiple Media Baskets, plus an exciting new electronic Touch Pad Control system that offers the following options:
  • Output Flow Control, 6 adjustable levels and 1 MAX flow setting
  • Constant Flow Rate, when set at one of the 6 adjustable levels, the electronic controls monitor the flow rate and adjust the output to maintain a constant flow rate.
  • Bio Stream function, will alternate two different flow levels for wave function providing a more natural environment
  • 12 hour Bio function, will alternate two different flow rates in 12 hour cycles. For Planted Aquariums, we recommend having a higher flow rate at night to help oxygenate the water.
  • Service Indicator will monitor the cleaning cycle and indicate the time remaining until the next cleaning.
  • Auto Air Out, electronic program will eliminate any air that accumulates under the motor head
  • Electronic error management indicates any irregularities and attempts to rectify the problem.
Also new is a top layer “prefilter” to mechanically clean the water and lengthen cleaning cycles for the Ehfimech and Ehfisubstrat media. Media is not included with filter.

Specifications:
  • Max tank size: 105gal
  • 1650 L/Hr
  • Hose Diameter: 0.65"/0.90" (16mm/22mm)
  • Media Trays: 3
  • Volume: 6.6L
  • Head Height: 7.9"
  • Dimensions: 10 1/2" x 10 1/2" x 18 3/4"
Media Package includes 1 coarse pad and 4 fine filter pads made specifically for the 2076 and 2078 Eheim 3e filters. Additional filter media is needed.




Manufacturer Info

Eheim Aquarium Supplies
Eheim is one of the most well known and respected brands in the aquarium industry. Their reputation for producing high quality equipment at affordable prices goes back decades. The brand has a loyal following due in large part to Eheim’s reputation for producing reliable, efficient products. The company develops products that recreate the natural habitats of aquatic animals on a smaller scale. In our store you’ll find a variety of Eheim water pumps, filters, filter media, powerheads and feeding tools.

Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter Reviews



Average Rating
(11 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Eheim 2078 Po3e

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/20/2013 from DEKALB, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Eheim directions require patience because each step is in multiple languages.This filter works great, it is quiet and polishes the water to crystal clear/clean results. Priming- Mark the outside of the canister with a permanent marker for a fill line (water). Fill the hoses prior to connection to the hard plastic tank tubes (close hoses with shut off, before connecting). I stuck 3M plastic hooks on the side of the tank and used plastic ties on the Eheim tubes so they may be "hung" from the hooks while doing water changes. Or allow Eheim to self prime (when the canister is pre-filled with water). Paper towel dry the power connection before connecting. Priming should be fast with little effort. After a year my priming handle broke. Eheim's assistance was quick and they sent out the complete priming assembly, with directions, honoring their warranty. Thanks Eheim.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




eheim 2078

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/7/2012 from MIAMI, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: easy to set up , clean and run . keeps water very clear . i have to reduce output so water is not splashing in tank . very efficient , does a good job . just set it up and let it do its thing .


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Best Filters Bar None

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/24/2012 from BRIDGEPORT, CT UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: For over 30 years I've relied on eheim filters for build quality and performance. From my experience they trump any other brand - period. The eheim pro 3e is no exception, this is the third one I've bought, my other two have been performing flawlessly since I first set them up years ago. Eheim is one of the few manufactures that actually tests the flow rate of their filters using sound wave technology. Simply put transducers send sound waves through clear un cycled water. The time it takes for the sound waves to travel through the out flow, and the testing meter converts the speed to data which results in guaranteed flow rate. The 2074 has a maximum flow rate of 394 that's without media so expect to loose roughly 30%. It's prefect for tanks up too 90 gallons - although personally I believe in doubling filter performance and would say this is a fine choice for up to a 55 gallon - without supplementary filtration being needed. The canister holds an ample 1.96 or roughly two gallons of filter media. Like all eheim filters this is where you really see a benefit pay off in bacterial filtration because there's such an abundance of room for healthy nitrifying bacteria to grow. It's the nitrifying bacteria that converts dangerous waste to nitrates, stabilizes the tank water and fends off lethal ammonia spikes. Another plus is the Pro 3E 2074 includes 1 liter each of eheim Mech, Substrate pro and bioMech which are all among the best quality media made by eheim. With larger eheim filters, such as my 2080 and 1200XL the media kits have to purchased separately and those alone run about $180 per kit per filter. Most ehiem media can last indefinitely so it pays for itself in the long run. Getting all the media you need along with the filter makes purchasing the 2074 that much more affordable. The filter comes with everything you need for quick set up and installation - right out of the box. It's fully adjustable flow rate makes it effortless


5 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Eheim 2078

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/22/2012 from WALNUT, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: i was really hesitant at first of getting the new generation of eheim filters due to various reviews stating that they leak and flow was weak but i havent had either issues. it's only been up about 2 weeks but i am happy i bought this filter. i have it on a 90 gallon. water is clear however i did have to turn the flow down to about 75% power due to the flow pushing around the fish too much.


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Eheim 2076 3e

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/19/2011 from VANCOUVER, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've been a very satisfied user of Eheim filters for over twenty years, and this Professionel 3e Electronic is the best I've used so far. I appreciate its large media capacity and the ability to modify the flow rate. It is well built and I am quite satisfied with its performance. If its service life matches that of my older Eheims, I will be very, very pleased indeed. Time will tell. So far it looks good!


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Awsome Filter

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/9/2011 from CHICAGO, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I am loving this filter, some things I am noticing about the filter - the model I received was in fact the 2078 / 700… The 700 is the newer revision of this series that also includes the USB port which can be used to monitor the flow through the “Eheim USB interface” on a computer. As a result of using this USB interface, I have found that the flow is hampered once you have the filter media in place. I am using older (but well cleaned) substrat pulled out of my Eheim filters I had prior to this new one, so perhaps that has something to do with the poor filter flow (gph). So far the highest I can get the gph to be is about 216 gph by using the manual method. But otherwise it would seem the best I can do through the 12/12 hour mode is a high of 196 gph and a medium of about 156 gph. I guess the true flow measured by the rates reported in the manual is while the filter is empty. I am using this filter on my 115 gallon salt water, I had previously used a 2229 wet/dry & 2026 continuous flow. This new one is so quiet and so far very solid. It was filled with all the substrat and efi mech out of the other two filters – so it’s about the same size as those other two filters now in one. Only disappointment is the flow, I was expecting 400+ gph, but it’s about half that. I am not sure if the hose length has something to do with it – I am also using a turbo twist 18w on the return end which I am sure plays a role in its reduced water flow. I am testing out a daytime reduced pace to give it a slow flow through the UV filter and a higher full power pace at nighttime. The wavelike flow option is really cool too which I may in the end decide use


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Poor Turnover Made Well

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 3/21/2009 from WEST HAVEN, UT UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I can not in all honestly rate this filter anything more than average, because it simply does not perform as claimed. It is well constucted and the features such as, self primer and adjustable flow rate etc do all work. It is also very queit which is nice. However I was very disappointed with the flow rate. I put this filter on a tank with just water. No fish, no substrate, just pure clean water, and measured the flow rate at just about 180 gallons per hour. The manufacturer claims 435 gallons per hour! Can you imagine what the flow rate will be after say two months on an established tank? Probably half that. So if you have a tank around 55 gallons or smaller this filter should work great. Anything bigger and you need to look elsewhere. The eheim is overpriced for the performance. I haven't decided if I'm going to keep it. As I'll need supplemantal filtration to get the turnover rate I need.


14 of 21 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




EHEIM PROFF 3E FILTER

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/18/2009 from MILLER PLACE, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: GREAT FILTER EASY TO USE AND EASY TO CLEAN... Keeps tank crystal clear.... a++++


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Worth the money!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/9/2009 from JEFFERSON, MD UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have a turtle tank w/ 2 10yrs opl red eared turtles,75gal tank,filled up with about 55-60gal.I had two Hagen AquaClear Powerfilters each 70gal hanging on both sides of the tank.Those had Biofilters and ammonia filters… worked ok if I bought the filters for the 110gal filter instead the 70gal filter. This worked for a while and then the water started getting green in 2 weeks.Every 2 weeks we had to dump all the water, clean everything, fill it up & do the whole thing again in 2 weeks. We moved and the new place for the turtle tank is getting a lot of sunlight.Sure enough,the water got green in less than 4 days.That was it! I decided to invest in a canister filter and researched what’s out there.Eheim Prof.3e had the answer to most problems people shared to have with older models canister filters,that would include priming,when to clean,noise and other small things that can get to be a hassle.I decided to spend the extra money and get the 3e! I installed it easily but it couldn’t prime because as I said earlier I have turtles and the water level is much lower than what Eheim needs to prime.I have one of those tank bottom cleaners (a hose with a hand pump on one side).I plugged in one end on the cleaner into the suction tube of the filer, and pumped water up, while my husband was priming.Finally it started.However if I turn it off to clean it,since there is still water in the hoses it starts without any such troubles!!! The water turned green at the end of the first week of use,and then miraculously became crystal clear at the end of the second week(I guess that was the time needed for the bacterial cultures to colonize the biofilter).It has stayed clear ever since, now about 2 months.I only have to add water to the tank.Hooray! Turtles are dirty animals!They need a filter for a volume 3 times their tank!So after 2 months I only have 1 more left according to the indicator until I have to clean it! But 3 months is great compared to 1-2 weeks :D


4 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




greeat pump

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/1/2008 from ROSHARON, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: purchased this pump for $355.00 I think it was a great purchase real quiet. put on a 75 gal tk.crystal clear in 3 days. I love it.


20 of 24 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page

Accessories for Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter



Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Eheim Professional 3e Electronic External Filter

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
March 15, 2014
"Price was good and everything arrived packed well and on promised schedule."
thomasstephen

March 13, 2014
"I received my lights with one broken. I called the 800 # and they shipped me a new light that day, no questions asked. Great service."
jason-47785

March 9, 2014
"When looking for things that need exact measurements, like plumbing, Marine Depot makes it very easy with detailed graphics and explanations. Videos are a very nice touch and have helped me a lot on my reef upgrade."
pipicaicedo

MarineDepotLive.com - Choose your Chalice