1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Aquariums  » Nano Tanks  » Kits  » Tank with Lighting  » 20-29 Gallons  »  JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube Aquariums
JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube Aquariums

JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube Aquariums

Item #:
Please make a selection
Style:
Quantity:
$389.99 to $701.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube Aquariums Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

JBJ introduces the newest innovation for the popular 28g Nano Cube Series. Our new LED illumination system is now offered in two different models to accommodate mid to low light corals with our “Intermediate” and high light demanding corals with our “Professional” series! Our LED lighting delivers the power of halides and the broad coverage of T5 lighting with over 10x the lifespan. It requires less energy consumption, is cool running and offers beautiful shimmering while being eco-friendly.

ADVANCED FEATURES

LED Illumination
High intensity LED lighting offers the ability to dramatically increase PAR (Photosynthetically Active Radiation) which designates the spectral range from 400 – 700 nanometers for the growth of photosynthetic organisms while lowering energy input.

24 Hour Light Cycles
Our new canopy offers around the clock illumination all powered by individual power cords.

Time to Change Lamps?
Impressive 50,000 hour lifespan with a 30% reduction in output. You won’t need to change lamps for at least 10 years*

  • Based on 10 hours a day
Going Green Safely
LEDs do not produce any ultra-violet radiation that is harmful for living organisms and do not contain any toxic mercury that is harmful for the environment. These solid state components are extremely durable and prevent accidental lamp breakage through handling associated with fluorescents. Consuming less energy puts less greenhouse gas emissions into our surroundings….

Beautifully Efficient
Since LEDs turn on to full brightness without having to warm up, you can instantly light up your aquariums without the wait. These revolutionary diodes radiate heat upwards and away from the water to reduce unwanted heat transfer that can be detrimental for aquarium livestock.

Integrated Cooling System
The secret to our cool running top is our artistic canopy which houses an efficient aluminum heat sink for fast heat dissipation. All canopies are made from Flame Retardent ABS Plastic. The cooling fans automatically turn on/off with the main lighting system. A thermal protector is also added to automatically shut of the lighting system in the event the fans fail, it will automatically turn back on once temperatures reach safe conditions.

Easy Feeding
New feeding lid is lighter than the previous full front lid. It grants quick and easy access for feeding and retrieving water samples without lifting the entire hood.

Smart Filtration
The filter starts as water enters the center overflow. The water is directed into our 3-Stage Filter Media Basket, which is installed with a mechanical sponge, chemical activated carbon, and biological ceramic rings.

Our unique 3-Stage Filter Media Basket can host a variety of chemical medias to suit your needs. Cleaning is especially easy, since all you have to do is lift up on the basket handle and watch the water drain out the bottom for a simple and dry filter change. All baskets have a sliding door for added convenience.

Nothing to Hide
Our newly redesigned filter basket is now transparent for easy refugium conversions. Simply add macro algae (eg. Chaeto) into chamber one and chamber two. We recommend leaving the activated carbon in chamber three with a small piece of the mechanical sponge before the water exits to prevent algae clogging pumps.

Creating Motions in Captive Oceans
Our redesigned Ocean Pulse Duo now incorporates a memory chip for flawless performance after a power failure.

Your wavemaker creates turbulent currents for a more natural reef environment. You can set it from 10 seconds to 6 minute alternating cycles. Water is returned via (2) directional return nozzles on each side of the center overflow for even natural currents.




Manufacturer Info

JBJ is a top-of-mind brand name in freshwater and saltwater aquarium supplies. The company is committed to innovation and manufacturing only the absolute highest quality equipment. JBJ’s philosophy is "to create products that provide extra value" to hobbyists. JBJ produces hundreds of aquarium products including lights, filters, heaters, UV sterilizers, wavemakers and top-off systems. The company is best known for their affordable line of Arctica chillers and the best-selling Nano Cube aquarium series. We carry the gamut of JBJ products and accessories and are happy to provide you free technical support while you’re setting up your new equipment.
+ Display More

JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube Aquariums Reviews



Average Rating
(36 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 4
Page


JBJ 28-gal. Professional (Adva

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/15/2014 from METAIRIE, LA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This is a excellent system. Includes everything except heater & skimmer. Lights cycle through daytime/dusk-dawn/night perfectly; unit is extremely quiet; wave maker operates perfectly. My unit included the stand. Corals are growing very well! I would not have any other Biocube. I found JBJ's customer service to be knowledgeable, courteous, professional & efficient. My corals, fish, inverts & I adore this unit. I would NOT buy the lower-end model; ONLY the advanced model.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




JBJ Nano Cube Impressions

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 9/5/2014 from AUSTIN, TX UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Previously had a 75 gallon reef and wanted to get back into things but without going all out. After quite a bit of looking around and research, settled on the JBJ Nano Cube 28. I originally intended to buy the advanced but ended up going with the lower cost CF unit instead (I plan to replace the CF bulbs with a new set from Steve's LEDs). Light from CF bulbs is pretty good and would certainly be sufficient for fish and easy corals. In my 72-73F house, the tank ran around 80-81F with the CF bulbs on ~12 hours a day. I tossed the included filter basket and purchased the greatly enhanced (and much larger) one from In Tank media baskets. All in all, very happy with the tank - was well protected for shipping. Looks nice as well. The included pumps and fans make some noise - nothing terrible, but you probably wouldn't be happy with them in a bedroom. There are plenty of threads on replacing the stock pumps if you so choose.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Poor design, worse cust. serv.

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 6/9/2014 from NEWPORT NEWS, VA UNITED STATES
0.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The tank looks nice when set up but has lots of flaws. There is only one plug for the night and day lights so you have to manually turn them on and off. It defeats the purpose of having a surge protector with a timer built in. Lid does not fit tight and they dont offer enough access points into the back reservoirs. The cooling fans are loud. Also the tank starting leaking after 8 months. This leads to the worst part: JBJ Customer Service. You would think that since the leak was caused by a defect in their product they would claim responsibility and overnight a new tank so you can get it set up and running. No! Dont even waste your time calling the number on the website. No one answers. Instead you are put into an automated loop were you cant leave a message because the box is full. Second it took them 2 days to respond after i sent my email. Then i was shocked to here they would not overnight the tank. I could pick up the expensive tab if i wanted to but that is there policy. You cant find this policy anywhere on their website. When asked to talk to a manager (through email...still cant get them on the phone) the customer service person refuses. So my $300 plus dollars worth of livestock started to die. I tried to make a temporary home in a five gallon bucket but the stress was too much. JBJ doesnt care. You're better off buying a different aquarium - better yet, an aquarium from a DIFFERENT COMPANY!


7 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great all in one tank

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 3/13/2014 from San Diego, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great tank. Recommend a ATO for water evaporation a small fan to keep it cool. Power compacs run hot. I have mine with the in tank media basket upgrade, aquamax HOB skimmer, tunze ATO (the small $103 one),and tunze aquawind fan (slightly modified).


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Pretty Good System

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 9/11/2012 from FREDERICK, MD UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Lights are good and have a good look to them. The filter system needs some work. We had to add a skimmer and we decided to get the UV for the system as well. The ammount of ceramic rings for the biofiltration seems a light side. I feel like there should be some more rings to get enough surface area for the filtration. So depending on how long the cycle takes on the tank we may be adding some more rings to the filter. The return flow also doesnt seem to have enough velocity too it to produce a good current and sweep the detritus off the rockwork/ sand and future corals. We are most likely going to have to add a powerhead or two to have enough flow. Although with the wavemaker we could run the powerheads off the wavemaker in paralell with the return pumps and then get some good movement that way. All in all I think the system is good and only requires a few tweaks here and there to be great. But if it came perfect out of the box 1 nobody would be able to afford it and 2 it just wouldnt be as much fun if there wasnt stuff to mess with and modify.


15 of 17 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




JBJ 28 Gal Nano Cube

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/23/2012 from HOUSTON, TX UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The Nano Cube operates great. Got it setup in an evening and added live rock the next day.


3 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Aquarium

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/5/2012 from KERNERSVILLE, NC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I really enjoy the JBJ 28 gal. the lights are great. I couldn't believe how bright they actually were. I am very pleased with my decision to purchase. I have even now ordered a Coralife HQI 150W for my Biocube. I wish I had first came to you to purchase the JBJ 6 months ago when I bought the BioCube. Now I would have two JBJ's instead of one of each. Thanks again, Terry S jones


5 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




AWESOME SET-UP

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/17/2012 from ORANGE BEACH, AL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Everything came out the box perfect and ready to use.Functionality of rear compartment for Nano Zap and protein skimmer just made it better. I a totally satisfied so far.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Waiting on Stand

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/12/2012 from Norman, OK UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Have not been able to use it yet due to not receiving the stand. Still no shipping conformation.


3 of 13 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Decent All-In-One System

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/8/2011 from FOUR OAKS, NC UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I purchased the system with the metal halide lighting. First thing you need to now about this system is that all the stock pumps,the protein skimmer, media basket with media including the the foam chamber pads are ok. The 2 stock pumps are woefully inadequate and cannot do a proper job of circulating the water especially if you are keeping corals. Also buy the Tunze 9002 nano skimmer. I have read in a few of the comments that people felt for that the Tunze skimmer felt "flimsy" or cheap. I would have to disagree. The plastic is the same plastic material they use in their wavemakers and holds up well. . Yes, you WILL have to cut off the magnet on the Tunze skimmer to get it to fit into the central compartment in the back, but its a perfect fit. Also, you will need to replace the skimmer cup that comes with the Tunze skimmer because it does not seat right and will not go all the way down. Scroll down a few posts and go to the link someone had suggested, mediabaskets.com, and get yourself the small rectangle collection cup for the Tunze 9002. Fits perfectly. Also, there is enough room to fit 2 Marineland Penguin 100 water filters on the back, one on the left side and one on the right, both fit perfectly well in the same chambers the water return pumps are. Remember to remove the bio-wheels off those pumps for they are nitrate factories and you dont want that. There is no such thing as over-filtration.


24 of 25 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 4
Page
JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube Aquariums Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube Aquariums

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Dec 18, 2014
"I enjoy shopping at Marine Depot because of its selection of products and the prices are reasonable."
DJWally

Dec 16, 2014
"I will be buying from Marine Depot from now on."
Drew

Dec 16, 2014
"Good website had everything I needed and easy to find."
blm92

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.