Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $75+
  • FREE Shipping On $75+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $75
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $4.99 and most orders over $75 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price to ensure you always pay the lowest amount when you shop with us. Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 2 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Chillers  » In-Line  » 1/4 HP & Less  » with Built-In Controller  »  JBJ Mini-Arctica Chiller w/ Digital Controller 1/15HP
JBJ Mini-Arctica Chiller w/ Digital Controller 1/15HP

JBJ Mini-Arctica Chiller w/ Digital Controller 1/15HP

Average Rating 4.5 0
Write A Review
Product Review
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: JBJ Mini-Arctica Chiller w/ Digital Controller 1/15HP
Name to display on the review:
Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:
How would you rate this product?
Review Title:
Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)
This item has been discontinued
Item #:
JB1135
Notify Me
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!


Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Add to Cart or Notify Me
This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.


Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.
Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.


Add to Wishlist
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

JBJ Mini-Arctica Chiller w/ Digital Controller 1/15HP Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Gigantic News for Nano Hobbyists!

Enhancing the Nano-Experience
JBJ introduces the revolutionary MINI Arctica Chiller with NEW Digital Controller! Finally, there is a REAL long-term solution for heat concerns in Nano environments with amazing cooling capabilities beyond thermal-electric and fans, that produce less than minimal results.

The Mini-Arctica Chiller handles up to 40gal aquariums. Don`t be fooled by the smaller size. These are driven by energy efficient 1/15 Hp compressors that can drop temperatures beyond anything comparable in the market!

A Tradition of Excellence
You can be rest assured that this smaller compact version incorporates the same high performance and reliable day to day operations as our # 1 selling aquarium chillers, commercial chillers, and custom OEM projects with the premium Arctica branded name.

Screening Process
All chillers require clean air flow to achieve optimal efficiency, we`ve now made it easier with a removal screen for quick and easy cleaning.

A New Generation
The industry`s first Nano Chiller that utilizes a nano compressor for maximum cooling capacity. The Mini-Artica chillers simply put, OUTPERFORM thermal electric/peltier equipment since it utilizes R-134-A refrigerant gas to drop temperatures with ease. Truly the BENCHMARK of mini chillers!

Quiet... Please
We know noise is a concern, so we`ve designed the chiller with that in mind. The Mini Arctica Series have the lowest noise and vibration level in its` class.

NEW Digital Controller
Is equipped with an integrated digital temperature controller and probe with a +/- 1°F differenece from the set point. Smart Memory Chip restores to last set temperature after power failure. Auto IC Temperature Control System. Digital LED screen can easily be read day or night.

Temperature Setting Range: 32°F–99°F

Style & Elegance
Designed for in-home use, with a contemporary style and luxury finish. An added welcome to any room in the house without the commercial look.

Size Matters
The smallest footprint in the Arctica Line-up. The Mini Series only require a 7.72" x 12.6" space for placement.

Pump(s) or some way to circulate water through the chiller are required and sold separately.

Item No: DBI-050-D
Model: 1/15 HP Mini Arctica
BTU: 900 BTU/h
Amps: 2.0A
Voltage: 115V
Fuse Size: 5A/250V
Flow Rate: 110-160 gph
Dims: 7.7” x 12.6” x 14.1” (W xD x H)
Weight: 28.66 lbs
Water Connection: ½”
Capacity: Up to 40 Gallons
Controller:
  • Digital
  • Range: 32-99F
  • Calibration: Yes
  • Memory Chip: Yes
  • Constant Digital Display: Yes




Manufacturer Info

JBJ is a top-of-mind brand name in freshwater and saltwater aquarium supplies. The company is committed to innovation and manufacturing only the absolute highest quality equipment. JBJ’s philosophy is "to create products that provide extra value" to hobbyists. JBJ produces hundreds of aquarium products including lights, filters, heaters, UV sterilizers, wavemakers and top-off systems. The company is best known for their affordable line of Arctica chillers and the best-selling Nano Cube aquarium series. We carry the gamut of JBJ products and accessories and are happy to provide you free technical support while you’re setting up your new equipment.

JBJ Mini-Arctica Chiller w/ Digital Controller 1/15HP Reviews



Average Rating
(0 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 16
Page


Update - 3 years running...

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/1/2016 from Manhattan, NY
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I might have left review long ago - I'm back onsite ordering some odds and ends, but thought I'd leave an 'update" on the Arctica given its superb performance... I ordered this chiller (1/10hp) exactly 3 years ago (4/3/2013). I live in NYC and it runs during summer (Mayish-Sept), although WARM day today 79 degrees so it clicked on (see below). I would give this pump 100 stars if I could. ZERO problems, PERFECT temp control, VERY quiet...I live in a STUDIO and barely notice when it's on - and many times don't. Maybe I shouldn't but I leave the darn thing connected 24/7 365 set at ON 79 degrees OFF at 77 and just don't touch it but for 1x per year flush and cleanout. The thing just needs NO attention. As I said, today was an extra warm day in NYC. I was in NJ house sitting which years ago would have had me worried about not being home to watch over tank temp. But now, MEH. This chiller just does its job, perfectly, all the time. I came back to my apt at 6:30 pm, and sure enough, tank at 77.4 degrees, chiller humming softly, after not being touched (or chilling) since last August. It does its job. All the time. Every time. And does so quietly. 100 stars. I could not recommend a product more strongly or emphatically. After two 'nightmare chillers' of other makes before it, the Arctica was (is) a savior. To the folks at Arctica, kudos and thank you. Please for the love of GOD do not change anything on this chiller. Nothing. Leave it alone. No improvements needed. Hands OFF! Just keep selling it as is. My only 'concern' is that some day, way into future, it eventually gives up and I need a new one and it won't exist. I am half tempted to buy another and just stuff it in my closet. [N.B. Lest anyone think this is one of those 'paid reviews'that end up on the internet - MarineDepot has my email address on file. I'm happy to send them a dated photo of the chiller in action, in Manhattan, just as it has been for 3 years. And besides, how many 'paid reviewers' use nota bene?]


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




1/15 HP Quite Chiller A+

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/5/2016 from LAKELAND, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have had a few chillers over the years from the ones that sound like a jet plane to others that sounded like a fridge turning on and off. This one is truly amazing. I purchased this 1/15 HP chiller for a 40 Gallon tank... it brings down the temp from 81 to 78 degrees in under 30 minutes. I honestly do not hear it go on or off it's so quite. We have this in our den and it is seemless. I have had 1/10 version before and it was low noise as well. This is a must for anyone looking for a nano chiller.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Pretty happy...

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/1/2015 from SANTEE, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: First thing first, the product by its self works as advertised. It chills my tank down to 77 in no time and is definitely quieter then my AquaEuro Titanium which sounds like a plane taking off. When I think of a chillers, I really want it to do 2 things. Chill the tank to the desired temp (this gets a 5 out of 5) and be really really quite (I would say this a 4 out of 5, where 5 is you don't even know it is running) and it does both these very well! Now on to the service side of things. Out of the box I was missing the front grill, not a big deal, but wanted to get one so I was not looking at the metal cooling radiator. I emailed Marine Depot that evening about it and got a response the next morning pretty much saying , sorry to hear that, but we have contact the manufacture for you and that I would be hearing from them shortly. With in 2 hours after that I had a phone call from JBJ, not to discuss the grill was missing, but to just confirm the shipping address... Wow! They said it would take 3 days to get it... I got it the next day! Overall very impressed with both Marine Depot and JBJ communication and action! I would buy another JBJ chiller happily in the future just because I feel I will be taken care of down the road!


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




JBJ CHILLER

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/20/2014 from REDWOOD CITY, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Great chiller. Keeps my temperature set at 80°. Very quiet chiller. Easy to setup. My tank is doing very well with this chiller now that my tank has a dialed in temperature setting...Great buy....


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




time, system, location tested

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/22/2014 from Edgewood, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I received my 1/4 hp JBJ Artica chiller "used" as part of a 120g reef system "setup" in the summer of 2009 while stationed in NC. I have since used it on another 120 system, while in FL, and a 55 and current 120g system (90g display and 30g sump) while in WA. Despite moving with me to three different states and cooling 4 different setups (due to upgrade or Navy transfer) this chiller successfully maintained its desired temp as needed. I admit that although my FL and NC systems had MH lights, I kept my house temp at approx 74 degrees max (from what I can recall) so the chiller wasn't really tested. The real test was in WA where my 55 then (later upgraded) current 120g systems are located in my man cave which is a small house without AC. The house does get upwards of 89 degrees for hours on end on occasion during the summer but my chiller has been able to maintain the programmed temp of 79 degrees. I also second check the temp with two other thermometers to ensure accuracy as well as closely monitor with my digital aquatics reefkeeper. I intend to insulate the man cave as well as replace the windows in the near future so the chiller won't be so burdened during peak temperature days but as of now, this used, well travelled chiller has more than payed for itself by ensuring my expensive livestock (SPS, LPS, invertebrates, fish) live in a stable (temperature wise) environment and has done so for in excess of 5 years. Whenever this does crap out, I will definitely get the same brand.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Chiller 1/10

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/2/2014 from LAHAINA, HI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Arrived on time, easy 5 minute installation. Seems to perform Flawlessly with minimal noise. When the unit switches on The duration is approximately 15 minutes to readjust the temp. It may go on and off around 3 times during the heat of the day. Seems very well made.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




1-1/2hp

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/27/2014 from ELMHURST, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Awesome I use it on my cold water shark pool and it works awesome best chiller ever a little pricey but we'll worth it. It keeps my pool at 62 degrees f. I wish that you could have it be a 1 degree swing. Cause when I set it for 62 it lowers it to 61 and then turns on when it hits 63 so the temp swings 3!!!


2 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Awesome chiller!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/18/2014 from Florida
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This is my third Arctica chiller purchase. I have the 1/15, 1/10 and 1/4hp models. I have had other brands, but prefer this one. Super workhorse, very quiet (can hardly tell its running) and reliable. Easy to install and setup. Great warranty, too. Living in FL I need a quality product to keep my critters cool!


2 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




So much better than Current!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/19/2013 from Dayton, OH UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: LOVE this Chiller! VERY quiet (in my bedroom) but not quite "silent". Super efficient. Chilling cycles are super short. Only "issue" is I wish you could set the desired temp at half degree intervals instead of full degree. I use it on a 92 Gallon Bowfront Corner Tank that I modified by building an internal Nanocube style filter in the back corner to avoid drilling the tank and to be able to put it flushly into a corner of the room. SO much quieter than a Current Chiller I had been using. The Current chiller was about 5 years old, but I was very disappointed when such an expensive piece of equipment started putting dangerous amount of electrical current into the tank! I was in dire need of a replacement AND I got the 1/5 HP Arctica at the best price on the web with super fast delivery! Also, I highly recommend the Two Little Fishies Ball Valves - makes any necessary disconnections a breeze! Thanks Marine Depot!


3 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




So Far So Good

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/19/2013 from NAPLES, FL UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Received the Chiller and so far I'm very happy. Prior one didn't work from another manufacturer.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 16
Page
WIN AN LED AQUARIUM LIGHT! Sign up for discounts, video tutorials and a chance to win a 48-56" AquaMaxx NemoLight Light Fixture!