Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Inline & Specialty Filters  » Bio Denitrators  »  Korallin BioDenitrator Nitrate Filter S-3002 w/ Eheim 1048 Pump
Korallin BioDenitrator Nitrate Filter S-3002 w/ Eheim 1048 Pump

Korallin BioDenitrator Nitrate Filter S-3002 w/ Eheim 1048 Pump

Temporarily Out of Stock: ETA 4-6 weeks
Item #:
KL9113K
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $799.95
You Save: $294.46 (36%)
Qualifies for Free Shipping!
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

Korallin BioDenitrator Nitrate Filter S-3002 w/ Eheim 1048 Pump Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Feature(s):
  • Large internal volume with a small footprint
  • Optimal efficiency through high internal recirculation and fast Nitrate removal
  • Top-loading lid with detachable tubes for easy maintenance
  • No feeding liquid required!
  • Ultra-pure Sulfur (Sulphur) filling 99.9%
This revolutionary design makes denitrifaction easy and efficient. Feeding to the bacteria is not necessary; just put the unit into your system and let it run for a few weeks, denitrafication power will be activated once the unit is broken in.

The design is based around the C-1502 reactor and combine Sulfur (Sulphur) media with calcareous media to offer a high level of Nitrate removal. The recirculation method is far more efficient than simple single pass filters. As it includes reactor media, the pH is fully buffered and enriched with calcium before being returned to the tank.

With the build quality of the S-1501 reactor and recirculation, these offer very efficient nitrate removal. After a running in time of approximately 3-4 weeks (for the bacteria to colonize the chamber) this unit will, for example, reduce 100 liters with 50mg NO3 to 0 in 3-4 days.

Because this denitrator makes use of the design of Calcium Reactor C1502, once the nitrate problem has been solved, you can easily turn this denitrator into a Calcium Reactor with some additional parts (sold separately).

Comes with 1.6kg high grade pure Sulfur (Sulphur) and Calciumcarbonat.

Korallin S-3002 - Rated for up to 400 gal. Reactor height: approx. 28"; Diameter: 4.50"; Footprint diameter: 6.30"; Included filter media: 12lbs; Eheim 1048 Pump.

More Info:

The Use of Sulfur (Sulphur) Denitrators
Over the last few years, Sulfur (Sulphur) denitrators have grown in popularity in Europe from humble beginnings in public aquaria to being used in cutting edge integrated filter systems.

Existing Methods
Before we recommend a new process to customers, we make sure we have tested them ourselves on our own systems. We have long held the view that if you design a natural system with the management of nutrients in mind, nitrate and phosphate can be almost forgotten. But with all the best laid plans, you often end up with excess nutrients. These may be due to a higher load of fish or inefficiency in the system’s denitrification abilities. Either way; even the best systems can end up with a nagging 10-20ppm of residue nitrate. The options currently available to resolve excess nitrate would normally take the route of increasing water changes, adding more live rock, or increasing things like the deep sand beds or adding mangroves.

An option that many people have tried is the slow flow denitrator. These rely on anaerobic bacteria, colonising a suitable medium and the flow of water being slow enough, to become depleted of oxygen to create an environment they can thrive in. These bacteria will then multiply and consume the nitrate in the low oxygen water. If well set-up this method can be quite successful.

Enter Sulfur (Sulphur) Denitrators
Guy Martin from Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Rennes did the original work on fresh water treatments plants, although the science may pre-date this. The work was transferred to the marine environment and used by Michel Hignette, curator of the MAAO aquarium. A pilot project was launched. Since then the experiment was done on a much bigger scale, at the MAAO, as well as in the Grand Aquarium in Saint-Malo. All of these systems have been a great success and the systems have proved a real boon in large scale aquariums where the management of nitrate is often an after thought, when feeding displays stocked with large fish with voracious appetites. After these successes, there have been many Sulfur (Sulphur) denitrators added to private aquariums across the continent.
  • Simple to set-up and manage.
  • Needs no additional feeding with carbon based foods.
  • Works well without the cost of additional electronic control.
  • Will supply additional calcium to the tank when used as per instructions.
  • Units can be ran in series for management of higher nitrate levels.
  • Long lasting: up to 2-3 years.
  • Units can be easily refilled.



Manufacturer Info

Korallin
Korallin is a German based company who is a manufacturer of specialized aquatic components and accessories for the advanced marine aquarist.
+ Display More

Korallin BioDenitrator Nitrate Filter S-3002 w/ Eheim 1048 Pump Reviews



Average Rating
(46 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 5
Page


Expensive but really works

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/10/2015 from MANASSAS, VA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Included instructions are accurate but minimal, difficult to follow and no pictures. However youtube is easy to follow. I had been struggling with Nitrates for years with my 55g. Up and down, up and down. Installed the Denitrator on 1/6/15 with tank at 40 ppm Nitrates. After it cycled (which took about one week) steady slow Nitrate decline. On 2/10/15 Nitrates are at 5 ppm and continue to decline. Marked improvement in corals. And as the product advertises, the media helps buffer the pH although I still need to dose more Alk than I was before installing the denitrator. Overall I am extremely satisfied - solved the most stubborn problem for me with nitrate control. 5 stars for sure. Expensive but absolutely works perfectly and with almost zero maintenance.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Korallin Biodenitrator

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/7/2015 from MISSISSAUGA, CANADA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have had a saltwater tank for approximately 20 years. What would turn me off of the hobby were algae problems. It didn't seem to matter how many water changes and cutting down on feedings I did the algae problem was there. My tanks have been mostly 90 percent SPS and loosing a colony hurt. I picked up a Korallin Biodenitrator and ran it for 3 weeks before I noticed that my nitrate level was "0". I've never seen my tank look this good and I recommend this product. This is simply the best product that I have ever purchased for my tank.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Works with patience

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 2/25/2014 from UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I could write pages about this.. It's a complicated product for most. However it does work, it is effective. I have a few you tube videos on it. Part1 &2. They help out if needed.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Money wasted

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 10/12/2013 from READING, PA UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Ineffective. I made a DIY denitrator roughly 1.5 years ago. The PVC sulfut denitrator-the plans are in several places online- it was very effective but very sensitiv and the pumps pumping the watr to it were "cheap" and needed a lot of adjusting consistently-this was the reason for purchasing the Korallin. THe Korallin has had no effect and it's been up and running for roughly 8 weeks. Spend your money on better pumps and use the DIY denitrator-it actually works.


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/16/2013 from Merrillville, IN UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Wow it's can lower nitrate in 6 days to zero


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




THE BEST Piece Of equipment

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/21/2013 from CLIFFSIDE PARK, NJ UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have Red Sea Max 65 pretty heavy stocked I have carbon reactor ,gfo reactor, bio pellets reactor , I changed stock skimmer for expensive Deltec Internal Protein Skimmer MC500 for $500, I change water regularly Still my nitrates around 20 ppm some time little bit higher So I decided to spend some more, and buy this Korallin reactor I can tell you it works it almost hard to believe but it all shows light yellow consistently. The only advice is to follow instructions and in about a week or so I assure you you will see the results. I would say it is the best $400 I spent on the system.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




So far, not so good

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 4/8/2013 from BOTHELL, WA UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: So for a while I was getting 0 nitrates coming out of it, but in my 500 gallon setup the 4002 is just having no effect. Even though it is rated for a 700 gallon setup. I think I will had a second 4002 and see if that makes a dent.


0 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Wow!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/19/2013 from Los Angeles, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've been using this denitrator for about 4 years now on 200 to 30 gallon reef aquariums. All I can say is wow! My nitrates have remained at zero. I still perform regular maintenace and water changes. Well worth the money! It does take a little longer to start working on lager tanks. Expect to clean pump every 6 to 12 months, and break down unit every 1 1/2 to 2 year and clean. Clean or replace tubing every 6 months, keep tubing out of strong light or they will clog with algea. I now sleep better at night.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




0 Nitrates!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/12/2012 from CHESHIRE, MA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I have been running my Korallin BioDenitrator w/ Eheim 1048 Pump for 10 Months now. I don't remember what my No3 level was but it was high. I tried a fluidized reactor with biopellets (Reef Octopus)for a year and it did not work. After a couple of weeks with the Korallin BioDenitrator w/ Eheim 1048 Pump I was down to 0 Nitrates! 1 drip per second. I do use an air pump rather than siphonage, I keep it right on the same level as my sump. I did have a friend who needed a new home for his Lionfish before he went on vacation. I wasnt prepared to take it with me and aclimate it. I brought the fish home and left it in the opened bag in my sump and let the Korallin BioDenitrator w/ Eheim 1048 Pump drip into the bag. Dead Fish! rookie mistake just don't do what I did. Awesome Product.+ you can convert it later to a cal. reactor very nice.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




denitrator by Korallin

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 9/7/2012 from Lawrenceville, GA UNITED STATE
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Tried this product for one year. It does work to get to a zero nitrate effluent at about one drop per sec. I tried using a digital pump to slowly adjust the rate so as no maintain an anerobic state within the chamber. The highest rate I could get was 1.5 drops per second. This rate was too slow to drop the tank nitrates. My tank is a 90 gallon reef with nitrates getting as high as 80. Water changes would bring it down. I would need a drip rate of 4-5 drops per second to benefit the tank water. I used the smaller model. Maybe the larger one would give a higher rate.


2 of 10 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 5
Page
Korallin BioDenitrator Nitrate Filter S-3002 w/ Eheim 1048 Pump Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Korallin BioDenitrator w/ Eheim 1048 Pump

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Mar 16, 2015
"This is probably the best aquarium supplies on line store in the world!"
Boomer

Mar 13, 2015
"I truly love this place. The videos are what got me hooked."
Sean the Chef

Mar 11, 2015
"The best inventory and prices! If you have a problem with your tank or livestock, they are the people to call!"
Mike

Win a $100 Gift Card Sign up to get our best deals, expert tips and a chance to win $100 to spend at Marine Depot!