Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
Expires in 00:00:00
In-Stock! EcoTech Radion XR15w PRO LED Light
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Inline & Specialty Filters  » Fluidized Bed  »  Lifegard Aquatics FB-300 Fluidized Bed Filter
Lifegard Aquatics FB-300 Fluidized Bed Filter

Lifegard Aquatics FB-300 Fluidized Bed Filter

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
RB7631
Quantity:
MSRP: $82.31
You Save: $15.32 (18%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Lifegard Aquatics FB-300 Fluidized Bed Filter Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Due to its unique shape, the Lifegard Fluidized Bed Filter is an extremely efficient, high capacity "biological" filter. Aquatic organisms excrete toxic ammonia as a metabolic waste product with additional ammonia produced as food and other organic matter breaks down and decomposes. This toxic ammonia (NH3) is converted to another toxic compound nitrite (NO2) by the Nitrosomonas species of bacteria. The nitrite is then converted to a relatively non-toxic compound called nitrate (NO3) by the Nitrobacter species of bacteria. This process is known as "nitrification".

A "biological" filter is a vessel where nitrification occurs and soluble waste is removed. Beneficial bacteria attach to the media within the Lifegard Fluidized Bed Filter creating a thin film around the sand grains. Water is pumped up through the unit lifting the sand into a "fluidized bed". The beneficial bacteria attached to the media draw in dissolved wastes (ammonia and nitrite), oxygen supplied by Lifegard Aquatics' exclusive water fall device and other required nutrients from the passing water converting them to relatively harmless nitrate. The sand grains are in continual free fall through the water resulting in an excellent transfer capability between the liquid and the bacterial film on the media.

The enormously high surface area combined with this excellent transfer capability creates the perfect habitat for bacterial growth. In addition, the sand grains bump into each other frequently knocking off excess debris and providing a self-cleaning function which allows new areas for bacterial growth. The Lifegard Fluidized Bed Filter has been tested and proven to supply the highest level of effluent water quality and will respond quickly and efficiently to severe changes in ammonia levels caused by over feeding or the addition of too many fish at one time. To obtain highest water quality a Lifegard Fluidized Bed Filter should be part of the system.

Specifications:
  • Tank Size: up to 300gal (1140L)
  • Surface Area: 214ft2 (19.26m2)
  • Dimensions: 3" x 7.5" x 17"
  • Weight: 3lbs (1.35kg)
  • Filter Media Included



Manufacturer Info

Lifegard Aquatics Aquarium Supplies
Lifegard Aquatics manufactures and supplies a complete line of aquarium, pond, water garden and aquaculture products for the advanced aquarist, pond owner, professional landscaper or contractor. Their proven quality products include life support systems for salt or freshwater use in large or small aquariums, outdoor ponds, fountains and water gardens, as well as fish hatcheries or other commercial installations. Lifegard Aquatic’s product line features filtration units, ultraviolet (UV) sterilizers, pumps of every conceivable size and performance, automatic fish feeders, digital thermometers, filter media, Fittings, valves and other support equipment required for maintaining indoor or outdoor installations.
+ Display More

Lifegard Aquatics FB-300 Fluidized Bed Filter Reviews



Average Rating
(11 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


excellent

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/14/2013 from MIAMI, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Incredible lowering the nitrate levels in my 225 gallons salt water tank.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




ICHTHYOLOGIST

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/19/2013 from CRESTWOOD, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I can't see an aquarium of size without one. I have a 900 for approx. ten years without a problem. When a power outage happens and the sand got into the center chamber I used to hose it through until I tried tipping the unit almost upside down with the inlet water running(mine is off a powerhead which makes this possible) and the pressure from the bottom pushes the sand through the chamber to where it belongs and a hard problem is solved very easily. Be careful to watch that the sand doesn't rise to quick then it flows into the aquarium, with practice it's easy. I love this filter it's maintenance free. I have never had a problem with it ever. The smaller model should be even easier if it is not plumbed together with PVC. That would be where the problem lies with this filter.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Product

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 11/29/2011 from WICHITA, KS UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have this installed undertank in-line with my canister filter. Works great! My only issue is that it didn't come with the needed "T" fitting and control valve for my particular instalation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great!

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 3/12/2009 from GIG HARBOR, WA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I use it standalone and hang-on in a 160 gallon tall marine wall installation ( 2 sided view ). What a great device, so simple and effective, the filtration action cleans the media.... wow! I wish there were more quality in the body... I am on my 4th unit... all leakers eventually.


4 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Rainbow Lifegard FB-300 Fluidi

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/20/2009 from SAN DIEGO, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: The product performs as advertised. When I purchased my first one 6yrs ago, it was for a 250 gal chilled salt water tank that went from freshly set up one day to having over 100 tuna crabs in it the next. Needless to say, we got an immediate ammonia spike. I purchased this product from a local store that day and within two days, the ammonia problem was gone. My only complaint is that it isn't very robust--I have had to purchase three replacement units over the last 6yrs.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Rainbow Lifegard FB-300 Fluidi

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/27/2008 from SIMI VALLEY, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: WELL WHAT CAN I SAY.....THEY HAVE THE VALVE THAT COMES WITH IT SO IT DOESNT RETURN THE SAND BACK INTO THE AQUARIUM IF THERE IS A POWER SHORTAGE, THATS A PLUS....ANYHOW SO FAR SO GOOD,BUT IT TAKES A GOOD MONTH FOR THE BIOLOGICAL PART TO TAKE AFFECT, BESIDES THAT I GIVE IT 5 STARS ON PREFORMANCE AND EASE OF USE!!!


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




FB-900

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/9/2008 from SARPSBORG, NORWAY
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have recived the filters yesterday, and was positiv surprised that sand followed the packed. After reading so much about these filters, I am lokking forward to use them. A couple of frends recommanded them, and the price in USA is a lot lower than in Norway, even when I had to pay for the freight.


4 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




DO NOT BUY

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 8/9/2008 from SAYLORSBURG, PA UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have purchased this about a year ago.It is a HUNK of you know what.If any sand gets into that middle tube you have to disconnect it take it outside to a hose to clear that middle tube.If you are like myself the power goes out & when it restarts that sand just flies into that tube.So unless you remeber to disconnect it you will be taking it out to get that sand out of the tube.I have had to do this about 8 times within the last year.So I have got fed-up & took it off the tank.


4 of 9 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




FB-300

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/11/2008 from Novato, CA UNITED S
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This unit has worked well for me for 2 years. It is well constructed and thoughtfully designed. It generally never gets impacted. In conjunction with this companies UV sterilizer my mortality rate dropped to zero. If your thinking of getting this unit, it's not that much more to get the UV also. Setting them up is easy. Just remember to put the UV first and keep the flow on the lower side for exposure time. It's nice to have your fish die of old age.


12 of 12 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Rainbow Lifegard FB-3

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/17/2007 from FORT PIERCE, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I found this unit to be well constructed and came with all of the necessary hose clamps and hose fitting for a variety of tank installations. The unit is operating well and I am very happy and would recomend this unit.


5 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
Lifegard Aquatics FB-300 Fluidized Bed Filter Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Lifegard Aquatics FB-300 Fluidized Bed Filter

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Sorry! While there is no limit to the number of items we'll price match in an order, our online system will only accept one. Please call us at 1-800-566-FISH (3474) and we’ll happily price match additional items for you.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
July 7, 2014
"I have been a customer of Marine Depot since they opened. Always get what I ordered packed properly and shipped quickly."
tlmwest

July 6, 2014
"I was very satisfied with how everything was packaged. Everything I ordered was nicely placed in the box. I will definitely order from here again. Thank you Marine Depot."
vincentcarlucci83

July 2, 2014
"Love Marine Depot. All around great company with great service and they have everything you can think of."
Gerry0625