Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » UV Sterilizers  » UV Sterilizers  » 8 to 10 Watt  »  Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series
Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series

Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$127.99 to $1299.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Model # : QL-15
Dimensions: 17" X 7" X 4.75"
Max Flow Rate: Up to 240 GPH
Maint. Clearance: 27"

The radiation from ultraviolet light at 2537 angstroms provided inside the Lifegard Aquatics Ultraviolet Sterilizer exerts a lethal effect on micro-organisms. UV light alters genetic material within the cells, which interrupts respiration. UV light, when used properly, is extremely beneficial in destroying disease causing pathogens as they pass through the unit. UV sterilization is an effective method of disease control.

Four major factors affect the percent kill of free-floating micro-organisms by UV radiation:
  1. Size of organisms.
  2. Radiation level.
  3. The extent to which UV rays penetrate the water.
  4. Contact time in which the micro-organism is exposed to the UV radiation.
Pure hard quartz material in the bulb dramatically increases UV output compared to other conventional bulbs of equal wattage.

Bulb changing is the easiest in the industry. Simply slide the old bulb out and slide the new bulb in. No need to shut down the filter system or turn off the pump. Bulb and ballast connect together with a single 4 pin connector. UV radiation levels can be increased by slowing down the flow rate or increasing the total wattage in the system.



Specifications

Model # : QL-15
Dimensions: 17" X 7" X 4.75"
Max Flow Rate: Up to 240 GPH
Maint. Clearance: 27"

Plumbing Note: 10W, 25W, and 40W models have 1-1/4" Slip Inlet Ports and 1" Slip Outlet Ports. 80W units have 1-1/4" Slip Inlet and Outlet Ports. 120W, 160W, 240W units have 1-1/2" Slip Inlet and Outlet Ports.



Manufacturer Info

Lifegard Aquatics Aquarium Supplies
Lifegard Aquatics manufactures and supplies a complete line of aquarium, pond, water garden and aquaculture products for the advanced aquarist, pond owner, professional landscaper or contractor. Their proven quality products include life support systems for salt or freshwater use in large or small aquariums, outdoor ponds, fountains and water gardens, as well as fish hatcheries or other commercial installations. Lifegard Aquatic’s product line features filtration units, ultraviolet (UV) sterilizers, pumps of every conceivable size and performance, automatic fish feeders, digital thermometers, filter media, Fittings, valves and other support equipment required for maintaining indoor or outdoor installations.

Warranty

Manufacturer`s Warranty: 1 year from date of purchase.


Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series Reviews



Average Rating
(20 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


happy so Far

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/23/2014 from Canyon Country, CA UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I did get the product from here the first thing I thought was am I gonna get it in a moderate time and I did, installation was not too hard but I did glue the fittings and used some pvc elbows and well looks like it is working properly. The silicone lube that came with the kit was very helpful specially for the rubber O rings. The best thing I like is the fact that if for some odd reason this uv light assembly needs maintenance you can get parts for fair price


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




QL- 25

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/27/2014 from BRIDGEPORT, WV UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: we have had a water garden for over 20 years . it's right off the patio , so we spend quite a bit time in the summer months there . we just redid the entire ponds there are two .the uv sterilizer is a must for clear water . Lifegard ql 25 is a great product this is our 3 rd one . Our ponds hold about 1,300 gal and the water went from green to crystal clear in less than 4 days .


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




UV

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/11/2013 from LEES SUMMIT, MO UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have been using Lifeguard UV Sterilizers for about 15 years on a 180 gallon Salt water tank. Excellent product .


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




UV sterilizer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/24/2012 from GILBERTSVILLE, KY UNITED STATE
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have had an UV light on gold fish pond for years. Before I built a pond I had one on 70 aquarium. The main use in the pond if for algae control. It is the last element of a three stage filter system. The first stage consists of a settling camber followed by a bead filter. The reason for replacing my UV filter was that I let water seep into it during the winter and the freeze split the old one. Costly lesson. Wendell Arnold


1 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/29/2012 from CA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I like this unit so well, I am going with two 120W units for my big tank upgrade.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Caught Fire Dont Buy

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 1/24/2012 from OLDSMAR, FL UNITED STATES
0.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Came home to find my fish room covered in soot. At first i thought it might have been user error but then saw this happened to others. Dont buy unless you want your house to burn down...


3 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




QC

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/17/2011 from BRENHAM, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Finally doing a decent job. First issue was the 3/4" FPT at inlet and outlet not 'cut' to standard size. Had to use JB Weld epoxy to finally stop the leaks. Second, my ballist was DOA. Called Lifegard Aquatics to be told to call my supplier. Customer Service got the new ballist to me in a couple of days.


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good for education

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/2/2011 from KINGSTON, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: GOOD stuff. But the UV bulb is weak....


0 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great UV unit

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/23/2011 from LAMBERTVILLE, MI UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very nice unit that is easy to install into your system. Pros: Handles a lot of water so you can run a larger pump. Easy to replace bulb. Cons: Would be nice to have treaded fittings into the unit and not slip fittings. This way you could transfer it out to another system. Unit is very tall and must be run upright which could be a problem.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




UV results

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/27/2011 from VENICE, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Best device I have bought for my aquarium! With my marine aquarium I have dealt endlessly with cloudy water and red slime issues. I switched to RO water and all solutions recommended and still no end to it. I love my fish but after 7 years (with some good clear days) I was fed up. Then it was recommended that i install a UV setup and so I did. WITHIN 8 HOURS (100 gallon tank) MY TANK IS BEYOND CRYSTAL CLEAR AND I AM STUNNED AT WHAT I SEE. All slime is gone as is all other algae (a little scrubbing after 8 hours removed the little that was left). I only wish I had known about this years ago as I now just stand there and stare at my tank in absolute disbelief.


14 of 14 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page

Accessories for Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series




Similar Items



Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Lifegard Aquatics UV Sterilizer QL series

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Oct 14, 2014
"I have found that shopping at Marine Depot is always easy. They have a large selection of items in most every category. Their pricing is always the best with sales on most items."
Fishy

Oct 13, 2014
"Excellent! Couldn't be easier to get the supplies I need. Thanks as always!"
Danny

Sep 28, 2014
"Always find what I'm looking for. Appreciate the selection of reasonably priced fish meds."
ahm

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.