Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Lighting  » Light Fixtures  » LED  » 36 Inch Fixtures  »  Maxspect Razor R420R LED Light Fixture
Maxspect Razor R420R LED Light Fixture

Maxspect Razor R420R LED Light Fixture

Item #:
Please make a selection
Color:
Size:
Quantity:
$419.99 to $899.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Maxspect Razor R420R LED Light Fixture Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Slim & Elegant
Built with a slim and low profile body, the R420R LED Lighting System is design to seamlessly merge into your living area with elegance. The R420R also comes with both pendant mount hanging kit as well as tank-top mounting frame (adjustable from 28.3"-42.5"), whichever suits you better.

Overall dimensions:
27" long, 10" wide and 0.9" thick.

User Programmable
With 2 channels and 6 time-points: users can program their own photo-period for their aquariums and fully control the intensity of light their aquarium will receive from dawn to dusk.

Aerodynamic Design
The R420R Lighting system deploys an ingenious aerodynamic design which draws cool air from underneath the fixture, through its body which also serves as a large heat sink, to dissipate heat passively.

Redefined Efficiency
The R420R LED Lighting System redefines the term efficiency, 100% passively cooled, utilizing highly efficient high intensity LED chips from Cree, drawing 160W of power but can out-perform 400w metal halide fixtures.

Enhanced Growth and Coloration
The Razor Lighting system is designed to provide all ranges of color spectrum required by corals and plants to enhance their growth rate, improve their coloration and at the same time give your aquarium the most aesthetically pleasing combination of colors. The Razor will meet the requirements of even the most sophisticated group of reef hobbyists.

410nm/420nm Super Actinic
The Razor Lighting system also utilizes the 410nm/420nm Super Actinic LED chips: the spectrum that is crucial for the success of any reef and water plant aquariums. It is required by Chlorophyll A for photosynthesis, where absorption peaks at 412nm.

Passive Cooling
The Razor Lighting system is designed to be 100% cooled passively. The body of the Razor is crafted entirely in aluminum, serving as a large heat sink. Together with an ingenious aerodynamic design, cool air is channeled through the bottom of the fixture and heat is dissipated through the aluminum chassis. Pre-installed and temperature-controlled fans that turns on only when the temperature rises past 120F.

Latest in LED Technology
Utilizing the latest high performance high intensity Cree XLamp®, XT-E and XP-E LED chips, equipped with 90-degree optics. The Razor will consume less power yet produce more PAR (Photosynthetic Active Radiation) for even your most demanding corals.

Have a smaller tank? No problem!
Check out the Maxspect Razor’s little brother, the Maxspect Nano Razor. It’s perfect for nano reef aquariums—you can even attach two together if you upgrade to a larger tank later.

Razor M10000 160W LED Fixture:
  • 12 - Cool-White 8000K LED
  • 6 - Warm-White 3000K LED
  • 9 - Blue 465nm-485nm LED
  • 6 - Royal-Blue 450nm-465nm LED
  • 6 - Super-Actinic 410nm-420nm LED
Maxspect Technical Specifications


Maxspect Razor R420R LED Light Fixture Reviews



Average Rating
(71 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 8
Page


Nice features, not long lastin

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 10/26/2014 from GEORGETOWN, TX UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have had two 420's (M16000) on my 225 gallon for about 2 years. The way that they turn on gradually in 6 time phases is fantastic! Why the lower review?...In just 2 years most of the Blue bulbs have blown! I now only get a yellowish light due to the predominance of warmer lighting. There doesn't seem to be a way to change the CREE bulbs either! Second issue; there are three groups of LED's and they are inset about 6" from each side and about 3.5" from each of the other groups. It would be great if they were on a "slide" that allowed them to move back and forth over the length of the unit. These units are 27" long but all of the lighting is packed into 16" of length in the middle with two fans separating each hub of LED's. Not very efficient if you are trying to put light where you need it. Dave


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great light

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/21/2014 from YOUNGSVILLE, LA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Great light, super bright! I've changed from 2 250w 10k halides to this and I bleached most of my sps. Be sure to acclimate, turn it down to 25% and work up about 5% per week.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Excellent product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/16/2014 from FLORENCE, KY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This light is fantastic. Easy to use, set up, automatic and manual modes. Comes with wire mounts and tank leg mounts. I am impressed with the intensity of it. Super bright great par. I use it on my 40g breeder and it works perfect.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Maxspect 420 1600

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/19/2014 from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA UNITED STAT
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I bought this for my 60 gallon cube and couldn't be happier with it. I'm still stepping up the output and will probably stop before I get to 100%. I had some concern in converting from halide and T-5 but I've found the 24 inch 120 watt is plenty of power (is it ever really enough?) and the corals seem to love it. I would definitely recommend this fixture.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




OUT OF THE DARK AGE

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/9/2014 from SEBASTIAN, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: WOW! Fellow Aquarists, come out of the Dark Age with the R420R. I had been using a Marineland LED strip/bar which gave me no support for corals. Switching to the Razor R420R 27" 1600 (160 watts) has really 'opened my eyes'!! In just a couple of days, all of my corals are open and thriving under this amazingly flexible lighting. Interestingly, the colorations of my fish have also been noticeably enhanced as well. I keep asking myself, 'What took you so long to make the switch to the Razor 420R?'


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




great light

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/12/2014 from COLUMBUS, NJ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: to compare my old 10yr 2200.00 led fixture to this razor 420r is like a rock to a grain of sand. this razor has pushed ahead aquarium lighting 20 years.. only thing it lacks is a more precise solar controller with cloud cover and moon phase.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great LED Fixture

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/20/2014 from Congers, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very well made - Controller is ver user friendly - Color blending is beautiful. Intensity on this light is amazing. My tank is 30" deep and I have soft corals and LPS. Make sure you acclimate your corals to this light - start out at a maximum of 30% intensity and work your way up 5% per week - you will be very happy with this product. Thanks, Joe


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




good stuff

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 6/3/2014 from CARLSBAD, CA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I finally went all in and spent a lot of cash on a light. I have a JBJ 45 gal rimless and this light has great coverage. The controls are amazing and very easy to learn. It is very modern, sleek, stylish and clean. Only gave it 4 stars because, well, i guess i don't even know. I've seen some other amazing light for more money so i know there is always better stuff. but this light is perfect.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Really enjoy this product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/24/2014 from SPRING, TX UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I asked customer service about a light replacement for my coralife MH lighs for my 55 gallon reef(cube).This was a huge improvement from my MH lighting. Just the look in the aquarium was enough to sell me on it. My corals are really taking to it(zoa, duncans, candy corals, goniropora and elegance coral). Elegance was closed for a while and as soon as LED went in, it started to open again(running on second preset cycle). I do not have Acro's so I cant attest to that, but everything else I have has really taken to this light. If you are in the market for replacing current lighting or just getting started, I highly recommend.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Out of the Box

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/25/2014 from ELK GROVE, CA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: One of the best things about the lights was the fact that they were easy to set up right out of the box! The programming was almost as easy as everyone had stated with the first unit setting up very easily, it was the second one that was a little more trouble as it did not work the same as the first(?). I did however eventually get it set and really like the resulting light and the new found colors in my soft corals.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 8
Page
Maxspect Razor R420R LED Light Fixture Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Maxspect Razor R420R LED Light Fixture

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Oct 30, 2014
"Best price on the internet. Shop here!"
morgandollar1

Oct 29, 2014
"Great item, good selection, always fast delivery & competitive pricing."
Daddo

Oct 27, 2014
"Easiest online fish supply retailer to order from and customer service is always excellent."
Brian

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.