Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Test Kits  » Iodine  »  Salifert Iodine Test Kit
Salifert Iodine Test Kit

Salifert Iodine Test Kit

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
SF1121
Quantity:
MSRP: $77.99
You Save: $43.00 (55%)
$34.99
Add To My Wish List

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

Salifert Iodine Test Kit Information




Salifert Iodine Profi-Test
  • Iodine is present in natural sea water in a very low concentration (0.6 mg/L or 0.06 PPM) and this iodine occurs as several different species including iodide, iodate, molecular iodine and hypoiodite.
  • There is a misconception among many hobbyists that iodide predominates in natural sea water but in fact, it is iodate which is the predominant element.
  • Test kits which are not capable of detecting iodate are not suitable for aquarium use, since in a properly functioning tank most of the iodide will be transferred to iodate and any test kits not able to detect iodate will give a false, low iodine reading.
  • Iodine test kits should be capable of measuring all forms of naturally occurring iodine. The Salifert Test Kit is the only one offering this feature, measuring all naturally occurring iodine compounds and giving a reading of total iodine concentration.
  • Unlike many other test kits, the Salifert Iodine Profi-Test is free from interference from other elements found in saltwater, which means the results obtained are very accurate.
  • Color remains stable for several hours.
  • Scale goes from 0.01 - 0.15ppm and optimum level is 0.06 mg/L.
  • Can provide up to 40 tests.
  • For marine use only.
Note:
Use of so-called time released iodine supplements or supplements containing organically bound/complexed iodine species will give false results.

The presence of strong reducing substances such as ascorbic acid will also give false value. Some supplements do not contain ascorbic acid. Dechlorinators are also strong reducing substances.

Warning!
KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN. Store reagents out of light.

Instructions for Iodide Test:
  1. Rinse test vial before use with a little aquarium water and add 2ml of water with the syringe.
  2. Add 6 drops of I2-3 and swirl gently for 2-3 seconds after each drop (I-2-2 is omitted in this procedure).
  3. After exactly 4 minutes after adding this reagent compare colors with the iodide part of the color chart by holding the test vial with its side firmly against a white piece of the color chart and by looking through the opposite side.

    Waiting longer than 4 minutes will cause further darkening of the colors. For color comparison use diffuse daylight. Sometimes the colors can have a more yellow tinge depending on the color temperature of the light.

    If the color turns blue, purple or black or a precipitate forms then the iodide concentration is far above 0.2 ppm.

    After each test rinse the test vial about ten times with tap or RO water.
Instructions for Iodate and Iodine Test:
  1. Rinse test vial before use with a little aquarium water and add 2ml of water with the syringe.
  2. Add 1 drop of I2-2 (I2-1 is omitted in this procedure) reagent and swirl gently for 10 seconds.
  3. Add 6 drops of I2-3 and swirl gently for 10 seconds. Allow it to stand for 3 minutes.

    Now look from the side od the test vial. If the color is dark yellow, green or blue or even has several blue colored particles in it then this suggests that the iodate concentration is far higher than 0.2ppm and a precipitate can form in the next step. This might result in the next step in an almost colorless solution with tiny blue particles.

    The next step will allow the measurement if the iodate concentration is not far above 0.2ppm
  4. Add 5 drops of I2-2 and swirl gently for 10 seconds. Now compare colors with the iodate part of the color chart by holding the test vial with its side firmly against a white piece of the color shart and by looking through the opposite side.

    After each test rinse the test vial about ten times with tap or RO water.



Manufacturer Info

Salifert
Salifert is a Holland base company that produces top of the line test kits as well as tank additives and foods for marine and reef aquariums.
+ Display More

Salifert Iodine Test Kit Reviews



Average Rating
(10 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Iodine Test Kit OK!

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 7/6/2011 from SHERMAN OAKS, CA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I have several other Salifert test kits because I like the resolution of the measurements for this brand. The Iodine test kit is easy to use but I'm disappointed in the resolution. Iodine can be present in your system at a level of 0.06 PPM but the resolution of the test kit is only 0.03 PPM. Would be nice if the resolution were 0.01 PPM.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Saved My Tank

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/8/2011 from BRADENTON, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have had problems with my reef tank and fish for some time. I finally purchased a Salifert Iodine test kit and found the problem of high iodine. Never put any thing in your tank that you can't test for it. Great product.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Salifert Iodine test

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 7/18/2010 from LEXINGTON, KY UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This kit was to be used in a Beverage testing Lab and not for marine use. It will be tested against standard iodine test methods. We have not tested it as yet and would like to see MSDS sheets on the comnponents in the kit. While we feel we know what the reagents are the general public need to know in case of emergencies. As we witnessed by reviewing some web comments on the use of similar kits. If we can get some MSDS information for our OHSA records that would be good. Otherwise we do not need to keep hearing from you as we have no further marine-based needs for supplies from you.


0 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




No reading?

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 7/16/2009 from NORTHFIELD, IL UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Bought this product from recommendations of it being the most accurate. Cannot even get a amall reading of iodine present but when taking a sample to my local aquarium tech it shows a slight under value. Not much so I just add supplement each week. Have tried this product about 6 times with the same result.


3 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good Common Sense

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 3/5/2009 from RAPID CITY, SD UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: In this day of high-tech, it's refreshing to use something simple and down to earth. A very accurate product,I can trust this test kit compared to other competitors that don't have quite as good of reviews. Who can afford to waste money these days....


5 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Salifert Iodine test

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/28/2009 from HUTCHINSON, KS UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: This test is very easy to use but I have no way of knowing the accuracy. My first test revealed a very low Iodine concentration so I am in the process of supplementing. We will see what happens to my new corals.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




You should be testing for this

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/15/2009 from Sonoma County, CA
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have never tested for Iodine. I have been having trouble with corals being color challenged, slowly fading out, I purchased a Salifert Iodine test kit a week ago. I found almost no reading from my tank, So I started bringing the levels up and can already see a difference in the color of several of my corals which were looking bland. I am dosing Brightwells Iodion and now have the level between .04 and .06


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




turn n run

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 3/11/2008 from MN
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: For that much money id expect it to test lower levels, or to get a reading at all.


0 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Iodine test

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/18/2007 from LOVES PARK, IL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: From my experience using this kit, it seems very accurate. If you are going to test for Iodate and Iodine,then you will run out of the number 2 solution way before any of the other solutions. Very good kit.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Salifert the Best Tests

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


5.0 5


Comments: This salifert test kit is one of the most accurate iodine test kits I have seen. It is also cheaper then most of the "Ultra High Accuracy" test kits making it priced within reach of most aquarists.


2 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No



Accessories for Salifert Iodine Test Kit



Salifert Iodine Test Kit Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Salifert Iodine Test Kit

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
April 13, 2014
"I'm satisfied with my purchase. Did comparisons and I was better off purchasing from MarineDepot.com."
wsalazar01

April 9, 2014
"Keep it up. Decent prices and quick shipping."
manny

April 4, 2014
"Very well organized. Price match option worked great."
slt11317

MarineDepotLive.com - Dazzling WYSIWYG Corals