1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Chemical  » Phosphate Removers  »  Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard - 250mL
Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard - 250mL

Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard - 250mL

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
SC3251
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $7.99
You Save: $2.00 (25%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard - 250mL Information




PhosGuard is a high capacity and high efficiency filtration product for removing phosphates and silicates from marine or fresh water aquaria. Unlike competing products, PhosGuard is bead-shaped for optimum flow characteristics and has an exceptional porosity for enhanced capacity. PhosGuard has a working capacity to remove 20 to 60 mg/L phosphate in 100 gallons with a similar impact on silicates. It may be used continuously or intermittently, and will not release removed phosphate. PhosGuard will cause a decline in hair algae and enhance coral growth. Each liter treats up to 300 gallons. Marine or freshwater use.




Manufacturer Info

Seachem
Seachem Laboratories, Inc. was established in 1980 by Dr. Leo G. Morin. Seachem moved into a state of the art 110,000 square foot facility in Madison, Georgia marking their 25th anniversary in the industry in 2005. This facility includes production and research laboratories, manufacturing, inventory, shipping, and office space.
+ Display More

Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard - 250mL Reviews



Average Rating
(30 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 3
Page


gets rid of unwanted algae

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/30/2013 from MOORPARK, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I love this stuff. I used to stress out over nuisance algae showing up on my rock when my nitrates and phosphates read zero on my salifert test kits. Now whenever the algae starts to show up, I replace the stocking full of phosguard with a fresh one. Within a few days, any exposed rock in my tank looks super clean without a trace of algae. It must be removing unreadable phosphate levels I'm guessing. Whatever the mechanism, it breaks my algae cycle and eliminates it.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Works Great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/8/2012 from HIALEAH, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I've used this product for a while now and have had great results with it. This is used in the same way as many others and in my opinion works just as well as some of the more expensive ones giving you the same results. My phosphates are zero and being able to buy it in a larger quantity makes it even better.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/10/2012 from PUNTA GORDA, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Love this item. Does the job it's suppost to do. Buy it bigger you won't have to buy for a whole! Will buy again


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Works!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/8/2012 from ROUND ROCK, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Made a huge impact on my algae after 1 day. The hair type stuff on the back wall started turing grey. I did about 1/3 the recommended dosage to start.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/25/2012 from BONITA SPRINGS, FL UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Used in my 180 Reef Tank this product keeps my phosphate level at zero.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




EXCELLENT

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/20/2012 from HIALEAH, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: SINCE I STARTED USING IT , NO MORE DIATOM ALGAE BLOOM IN MY 250 galon tank.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




phosguard

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/4/2012 from Mesa, AZ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: phosguard worked fast and brought my phos #down to where they should be very happy with the product


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




PhosGuard

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/1/2011 from MOYOCK, NC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been using this product for over a year and it does a great job keeping levels down. It is simple to use with the reactor which makes maintenance a breeze. I would recommend this product for every aquarium enthusiast! Also great price compared to retail stores which is always a plus!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good Stuff

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 7/26/2011 from QUEEN CREEK, AZ UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Phosguard has worked well for me I have a bag in me canister filter and in my pre-mixed saltwater storage to remove the phosphates from the r.o. water im using my phosphates are very low and alge isn't a problem.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Works as advertised

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/11/2011 from Norman, OK UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have about 180 gallons in my reef setup with a couple of hungry tangs and several other smaller fish. The system uses RO/DI water with 0 phosphates. The fish eat frozen food for the most part. Even if "decanted" with the DI water, feeding introduces phosphates into the system. The coarals (mainly SPS) get fed once a week. Eventually, the phosphates creep up, even with 10% weekly water changes, skimming, etc. I have used several products to keep phosphates low (SPS does not like phosphates as it hinders their growth). With PhosGuard, I rinse the material, then put 1 liter of PhosGuard in a fluidized reactor and run a *slow* flow through the reactor. I test with a Hanna meter, which reads down to 0.01 ppm. PhosGuard works fairly quickly and lasts several weeks in the reactor. After two weeks, it turns brown, although it keeps the PO4 below 0.05 ppm for another week. Once the PO4 starts to creep up, the reactor material gets changed. Since the material is fairly large, it is easier to change than RowaPhos (the only other material I have used). Compared to Rowaphos, PhosGuard is much cheaper, is less of a mess to work with and clean up, does not turn the water brown, seems to last a little longer between changes, and does not cake up after a few weeks. However, Rowaphos works faster which, can be a blessing or a curse. If used in too large a quantity, a sudden change in PO4 can shock a system. The only con I have read about for PhosGuard is that it is aluminum-based (compared to Rowaphos, which is iron oxide based) and some people claim that PhosGuard leaches aluminum into the water. I'm not sure that is a problem, but it is worth investigating.


27 of 27 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 3
Page
Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard - 250mL Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Seachem Laboratories PhosGuard

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Dec 18, 2014
"I enjoy shopping at Marine Depot because of its selection of products and the prices are reasonable."
DJWally

Dec 16, 2014
"I will be buying from Marine Depot from now on."
Drew

Dec 16, 2014
"Good website had everything I needed and easy to find."
blm92

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.