1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Chemical  »   »  Seachem Laboratories Purigen - 100mL Bag
Seachem Laboratories Purigen - 100mL Bag
Buy in Bulk and Save!
Quantity Unit Price
1 - 2 $8.49
3 - 5 $8.08
6 - 11 $7.84
12 or more $7.51

Seachem Laboratories Purigen - 100mL Bag

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
SC3231
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $11.99
You Save: $3.50 (29%)
15% Off Site-Wide: Black Friday Blowout (Exclusions apply)
Use Coupon at checkout: BLACKFRIDAY2014
Valid From 11/21/2014 - 12/1/2014
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

Seachem Laboratories Purigen - 100mL Bag Information




SeaChem Purigen is a premium synthetic adsorbent that is unlike any other filtration product. It is not a mixture of ion exchangers or adsorbents, but a unique macro-porous synthetic polymer that removes soluble and insoluble impurities from water at a rate and capacity that exceeds all others, even HyperSorb, by over 500%. Purigen; removes proteins, nitrites and nitrates, ammonia, and a broad spectrum of organics, yet its impact on trace elements is minimal. It significantly raises redox. It polishes water to unparalleled clarity. Like HyperSorb, Purigen darkens progressively as it exhausts, and is easily renewed by treating with household bleach. A 100 mL bag of Purigen purifies and polishes up to 100 gallons of water for up to six months. Purigen is designed for both marine and freshwater use.



Specifications

SeaChem Purigen is a premium synthetic adsorbent that is unlike any other filtration product. It is not a mixture of ion exchangers or adsorbents, but a unique macro-porous synthetic polymer that removes soluble and insoluble impurities from water at a rate and capacity that exceeds all others, even HyperSorb, by over 500%. Purigen; removes protiens, nitrites and nitrates, ammonia, and a broad spectrum of organics, yet its impact on trace elements is minimal. It significantly raises redox. It polishes water to unparalleled clarity. Like HyperSorb, Purigen darkens progressively as it exhausts, and is easily renewed by treating with household bleach. A 100 mL bag of Purigen purifies and polishes up to 100 gallons of water for up to six months. Purigen is designed for both marine and freshwater use.


Manufacturer Info

Seachem
Seachem Laboratories, Inc. was established in 1980 by Dr. Leo G. Morin. Seachem moved into a state of the art 110,000 square foot facility in Madison, Georgia marking their 25th anniversary in the industry in 2005. This facility includes production and research laboratories, manufacturing, inventory, shipping, and office space.
+ Display More

Seachem Laboratories Purigen - 100mL Bag Reviews



Average Rating
(69 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 7
Page


FLOW INFO

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 6/4/2014 from KAILUA, HI UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: There are so many reviews of this product that I will allow them to speak as to how well the product works. I've only been using it a short time and need to collect more data. I've used polyfilters for decades and know how long it takes them to turn to that dark brown (disolved organics). I will be able to tell if the addition of the purigen slows that process. For now, I'd like to give flow rate obeservations and clarify some misinfo I was given. First, the misinformation was that purigen floats (sorry Dan, but its the only bad info you've ever given me and I almost didn't buy the 3 MR1XL reactors!). It does not float and is ever so slightly negative in bouancy. If you pre rinse in salt water, there will be a very few number of grains that ride the surface tension of the water or that will be attached to minute air bubbles. I tapped them with a spoon and half sank, half just moved away. We are talking maybe 100 individual grains out of the entire liter (10's of thousands of grains!) I used leftover nylon chemi pure sacks to wrap the MR1XL foam pads (I used 2 pads top and 2 pads bottom, you dont want to lose this stuff into the aquarium, impossible to recover). I found the best way to handle this stuff (it's like sand, sticks to every thing and goes everywhere) is using a turkey baster. After prerinsing in a bowl, I added water to a depth of 2-3" above the product, allowed it to settle, and then transferred it to my reactor by sucking it up one baster at a time. As for flow, I think this is where the difficulty comes. You must be able to regulate the flow to approx 5 GPH! This method is actually more of a "scrubber" than a tumbler. Regardless of the pump you choose, I highly recommend a bypass to allow fine tuning of the very low flow rate. A bypass (rather than just a regulating vavle) will allow you to reduce the flow in the reactor while allowing enough flow through your pump to avoid overheating. 1 liter in the MR1XL (a 4" reactor) fluidizes to fill 80% of the


3 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Awesome with chemi pure

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/22/2014 from San Diego, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This product is awesome with chemi pure. Water becomes super clear.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




purigen

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/13/2013 from MIAMI, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I use this as a supplemental filtration medium to my polybio pads in my 650 gal tank it works well


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




CLEAN CLEAR WATER

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/22/2013 from LA QUINTA, CA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: WITH-IN 1 HOUR YOU COULD SEE THE DIFFERANCE IN MY 55 GAL. TANK AND I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF MY WATER. I WILL SOON SET ALL MY REMAINING TANKS UP THE SAME WAY USEING PURIGEN.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Purigen

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/13/2013 from MURFREESBORO, TN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I'm old school. I have been running aquariums off and on for over 25 years. I was introduced to this media a couple of years ago and I'm not going back to carbon or poly filter! This stuff is simply the best! Runs great with Chemi-Pure Elite.


5 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Awesome

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/6/2013 from WALLINGFORD, VT UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I was having issues with tanis and ammonia and within hours I could notice a difference. Best part is its renewable!


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Pudrigen

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/5/2013 from AVONDALE, AZ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Simply amazing. I have been using this product for over two years. Water clarity is incredible and it helps with filtration as well. I use this product on my 350 gallon and 180 gallon saltwater reef systems. I also run this on my quarantine tanks 20 and 40 gallon. Must use the BAG by Seachem particles are to small for a regular bag.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Perfect

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/5/2012 from MEMPHIS, TN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This product is magic. Started working on my tannis as soon as I put it in. My 125 gallon looks so clear doesn't looks like it has water in it. Was unsure if I was going to buy more driftwood with purigen I buying two more big pieces.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Purigen

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 8/2/2012 from OTTAWA, KS UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Great product , did jut what it said.with the amount called for,nice to know they must of tested it,as with some other products ,you wonder,wonder.Any way my 300 gallons of water could not be ant better. Thanks Seachem


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great for Newbies

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/24/2012 from MALDEN, MA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I was at a loss trying to control the copious tannin output from the mopani wood in my tank -- even after boiling it for a total of 12 hours! Purigen is the only filter product that keeps the water clear in an aquarium with organic decorations such as wood and plants. The only downside is that the pre-bagged 100ml Purigen is too big for 5-10 gallon nano aquarium set-ups (I have an EHEIM Aqua Style 16) -- so I've made my own bags by trial and error and buy the Purigen in the larger 250 ml bottle. You need to use a very fine mesh material to effectively contain Purigen, something like 80 micron.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 7
Page

Accessories for Seachem Laboratories Purigen - 100mL Bag




Similar Items



Seachem Laboratories Purigen - 100mL Bag Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Seachem Laboratories Purigen

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Nov 11, 2014
"The site is easy to navigate, the prices are competitive, and when I've called Customer Service, they have been more than helpful."
Alijean

Nov 5, 2014
"Marine Depot continues to set the benchmark for online shopping."
cubera

Nov 4, 2014
"Love the company and they have a great selection and excellent customer service."
Alisha

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.