Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
MarineDepot.com Low Price Guarantee
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Additives & Supplements  » Calcium  » Kalkwasser  »  Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser
Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser

Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$12.49 to $38.19
Add To My Wish List

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Seachem Reef Kalkwasser is a pure calcium hydroxide with unsurpassed purity and solubility characteristics. This calcium hydroxide meets or exceeds the purity of competing brands designated for reef use. Calcium hydroxide is used to prepare limewater (kalkwasser) solutions that are used in an automated dosing system that replaces evaporated water. Kalkwasser solutions maintain calcium directly and carbonate alkalinity indirectly. However, its capacity to perform these functions is dependent on evaporation rate and CO2 concentration. If these two factors are insufficient you can provide additional calcium with Reef Advantage Calcium, Reef Complete, or Reef Calcium, and carbonate alkalinity with Reef Builder or Reef Carbonate (do not mix these directly with a kalkwasser solution). Reef Kalkwasser can also precipitate phosphates and impurities from the makeup water while maintaining a high pH which is important for proper calcification rates and for oxidizing various organics in reef aquaria. 500 g makes 650 L (166 gallons) of kalkwasser solution.




Manufacturer Info

Seachem
Seachem Laboratories, Inc. was established in 1980 by Dr. Leo G. Morin. Seachem moved into a state of the art 110,000 square foot facility in Madison, Georgia marking their 25th anniversary in the industry in 2005. This facility includes production and research laboratories, manufacturing, inventory, shipping, and office space.
+ Display More

Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser Reviews



Average Rating
(9 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Works as a good buffer should

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/10/2012 from OWINGS MILLS, MD UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I use 1/2cup of this product a week in my kalkwasser reactor (a must if you're serious about the health of a reef tank) and my pH & calcium levels are as steady as one could hope for. This is very simple to use if you have a kalkwasser reactor, but I wouldn't suggest this product to a beginner as overdosing could harm the health of one's system. I am giving it 4 stars because I haven't used the whole bottle yet, and am waiting for completion of product before I praise it further.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/22/2011 from KHOBAR, NY UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: One of best additive to riese calcium but be sure of your Mg level as it will make it up


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




great for kalkstirrer

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/3/2010 from Los Angeles
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I use 2kg of this a year and it is great. The price is right. It does not clump up in my kalkstirrer, other brands with Mg did. I refill the stirer monthly, dose with a litermeter III and by it alone keeps Ca=400, Ph 8.4 in a 180g SPS + clam reef.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




no complaints

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/23/2010 from Yakima, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: works like it should, doesn't clump to bad and disloves nice


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Easy

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/31/2009 from STOCKTON, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I am using this product to maintain Ph on a 125 mixed reef...It is super loaded and has a tendency to drop in Ph....This product mixes well and settles fast. I am using it in a 2.5 gal aquadoser. I just set it on the top of the hood to my tank and drip away....Corals are more colorful and "hairy" (SPS) and polyps are more extended...(LPS). Inexpensive, great product...the bigger 4 L has a lid that is a bugger to open, but that is overcome with continued use....


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




good project

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/12/2008 from SOUTH BEND, IN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Excellent product works as expected would recommend to friends


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




B0rk

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/14/2008 from BRONX, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Like Ian above said. Dissolves W/O sediment and works great.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Does as advertised

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 2/3/2008 from INDIANA, PA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Maintains calcium levels, as advertised, but don't recommend for a large reef unless you have a high evaporation rate and lower calcium needs. Be careful not to overdose.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Solubility

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/2/2008 from San Diego
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Dissolves w/out sediment at near saturation. Good stuff.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No



Accessories for Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser



Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Seachem Laboratories Reef Kalkwasser

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
April 13, 2014
"I'm satisfied with my purchase. Did comparisons and I was better off purchasing from MarineDepot.com."
wsalazar01

April 9, 2014
"Keep it up. Decent prices and quick shipping."
manny

April 4, 2014
"Very well organized. Price match option worked great."
slt11317

MarineDepotLive.com - Choose your Chalice