Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Test Kits  » Master Test Kits  »  Seachem Laboratories Reef Status: Magnesium, Carbonate, Borate, Alkalinity Test Kit
Seachem Laboratories Reef Status: Magnesium, Carbonate, Borate, Alkalinity Test Kit

Seachem Laboratories Reef Status: Magnesium, Carbonate, Borate, Alkalinity Test Kit

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
SC4119
Quantity:
MSRP: $41.99
You Save: $6.50 (15%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Seachem Laboratories Reef Status: Magnesium, Carbonate, Borate, Alkalinity Test Kit Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

SeaChem Reef Status Magnesium Testing (includs tests for Borate and Carbonate)

Four kits in one! Tests for magnesium through a titration based procedure in increments of 12.5 mg/L. Tests for carbonate alkalinity, borate alkalinity and total alkalinity in 0.1 meq/L resolution through a titration based procedure. The kit resolves borate from carbonate and, along with magnesium, this presents a clear picture of the tank`s buffering capacity as well as a very reliable determination of the critical carbonate content required for coral and coralline growth.
  • 75 titration tests each for borate, carbonate & magnesium
  • directly measures magnesium
  • resolves carbonate and borate
  • interference free
  • includes reference validation
  • designed for the reef aquarist



Manufacturer Info

Seachem
Seachem Laboratories, Inc. was established in 1980 by Dr. Leo G. Morin. Seachem moved into a state of the art 110,000 square foot facility in Madison, Georgia marking their 25th anniversary in the industry in 2005. This facility includes production and research laboratories, manufacturing, inventory, shipping, and office space.
+ Display More

Seachem Laboratories Reef Status: Magnesium, Carbonate, Borate, Alkalinity Test Kit Reviews



Average Rating
(13 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


works great corals thrive

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/27/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: A bit complicated at first, all magnesium tests are. they require multiply steps. I like the kit and the box, it also does a high quality test for alkalinity. it does alot of tests. If magnesium gets low then your calcium evaporates. BAD


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




works great corals thrive

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/1/2013 from Lakewood, CO UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: A bit complicated at first, all magnesium tests are. they require multiply steps. I like the kit and the box, it also does a high quality test for alkalinity. it does alot of tests. If magnesium gets low then your calcium evaporates. BAD


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Magnesium Matters

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/13/2011 from Atlanta, GA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: When you first open the case, the response is "how could this be so complicated", but then you realize that this kit contains multiple tests. The magnesium test IS a little complicated, but your magnesium levels are important to know, so I would recommend this kit to anyone with a reef system


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Best

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/4/2011 from THORNHILL, NY CANADA
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Really loved this test. Not the fastest or easiest, but very precise and consistent, the best one I've tried.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Very Accurate!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/21/2010 from Curitiba, PR, Brazil
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This test realy works! ***** Its complex when you open the box, but after you understood the instructions is very easy to operate and obtain precise results! When the titration changes completely the collor when obtain the result. (from Pink to Blue (magnasium) or Blue to Yellow in Alk tests...)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Awesome

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/6/2010 from GRAHAM, NC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Anyone who states they dont have time to run a magnesium test shouldnt be into reef keeping to begin with. I have used this mg test exclusively since I have been into Reef Keeping and it is by far the most accurate one out there. If someone says otherwise they are not performing the test correctly. The Alkalinity test is a nice bonus that comes with this test kit. I will buy it again.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great test kit!!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/4/2009 from LAS VEGAS, NV UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This is by far one of the easiest to use mg. tests I have tried. Compared to tropmarin this on is a breeze and the color changes are bright and obvious unlike some of the other kits that are very subtle differences in color. I can get an accurate mg test in under 5 minutes, and there are no powders and microscopic spoons that can be easily under or over measured. Highly recommened


1 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Time consumnig, but accurate

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/18/2008 from FORT COLLINS, CO UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I bought this mainly for the Magnesium testing ability, but Borate is handy for those of us with ozone generators. It's relatively time-consuming compared to normal titration tests, but VERY accurate. Results were compared with those given by laboratory-grade equipment where I work and the variance was too slight to be of significance. My comparisons were only done on Magnesium since Borate levels can change quickly as a function of time. Seachem also supplied all utensils required for the test, which was nice.


9 of 10 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




No good

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 3/8/2008 from EWA BEACH, HI UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: this test kit is simply not worth the money. personally i beleive the testing for magnesium takes way to long and is very unaccurate. the same goes for the alk testing. you can barely see the color change cuz its so faint.


2 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Better than salifert

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/15/2008 from MELROSE, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: All I know is this was 100% more accurate than my salifert kits.


4 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
Seachem Laboratories Reef Status: Magnesium, Carbonate, Borate, Alkalinity Test Kit Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Seachem Laboratories Reef Status: Magnesium, Carbonate, Borate, Alkalinity Test Kit

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 6, 2014
"Site is clear and easy-to-use. Product info very clear. Best price I found with free shipping."
Beej

Sept 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is the bizzomb."
jedimasterben

Sept 2, 2014
"Fast replies from experienced aquarists. Went well beyond expectations and provides quality products."
Filterless

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.