Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Test Kits  » Calcium  »  Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit
Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit

Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit

This item has been discontinued
Item #:
TP4117

Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit Information




For measuring magnesium and calcium concentrations in seawater.

Magnesium and calcium concentrations and the ratio between these two elements are constantly changing in marine aquariums due to assimilation into the skeletons of corals and coralline algae and the process of precipitation. A periodic check of magnesium and calcium concentrations is necessary to determine the amounts of these elements that needs to be added to the aquarium in order to restore them to natural seawater levels.

The Magnesium-Calcium-Combitest consistently determines the exact concentration of each of these elements separately. Each Magnesium-Calcium-Combitest kit contains reagents for approx. 30 tests.




Manufacturer Info

Tropic Marin
Tropic Marin: A strong foundation in science and hobby: The successful methods and techniques of today`s marine aquarists are the result of a close collaboration between serious hobbyists, scientists and specialists at public aquariums. Tropic Marin came about in exactly the same way over 30 years ago! This close cooperation resulted in one of the first complete one-part synthetic marine salt mixtures that provided the optimum natural environment for the professional as well as the private aquarist.

Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit Reviews



Average Rating
(11 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Hard to read but works

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 4/24/2012 from Murrieta, CA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I agree with most people. Hard to read the blue color. Had to run test a few times to get hte hang out of the procedure.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/23/2011 from CHEPACHET, RI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This is one of the simplest and most accurate test kits on the market for Ca and Mg. The titration procedure is very simple and straightforward, with definitive end points. I highly recommend!!


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Hard to Read, Tedious to Use

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 5/10/2011 from NY
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Hard to tell when solution is no longer blue compared to the control as the colors never really match. One of the syringes does not have a black O-ring at all so not sure how to read the value for that test and the other has a black one that is the same color as the lines so it's very hard to read the value.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Hard to use

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 4/26/2010 from ELK GROVE, CA UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I bought this and found it a bit more difficult to use compared to other test kits. The color change is subtle as well.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




cacium/magnesium test

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 3/28/2010 from BAYAMON, PUERTO RICO
3.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: prefered strip


0 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Love it!!!

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/15/2009 from SPRINGFIELD, VA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very simple directions. The color change is subtle but enough to know when it has changed. Use a white background and the change is easy to register. I don't understand the previous complaints. This test kit is great!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 11/20/2008 from CHARLOTTE, NC UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: this test kit is the worst i have ever used. it is so hard to tell if the VERY light blue solution turns colorless that you can only wonder if you are getting an accurate test result. AND, you cannot test the magnesium unless you test the calcium first(you have to use the same solution from the calcium test), and the color change on the magnesium is the same as the calcium. using this is a PAIN!!!!! if they can make the color change A LOT more distinct, this would be an ok test kit, (except for the fact that you have to test the calcium before you can test the magnesium.)


4 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/22/2008 from NEWTOWN, PA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great test kit. Performed three consecutive tests and all results were within 3ppm for calcium and 5ppm magnesium. Very accurate and reliable.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Blah

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 12/30/2007 from Cambridge, MN UNITED STATES
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The instructions are pretty clear but the color change is very subtle and I have yet to see the MG part of the test work they way the instructions indicate. I've tried it three times over two months (3 on my tank, 1 on newly mixed water).


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Really hard to use

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 12/23/2007
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The kit has three liquid solutions and one powder. Also, four separate syringes. It's very hard to use - color goes from baby blue to clear and is very hard to distinguish. I still can't get the magnesium test to work at all. Wish I hadn't bought this . . . .


2 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page

Accessories for Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit



Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Tropic Marin Calcium / Magnesium Test Kit

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 18, 2014
"I like how easy it is to do business with Marine Depot. I also love the competitive prices on products."
Joshua

Aug 15, 2014
"The best online place to shop for all aquarium supplies. The best packing ever: I've ordered lights, nothing has ever broken."
Corals&Clowns

Aug 13, 2014
"Great place to buy reef aquarium products."
Gabe

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.