1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
 
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
 
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
 
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Wavemakers  » Internal  »  Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206
Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206

Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206

This item has been discontinued
Item #:
TZ2321

Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More
 

Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206 Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

TUNZE® Nano Wavebox

TUNZE® Nano Wavebox and Wavebox are suitable wave generators for all reef biotopes. They produce oscillating waves which produce water movement almost identical to reef zones. Nano Wavebox and Wavebox are controlled by means of Wavecontroller 6091, which utilizes the principal of resonance frequency to create wave motion. The resonance frequency is set on the Wavecontroller; it is the frequency, at which the waves can reach the maximum height in the aquarium. At very little power consumption, an enormous water movement is produced very efficiently. All of the water in the tank is in movement, which means that water also laps around areas behind stones.
In large tanks, a Wavebox 6212 and a Wavebox Extension 6212.50 should be fitted, the latter being a Wavebox 6212 without Wavecontroller 6091 which is used as an extension. Nano Wavebox and Wavebox can be fitted in any corner of the aquarium.

A special Wavebox pump is used as a wave generating pump, which belongs to the family of the Turbelle ® stream pumps. It pumps the water out of the box at a high speed. The Wavecontroller 6091 stops the pump after a short time; the water returns into the housing of the Wavebox.

The Wavecontroller 6091 controls the pump in such a way that switching on and off corresponds to a certain frequency. The frequency is determined when the unit is set up, which then remains constant. Given a strong growth of coral, this frequency should be re-adjusted after some time. In order to ensure night-mode operation, the Wavecontroller 6091 has been fitted with a photoelectric cell: In this case the Wavebox will be set to standstill for the night. The Foodtimer integrated in the Wavecontroller switches the Wavebox off when food is dispensed. The wave generation is interrupted for about 7 to 9 minutes to permit feeding. The break in wave movement whilst the fish are fed ensures that no food gets into the stone structures and that the fish can feed undisturbed by the wave movement.

  • Dimensions: L 125 x W 55 x H 220 mm (L 4.9 x W 2.1 x H 8.6 in.).
  • Immersion depth: approx. 180 mm (7.0 in.), on average 10 W, 230 V / 50 - 60 Hz (115 V / 50 - 60 Hz).
  • For tanks from 150 to 600 litres
(39 to 158 USgal.)




Manufacturer Info

Tunze
For forty-five years the name TUNZE® has been synonymous with aquariums. Many products and components which we have developed in the course of time are now standard features of aquarium technology today. This confidence in TUNZE is no coincidence. The company has remained true to its philosophy right from the beginning, researching water biotopes all over the world to develop components which enable natural water conditions in the closed environment of an aquarium. In the implementation of know-how, effectiveness and efficiency, TUNZE® takes the lead in environmental compatibility. Their motto is: quality and reliability. These values are upheld with well thought-out and precise tool making by highly qualified experts. The brand names of TUNZE® and Turbelle® meet the expectations of the seal of quality; Made in Germany. Many of the products shown in this catalogue are protected by national and international patents.

Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206 Reviews



Average Rating
(8 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


Great even in a 180

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/18/2011 from BOISE, ID UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I went with the nano over the larger wavebox because my tank is acrylic and I didn't want the stresses of the full wavebox. Within 30 minutes of installing I had about a 3/4" wave at the top and very nice alternating flow to my corals all the way at the bottom. Highly recommend the product and recommend using the auto function to dial in the resonance frequency.


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Nice

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 5/15/2010 from NORTHGLENN, CO UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The Nano Wavebox 6206, is definitely making some nice 1" waves in my 55 gallon tank. I removed all powerheads and have pretty good current throughout the whole tank. It took me a little while to get the frequency adjusted, but it's actually pretty easy and waves will start immediately once you hit the sweet spot. I would recommend, at least for a smaller tank it has met my expectations.


11 of 11 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




No at all what I expected

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 3/3/2010 from Groveland, FL UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I had an original wave box and was quite happy with its performance in a 90 gallon tank. It didn’t last long because it was just too big for my taste and interfered with the overall look of my tank. So I took it out and just went with regular tunze multi controller and 2 tunze pumps. I downsized to a 65 gallon tank and bought the nano wave box thinking this is small enough for this size tank although it said it was for tanks up to 158 gallons. I am not impressed at all I am getting very little if any wave action and I had to put back one of my larger tunze pumps to get water movement. I tried all kinds of setting but just could not get that right action I was looking for. So, this was a big disappointment and waste of money on my part.


1 of 15 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Easy waves in no time

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/14/2010 from Tulsa, OK UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: a great wave fix for my 75g reef tank. was up and running with in minutes of arrival.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Didn't work for me

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 11/1/2009 from MURPHY, TX UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: First off, it's a fine product. However, for my 120g it just wasn't enough. I was able to get about 1/2" of wave going at the resonant frequency. I think part of the problem was that the nano is undersized for my tank--the larger wavebox probably would have worked better.I saw a nano in my friends 120 tall and it worked really well. I think the shape and contents of the tank influence the strength of the resonant effect....your mileage may vary.I decided to return the product. For me, I think another vortech would work better.Also, I'll add that all but very large tanks will resonate at a pretty high frequency--the result being more like sloshing water in a bucket than like surging wave action on a reef.


3 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




i'm impressed

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/4/2009 from WARREN, MI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: must say when i first got it all set up i was a little disappointed.waves were not what i thought they'd be. played with the different wave levels....still nothing great.left it alone and called it a night. next day when the lights came on everything was happy as could be. everything was open , polyps fully extended like i'd never seen before and the waves had a better rhythm to them. all in all i'm very happy. takes time to build a rhythm so be patient.


6 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




tunze nano wave

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/14/2008 from ARLINGTON, VA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Installed in seconds. Actually makes an one inch wave in a 54g. tank. Wave 2k creates more current but the tunze makes no noise and is much easier to install. Also the feed timer and night sensor work great eliminating the use of timers. Definitely would recommend this product


11 of 12 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Another great Tunze product!

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 9/29/2008
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I waited months for this, now I finally have it! This is a standing wave generator, not a flow powerhead. I placed it on the long axis of my 75g (48inch wide) and tuned in the knob to the 12 o'clock position, it took 5 minutes to get the right frequency. The crests of the wave are at the ends, which swell almost 2 inches! No lie, even the coral and anemonae between rocks in caves sway because the whole tank is oscillating. This was important because my SPS grew large and blocked any direct flow from powerheads. The appearance of the LPS/tentacles swaying is unbelievable! I slaved the controller with my 7095 controller so my stream pumps sweep away all new sediment the wavebox suspended. The coral were irritated at first by all the new suspended crud, now the tank is cleaner than ever and the polyps are wider open than ever. I've never given Tunze products full stars because of the cost, but in all cases it has been worth it. Also, Roger at Tunze has always responded to my e-mails same day. My complaints are that the box is still an eye sore (even this nano verion), the magnet mount doest not prevent rotation of the box, and it makes a hum as if the tank were breathing (most noticible at night).


38 of 42 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No



Accessories for Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206



Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206 Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Dec 18, 2014
"I enjoy shopping at Marine Depot because of its selection of products and the prices are reasonable."
DJWally

Dec 16, 2014
"I will be buying from Marine Depot from now on."
Drew

Dec 16, 2014
"Good website had everything I needed and easy to find."
blm92

Save Money Get our best deals, product how-tos and expert tips delivered weekly to your inbox.