Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Chemical  » Phosphate Removers  »  Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media 1200 grams
Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media 1200 grams

Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media 1200 grams

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
TL4115
Size:
Quantity:
MSRP: $107.95
You Save: $27.96 (25%)
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media 1200 grams Information




PhosBan from Two Little Fishies is a favored chemical filter media because it will not leach substances back into your aquarium. Largest adsorption capacity of any phosphate filtering media. Ferric oxide hydroxide-based granules also adsorb organics and other pollutants. Use just like activated carbon; filter bag included. Non-toxic and lasts several months in typical aquariums. Great for saltwater and freshwater aquariums. For best results, use with a TLF Phosban Reactor 150 or 550.
  • Phosphate removing filter media permanently removes phosphate
  • Non-toxic filter media lasts several months in typical aquariums
  • Great for both saltwater and freshwater aquariums
  • Directions: PhosBan can be rinsed briefly before use, but since it is friable, do NOT stir the granules, which would pulverize them. Put PhosBan in a tightly-packed media bag or between two layers of fine filter floss in any kind of flow-through filter or filter chamber so that the water is directed through it diffusely. PhosBan is best used in an up-flow filter such as the PhosBan Reactor, but the flow must be reduced sufficiently to prevent the granules from tumbling, which would grind them into powder.
  • Recommended Usage: 50 g per 50 gal (200 l) saltwater, 50 g per 100 gal freshwater. PhosBan is safe and can be used at more than 5 times the recommended usage quantity, but at high dosages, it can cause a drop in alkalinity. Monitor alkalinity and correct if necessary with buffer or other alkalinity supplements. The useful life of PhosBan depends on the phosphate concentration in the aquarium. PhosBan can be effective for up to several months before it needs to be changed. Replace PhosBan when phosphate levels begin to rise.
  • Contents: Synthetic ferrous oxide hydroxide.
150 gram jar is 0.33 lb, includes a filter bag, and treats 150 gallons.
454 gram jar is 1 lb, includes a filter bag, and treats 450 gallons.
1,200 gram bulk size includes filter bag and treats up to 1,200 gallons.



Manufacturer Info

Two Little Fishies
Two Little Fishies, Inc. was founded in 1991 to promote the reef aquarium hobby with its introductory video and books about reef aquariums. The company now publishes and distributes the most popular reef aquarium reference books and identification guides in English, German French and Italian, under the d.b.a. Ricordea Publishing.
+ Display More

Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media 1200 grams Reviews



Average Rating
(56 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 6
Page


Phosban

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/30/2014 from GLENDALE, AZ
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Good looking product, comes with a media bag & zip tie in package. Upon opening noted the above. NO description of how to give in US Measurement (only in Metric) - figured out 1/2 US Cup = 75G of product - took a good 5 minutes to wash/flush most of the fines out - Today was 1st day in system so we will see what it does...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good product

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 2/23/2014 from Homestead, FL UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I hace use the producto for more than three years it works. Is little mesay.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




So far so good.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/23/2013 from SANDY, UT UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I bought this product because of price and other reviews. I have an algae problem and since I have put this device on my tank paired with an Eheim 600 my phosphates are almost 0. I'm hoping this helps.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




happy tank owner

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/10/2013 from RIVERSIDE, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: First of all , I told the rep a what problem was in my tanks. He recommend two little fishes phosban gfo phosphate removal media and and the dispenser. I took about 15 minutes to install , and 10 minutes was ready the instructions.I didn't have single problem with water leaking. I bought the media , the dispenser, water control valve,hoses, and the pump. Now my tank looks as good as the fish stores. Also the price was great. Everything was at my door the next day Thanks


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Works for me.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/16/2013 from BEND, OR UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Had a little phosphate show up in my tests early on. Bought the Two Little Fishies reactor and Phosban. Haven't any since. Just refilled the reactor after one year on the original batch.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Reliable & Effective

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/28/2012 from LUNENBURG, MA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: If you are having issues with green hairy algae, then this product is for you. I had a terrible bloom a couple of years ago that lasted for about one year. My phosphate level was not completely out of control but it was high enough to trigger the bloom. I tried every phosphate product under the sun. Every week, I would spend about 3 hours just pulling and scraping new algae growth from the tank. I was about to toss in the towel when an employee from a local fish store recommended that I try this product with the Phosban reactor. The algae started magically dissolving within days and within a month, I had everything back under control. The cool thing about this product is that you can add it to your reactor, and depending on the level of phosphates in your tank, you can forget about it. It lasts a long time without needing to be constantly replaced (like some other products). Just make sure to keep measuring your phosphate levels. Now, I like to use it as a "maintenance" tool. I have a mixed reef tank with softies and stonies and fragile invertebrates but they are all very tolerant of this product. I highly recommend it. I only wish I had discovered it at the beginning of my algae nightmare!


5 of 5 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




So-So

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 5/17/2012 from FAIRVIEW, OR UNITED STATES
2.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Not really sure why but I always go back to RowaPhos. PhosBan just doesn't seem to work as good. Then again...nothing does.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Love it!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/13/2012 from WOODLAND HILLS, UT UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Phosban is exactly what I needed for my new 90gal tank. Phosphates used to be 20.ppm now they're down to .21ppm and that's just 1 week of using it. For water flow past the phosban/carbon I usedTom Aquatics Aqua-Lifter Dosing Pump and a old gravel vacuum with a sponge and plug for the bottom opening. I replace the phosban and carbon when my phosphates stop dropping for a few days


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




phosban reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/26/2012 from EVERETT, WA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: nice product by little fishes,no problem installing.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/6/2012 from Denver, CO UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Best phosphate removal media on the market!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 6
Page

Accessories for Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media 1200 grams



Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media 1200 grams Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Two Little Fishies Phosban GFO Phosphate Removal Media

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Aug 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is my come-to choice whenever it comes to buying aquarium supplies."
reeftanklover2012

Aug 3, 2014
"Great company, easy and quick to find and order almost anything I need. Great customer service."
Jack

July 31, 2014
"As always, it was a pleasure to do business with Marine Depot. I've ordered from them a few times before and have always been very happy with their products and service."
Ann

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.