Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
KEEPCALM Coupon
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Inline & Specialty Filters  » Phosphate Reactors  »  Two Little Fishies GFO Phosban Reactor 150
Two Little Fishies GFO Phosban Reactor 150

Two Little Fishies GFO Phosban Reactor 150

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
TL4311
Size:
Quantity:
$34.99
15% off one single item in your order! Some exclusions apply.
Use Coupon at checkout: KEEPCALM
Valid From 4/16/2014 - 4/17/2014
Paying Made Easy, Bill Me Later. Subject to Credit Approval. See Terms.
Add To My Wish List

Click here to check out this product on our new website! »
*If you already have items in your shopping cart, they will not be transferred over to the new site.

Two Little Fishies GFO Phosban Reactor 150 Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

The Phosban Reactor 150™ has become a staple amongst most aquarists who keep SPS corals. So much so that you often see Phosban used interchangeably with the term GFO or Granular Ferric Oxide. It can be mounted hanging on the back of the aquarium or below the aquarium. Includes ball valve for regulating flow, and flexible connection fittings that rotate 180 degrees to allow a perfect custom fit to your installation. The threaded lid design makes servicing quick and easy. One reactor for aquariums up to 150 gallons.

Specifications

  • Approximately 14" tall with a 3" Footprint.
  • Normal operation with 130 grams (250ml) to 200 grams (385 ml) of PhosBan, filling up to 1/2 the column.
  • Reactor is rated for up to 150 gallons.
  • Recommended flow rate: 20-30 gph for 130 grams PhosBan, 30-40 gph for 200 grams.
  •  uses 1/2" I.D. vinyl tubing

What's in the Box

  • Phosban Reactor 150 Chamber
  • x2 1/2" 90 degree hose connections
  • x2 foam discs
  • Flow control ball valve w/ 1/2" barbs
  • x1 hose clamp
  • instruction sheet


Manufacturer Info

Two Little Fishies
Two Little Fishies, Inc. was founded in 1991 to promote the reef aquarium hobby with its introductory video and books about reef aquariums. The company now publishes and distributes the most popular reef aquarium reference books and identification guides in English, German French and Italian, under the d.b.a. Ricordea Publishing.

Warranty

No Warranty

+ Display More

Two Little Fishies GFO Phosban Reactor 150 Reviews



Average Rating
(96 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 10
Page


Cannot go wrong

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/1/2014 from Leonardtown, MD UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Looking for an excellent reactor that is far less expensive than the Gucci models? This is the way to go. Excellent uplift and uniform dispersion of media. Hangs nicely on the side of a fuge or tank. I use three of them for GFO, Carbon, and Bio-pellet. Never had a leak.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good Biopellet Reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 2/23/2014 from Houston, TX UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Overall good biopellet reactor. Screens are needed to use it with biopellets. The construction seems good except for the soft rubber elbows. The locations of the inlet and outlet could be improved.The reactor cost was 50% of other reactors. I'm happy with my purchase.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Versatile with a flew flaws...

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 7/31/2013 from STONINGTON, CT UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I used this for Carbon/GFO and got decent results initially. Over time (2 months) the supplied 90 degree elbows cracked and required replacement. The included elbows are flimsy and will require replacement. I put hard plastic ones in as replacements. One of the primary reasons I pulled this off my tank was the method/manner of changing out the carbon/GFO. The top can get stuck, and pulling out the carbon/GFO is messy. I highly recommend the other canister style with an internal cylinder...much easier for refilling/changing. The versatility comes into play when you decide to change what you're running. I shifted from Carbon/GFO to a bag of chemipure elite, so this sat unused until I realized I had a CO2 problem (chasing pH for a couple of days), so with minimal modification, this became a CO2 scrubber added to the intake of my Tunze 9004. This helped me to bump up and stabilize my pH in a room with a CO2 problem. I'm torn on if I would actually recommend this as the parts that made it decent were mods along the way and not 'out of the box'.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Cheap Plastic

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 7/12/2013 from CUMMING, GA UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Pretty unhappy thet the top that screws on is so flimsy. Very dissapointed in this product.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Not Good Cheap

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 6/29/2013 from NJ
1.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Look OK I've got it it cheap and it popular but In my opinion product is not good. You take it and it feel very cheap and flimsy internal rubber elbow is short and very inconvenient to set up It did happen when I set up the reactor and find out that internal connections got disconnected so I needed to disassemble everything and start over again. Reactor is plain cheap to the degree when it loosing it function. I bought bigger model it has 1/2 inch tubing which is waay ton small for the model I am using a marine land 600 g/h pump for bio pellets in this reactor and it is not enough anyway I would not buy it and to recommend to anyone Cheap, inconvenient, often not functioning right


1 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Nice Reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 6/16/2013 from ROCKY POINT, NC UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: Using this as a Sulfur Bead reactor, nice little unit and was easy to install on my custom 460 gallon tank. Easily had enough room for the media needed. The only con that I have found is that the connector for the input is a rubber elbow. It has a tendency to come apart during operation, it was a royal pain to get it to stop doing so. Would have been a much better design if done like the TLF 150. Otherwise, great unit for the price.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great So Far

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/23/2013 from LAVEEN, AZ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I bought 2 of these. One for GFO and the other for carbon. The system looks great, the water clarity is much better that it was and It seems that the GFO is helping reduce phosphates as the hair algae is slowly disappearing. They were easy to set up. I used a loop off of my main return pump and made a PVC manifold with ball valves on both sides (Inlet and outlet)This way I can bypass the reactors without stirring up the reactor media. Customer Service as Always is a class act... shipping is lighting fast and packed well. I even got a personal note from the rep I spoke to about adding the second one after the 1st on was already processed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




LEAKS LEAKS AND LEAKS

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 5/19/2013 from FLUSHING, MI UNITED STATES
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: After using the 150 for 5 months I'm done with it.... Everytime you change the media expect to spend at least 30 minutes trying to get it to STOP LEAKING. Spend the extra money on a better unit. I'm very dissappointed in the quality.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




get one today

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/2/2013 from ATLANTA, GA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: i have been using 3 mesh bags full of Phosban for years with OK results...not exactly zero phosphates, but manageable. After one day of running the reactor, my phosphate level is at zero and I have been able to remove all 3 bags. Easy to install and operate. Excellent product!


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Seems to work great

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/24/2013 from PORT ORCHARD, WA UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I decided to try this out as a bio pellet reactor using the same technique they use in the video. I have a 100gph pump hooked up running about 250ml of pellets. The reactor seems good and sturdy. I gave it 3.5 starts because the bottom diffuser plate is crooked, I don't have any pellets sticking or anything but they could at least put the pieces together strait.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 10
Page
Two Little Fishies GFO Phosban Reactor 150 Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Two Little Fishies GFO Phosban Reactor

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
We offer a Low Price Guarantee on all in-stock merchandise. Just compare our total price—item price + tax (if applicable) + shipping & handling—to the total price of other online stores. If you find a lower price, we will match the price and refund 10% of the difference.

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
March 15, 2014
"Price was good and everything arrived packed well and on promised schedule."
thomasstephen

March 13, 2014
"I received my lights with one broken. I called the 800 # and they shipped me a new light that day, no questions asked. Great service."
jason-47785

March 9, 2014
"When looking for things that need exact measurements, like plumbing, Marine Depot makes it very easy with detailed graphics and explanations. Videos are a very nice touch and have helped me a lot on my reef upgrade."
pipicaicedo

MarineDepotLive.com - Dazzling WYSIWYG Corals